15 Aug 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Edge Of The Woods - EP Review: Lookin' For Somethin'

05 Aug 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

This six-track EP from West Coast trio Edge of The Woods shows there is still plenty of room in this musical world for well thought out and delivered music with real soul and heart. They bring together folk, alt-blues. Americana and roots in a way that feels so incredibly real and honest. This is deep and rich, powerful yet driven only by acoustic guitar, drums and warm bass (plus a few guests) with everything built on the gravelly baritone of singer Wes James. It is Wes who also provides the guitar, and his partners in crime are Matthew Mahood (bass) and Jarrod Hooper (drums), and I am sure that Matthew cannot be as young as he looks in the cover photo.

The six songs are incredibly diverse, all coming at us from different directions, with Frown Upside Down undoubtedly one of the highlights. This is swamp blues with a real groove and swing, and the only way describe it is as being downright filthy in its mood and tempo. This is where Wes pours emotion into a gravelly performance where his voice feels incredibly broad, and in many ways, this reminds me of classic Dr. John. But contrast that to Eruera, and it is difficult to realise it is from the same band. Sung in Te Reo, this is a tribute to Wes’ friend, Eruera Tuhura Mita, who passed away in 2016 aged just 43. They met at the University of Waikato in 2016, where Eruera would often lead study groups in karakia and whaikorero. This is far more reflective, more pastoral, and thoughtful, leading us in a solemn tribute, saying how much he mourns his friend, who he sees as a chieftain. Matthew and Jarrod stay much more in the background, providing just the right amount of support to ensure that the focus is very much on the vocals. The picked guitar solo on this song is just right, totally in the moment.

There is a delicacy within this EP, yet also a hidden core, and this resonates with the listener who understands this is reality, real music being performed by real musicians with no studio trickery. I can imagine that in concert they are quite a bit rawer, as there is a feeling of the emotion ready to burst through which is probably more palpable when in front of an audience. There is a strong understanding between the guys, and no need to play six notes when just one will do, with everyone prepared to sit back at the right time and dive in at others. This is an incredibly strong debut EP, and I for one am going to be keeping an eye out for more from these in the future.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Edge Of The Woods

Through a combination of folk, alt-blues and roots, Edge Of The Woods weave stories about love, loss and life to create soul-stirring music. Formed on the rugged west coast, below Maunga Taranaki, the shifting landscapes are reflected in their music as they blend genres and grooves to deliver touching ballads, swampy blues, untamed folk, and tellurian roots. Engaging with live audiences is where Edge Of The Woods thrive and deliver their organic sound.

As a trio, the band creates surprising and diverse arrangements combining guitar, bass and drums. Wes James leads the songs on acoustic guitar along with a deep baritone voice that ranges from gravelly rumbles to contemplative crooning. Jarrod Hooper brings a wealth of experience and precision on the drum kit with teasingly tight beats and grooves. Being the youngest member, Matthew Mahood adds an energetic playfulness on the bass guitar to complement the trio.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Edge Of The Woods

Releases

Lookin' For Somethin'
Year: 2020
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Scapegoat - Album Review: Reality and the Hanging Tree
12 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Rene Black can often be found out and about on the Auckland scene, either playing in the premier NZ Sabbath tribute band After Forever, or just supporting other bands and enjoying the vibe. We regularly bump into each other at our favourite dive, Ding Dong Lounge, but whereas that is a relatively new place for me, Rene has been on the circuit for years as he was also drummer and founding member of both His Masters Voice and {Cripple Mr.
Read More...
Caitlin - EP Review: States
12 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut EP from young Christchurch-based indie-pop musician Caitlin (Caitlin Bradley) who is currently studying at Ara Music Arts in the city. She took the songs to Ryan Chin (Fisherman), and together with Will McGillivray (Goodwill), Thomas Isbister, and Shaun Malloch they worked to capture her innocent vocals and songs in a manner which brings together lots of different styles.
Read More...
Corduroy. - Single Review: Ozone
11 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Ozone is the latest single from Wellington-based band Corduroy., and is taken from their forthcoming EP, Halftime Oranges.
Read More...
Mim Jensen - Single Review: Germaphobe
11 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This is the debut single from Otautahi artist Mim Jensen, and a load of fun it is too. It commences with jangly guitar and Mim’s vocals, and soon we are taken into commercial indie rock which has definite nods back to the likes of Fur Patrol.
Read More...
Moone - Single Review: I Am Who I Am
10 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There are some people who come into this world and put the rest of us to shame as to what they achieve, and undoubtedly one of those was Eva McGauley, who at the age of 15 was diagnosed with terminal cancer, to which she succumbed a little more than 3 years later. Eva was involved with the Wellington Rape Crisis Organisation, was an intern with the Green Party, ran her own charity 'Eva's Wish' raising more than $70,000 to help sexual abused survivors, was involved in the '200 Women Who will change the way you see the world' book and exhibition and was nominated for Youth Wellingtonian of the year award, among others.
Read More...
Oliver Birch - Album Review: Burning Daylight
05 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This is the debut album from Auckland musician, Oliver Birch, although older versions of many of the songs contained within have already been made available as singles. When the album started with the lengthy keyboard chords and feedback intro I thought it would fall into krautrock, but instead it quickly changed into a psychedelic experimental art rock number with emotionally charged vocals and an outright refusal to conform to any expectations.
Read More...
Album Review: Black Velvet Butterfly
03 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Black Velvet Butterfly are a one-man band from Auckland featuring James Castady-Kristament. I was intrigued to be sent this as when I looked on their Bandcamp page it said, “It may just well be the coolest thing you’ve heard in the Goth scene since Type O Negative.
Read More...
Bill Angus and the Mighty Ways - Album Review: All Night Before the World Began
01 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Bill had a musical career in England before deciding to do something different, and returned to his roots when he started working in New Zealand. This is his third album.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • DOJA
    Central Cee
  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • I LIKE YOU (A HAPPIER SONG)
    Post Malone And Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem