18 Jan 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Sam Loveridge Band - Single Review: Run Into You

02 Aug 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

It has been a couple of years since I last came across Sam Loveridge and his excellent album, Clarity, and in the intervening time he has turned himself into a full band. At the time of that album release, AAA label boss TeMatera Smith could not stop talking about it, so it is no surprise at all that the new single, Run Into You, was recorded at Red Room Studio by Jamie Crerar, mastered by Chris Chetland at Kog, and again released by AAA. With Clarity I said that he reminded me of Mumford & Sons, but while there is still that influence, this has moved more into the mainstream with attention on Sam’s clear vocals and the keyboards of Bhagirath Prutvi.

The focus when the song commences is Sam’s delicate picked guitar and vocals, with the rest gradually coming in and then really making their presence felt in the chorus. There is a huge amount of space in this song, and an allowance for each instrument to be given the correct focus. This means that at some points in the song the most important musical element is the delicately picked banjo, at others the drums or bass, but always Sam’s vocals are right at the front. When he goes high there is an edge, which provides that additional element of bite and realism which really works.

Sam had the inspiration for the song one night when walking home from. He had been reflecting on a girl he had recently met at a coffee shop, when he saw her car parked on a side road, and all the emotions he had been feeling came to the fore. He was in a happy relationship, didn't want to leave, yet each day he got coffee in the shop he would meet the same girl who he could not pursue further. As this happened the chorus, lyrics and tune came to him, along with the opening guitar riff, and the next day the song was written, a vehicle to escape the negative emotion, creating a snapshot of what had been a great feeling and continue with life relatively unphased.

This deep emotion comes through in the song, which is almost a cry to the universe, yet at the same time there is the knowledge that while he would like to run into the person, nothing would go any further. The musical hooks are massive, with the vocals in the chorus both plaintive and powerful. This single is from the debut album for the band, Recovery, which is due out in November, and I can’t wait.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About The Sam Loveridge Band

The Sam Loveridge Band was formed in Auckland, New Zealand in 2021. The band has connections to the University of Auckland Jazz school where four of the members met (Sam, Sam, Chris and Bhagirath) and the Auckland open mic scene where Jono and Sam play regularly. The band plays an eclectic mix of genres from Folk and Psychedelic to Disco and Funk all built up from songs Sam has written.

The Band is set to release there first single Run Into You on the 23rd of July 2021 with a full album dropping in late November of the same year.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Sam Loveridge Band

Releases

There are no releases to display for The Sam Loveridge Band.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Blindfolded and Led To The Woods @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 15/01/2022
16 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I have been looking forward to tonight for ages, as Auckland went into lockdown in August with all gigs being cancelled until just before Christmas, and even then, that was with limited attendance. This means that tonight was going to be my first gig in five months, and given that I covered more than 30 in the first part of the year, that was some cold turkey.
Read More...
Fool's Lagoon - Single Review: Bizarre
13 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Bizarre is the debut single from Auckland-based quintet Fool’s Lagoon. Mark, Connor, Joe, Matt and Joshua have created a bright and summery indie pop jangler which is heavily guitar-based yet is somehow light and airy throughout.
Read More...
Powder Chutes - EP Review: Sweet Noise Pollution
11 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There is always that little hint of concern when reading a press release for a new EP and realise it contains a quote from yours truly for the single which was taken from it. How would they take it this time around if I panned this release?
Read More...
Tall Folk - Album Review: Wiser
11 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
2021 was a wonderful musical adventure for me as I threw myself into the NZ music scene, and towards the end of the year I realised that with nearly 200 reviews of local music I really should work out my Top 10 singles, EP’s, albums and gigs (check out https://www.muzic.
Read More...
Pass The Peas - EP Review: Pop
06 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This three-track EP is the latest release from Poneke-based quintet Pass The Peas, who describe their music as Wasabi spicy Rock n' Roll, whatever that means. To my ears it means they play mid-paced alternative pop rock with a strong concentration on the gravelly and emotional vocals of Kurt with loads of space within the arrangements, which are well-produced.
Read More...
Black Sands - Single Review: Apocalypse of Eden
22 Dec 2021 // by Kev Rowland
To my mind this single is long overdue, as I have been lucky enough to catch these guys play live a few times this year and they always put on an amazing show. Comprising Cameron Owens (guitars), Ruaidri Keens (guitars), Matt Hammond (bass) and James Trimmer (drums) they are one of those very rare breeds, a hard-hitting metal act with no need for a singer.
Read More...
Kev's Top 10's - 2021
20 Dec 2021 // by Kev Rowland
2021 has been a strange year, of that there has been no doubt whatsoever, but although everyone in Auckland is champing at the bit to be let out into the real world, it is probably best to remind ourselves that until we went into lockdown in August we were the envy of the world with festivals, plenty of beer, and the country being totally open (apart from the borders). At that time, I had been to more than 30 gigs, and was on course to hit 50 for the year, never thinking for a minute that August would be the last time I saw a band play live.
Read More...
Samantha Josephine - Album Review: The Finished Touch
19 Dec 2021 // by Kev Rowland
This is a direct continuation of the work displayed by Samantha on the Fly Bird Fly EP which came out a few months ago, except this time around she has managed to secure the services of drummers Mars Slater Vitai and Olive Konai, who between them share the duties on this 16-track 39-minute-long album. They fit in well with the ethos and spirit of Samantha, not attempting to bring in any finesse of polish, but instead keeping to the very lo-fi and naïve approach demonstrated by the singer/guitarist.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DOWN UNDER
    Luude feat. Colin Hay
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • FINGERS CROSSED
    Lauren Spencer-Smith
  • ABCDEFU
    GAYLE
  • MR REGGAE
    L.A.B.
  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem