30 Jan 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Marianne Leigh - Single Review: Sweet Goodbyes

03 Aug 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Marianne Leigh may only be 18 years of age, but she has already won Smokefree Rockquest, has been on TV and Radio NZ, is a three-time finalist of the Play It Strange songwriting competitions as well as being mentored by Bic Runga, so perhaps it should be no surprise that her new single Sweet Goodbyes is like a breath of fresh air in a market that often over-produces young singers. This is indie-pop, and is annoyingly catchy and infectious, so much so that I have been finding myself walking along absentmindedly humming the tune. Her vocals are clean and clear, and the strong arrangements have been set to always keep them front and centre. The drums are punchy, the guitars are jangly while the bass is solid, and her vocals have a youthful freshness yet also display the experience of someone who has been performing onstage since she was just 12 years old. Mind you, reading an interview when she says that when she is not doing homework, she prioritises her music makes me realise just how young she really is. There is lots of space in the arrangements, and this song always makes me feel the Summer, with bright sunshine and a beach.

At times she hits notes strongly, at others she slides in and out, and often uses a catch in her voice to great effect. She is vocally doing quite a lot in the 2:30 seconds of the song, and that length is the only thing I would have liked changed, as it should be longer! The music and vocals are sweet, but then listen to the lyrics and one realises that she is talking about being used in a relationship, and this contrast really does hit home. I am off to her release show this Friday, and I for one am certainly intrigued to hear more from Marianne, but until we get an album, I feel this is something I will keep playing.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Marianne Leigh

Marianne Leigh is an acoustic indie-pop artist writing catchy tunes about genuine human emotions and experiences. She speaks to the soul with her meaningful lyrics and connects to listeners through her narrative songwriting style. Leigh's songs discuss the struggles of a naive youth, the ups and downs of love, and learning life lessons.

She is a versatile artist, her authenticity heard in both her emotional ballads and upbeat singles. The 18-year-old placed first in the nationwide Smokefree Rockquest competition with her single Best of Me in 2019, and brought her talent to TV on the What Now and Cath Vincent TV Shows.

She is a three-time finalist of the Play It Strange songwriting competitions and was mentored by award-winning NZ musician Bic Runga. “Authenticity beams through Marianne Leigh’s connection, vast musical space and raw artistry." - NZ Musician Magazine.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Marianne Leigh

Releases

Simple Things
Year: 2021
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

The Sam Loveridge Band - Album Review: Recovery
27 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Some albums are intense, some are incredibly hard work and only open up (sometimes, if at all) after a great many plays, and others will never be destined for mainstream radio play as there is nothing there to attract the masses. Then there are albums like this one, where all you need to do is check out the cover to have an idea of what it is going to be like inside.
Read More...
Melanie - EP Review: ABCD
25 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Since releasing their debut EP back in 2018, Auckland pop/punk outfit Melanie have been making quite a name for themselves in the old-fashioned way of doing things, namely playing anywhere and everywhere, and having total belief in themselves and their music. When I first saw them, I was impressed that here was an unsigned band who had invested in having their debut album pressed in vinyl and had a few different t-shirts available as well as some other merch including stickers.
Read More...
Gig Review: Checaine & After Forever @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 22/01/2022
23 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
As normal I got in early to the venue, then soon left again to have a beer up the road with the guys from Checaine. I was mightily impressed as they had brought a bus up from Hamilton with a load of fans onboard – one way of guaranteeing playing in a strange town in front of a friendly crowd.
Read More...
Gig Review: Blindfolded and Led To The Woods @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 15/01/2022
16 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I have been looking forward to tonight for ages, as Auckland went into lockdown in August with all gigs being cancelled until just before Christmas, and even then, that was with limited attendance. This means that tonight was going to be my first gig in five months, and given that I covered more than 30 in the first part of the year, that was some cold turkey.
Read More...
Fool's Lagoon - Single Review: Bizarre
13 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Bizarre is the debut single from Auckland-based quintet Fool’s Lagoon. Mark, Connor, Joe, Matt and Joshua have created a bright and summery indie pop jangler which is heavily guitar-based yet is somehow light and airy throughout.
Read More...
Powder Chutes - EP Review: Sweet Noise Pollution
11 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There is always that little hint of concern when reading a press release for a new EP and realise it contains a quote from yours truly for the single which was taken from it. How would they take it this time around if I panned this release?
Read More...
Tall Folk - Album Review: Wiser
11 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
2021 was a wonderful musical adventure for me as I threw myself into the NZ music scene, and towards the end of the year I realised that with nearly 200 reviews of local music I really should work out my Top 10 singles, EP’s, albums and gigs (check out https://www.muzic.
Read More...
Pass The Peas - EP Review: Pop
06 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This three-track EP is the latest release from Poneke-based quintet Pass The Peas, who describe their music as Wasabi spicy Rock n' Roll, whatever that means. To my ears it means they play mid-paced alternative pop rock with a strong concentration on the gravelly and emotional vocals of Kurt with loads of space within the arrangements, which are well-produced.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DOWN UNDER
    Luude feat. Colin Hay
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • MR REGGAE
    L.A.B.
  • ABCDEFU
    GAYLE
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • WE DON'T TALK ABOUT BRUNO
    Various
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem