27 Sep 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Sam Loveridge Band - Single Review: Run Into You

02 Aug 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

It has been a couple of years since I last came across Sam Loveridge and his excellent album, Clarity, and in the intervening time he has turned himself into a full band. At the time of that album release, AAA label boss TeMatera Smith could not stop talking about it, so it is no surprise at all that the new single, Run Into You, was recorded at Red Room Studio by Jamie Crerar, mastered by Chris Chetland at Kog, and again released by AAA. With Clarity I said that he reminded me of Mumford & Sons, but while there is still that influence, this has moved more into the mainstream with attention on Sam’s clear vocals and the keyboards of Bhagirath Prutvi.

The focus when the song commences is Sam’s delicate picked guitar and vocals, with the rest gradually coming in and then really making their presence felt in the chorus. There is a huge amount of space in this song, and an allowance for each instrument to be given the correct focus. This means that at some points in the song the most important musical element is the delicately picked banjo, at others the drums or bass, but always Sam’s vocals are right at the front. When he goes high there is an edge, which provides that additional element of bite and realism which really works.

Sam had the inspiration for the song one night when walking home from. He had been reflecting on a girl he had recently met at a coffee shop, when he saw her car parked on a side road, and all the emotions he had been feeling came to the fore. He was in a happy relationship, didn't want to leave, yet each day he got coffee in the shop he would meet the same girl who he could not pursue further. As this happened the chorus, lyrics and tune came to him, along with the opening guitar riff, and the next day the song was written, a vehicle to escape the negative emotion, creating a snapshot of what had been a great feeling and continue with life relatively unphased.

This deep emotion comes through in the song, which is almost a cry to the universe, yet at the same time there is the knowledge that while he would like to run into the person, nothing would go any further. The musical hooks are massive, with the vocals in the chorus both plaintive and powerful. This single is from the debut album for the band, Recovery, which is due out in November, and I can’t wait.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About The Sam Loveridge Band

The Sam Loveridge Band was formed in Auckland, New Zealand in 2021. The band has connections to the University of Auckland Jazz school where four of the members met (Sam, Sam, Chris and Bhagirath) and the Auckland open mic scene where Jono and Sam play regularly. The band plays an eclectic mix of genres from Folk and Psychedelic to Disco and Funk all built up from songs Sam has written.

The Band is set to release there first single Run Into You on the 23rd of July 2021 with a full album dropping in late November of the same year.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Sam Loveridge Band

Releases

Recovery
Year: 2022
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

John Michaelz and the Black Brothers Band - EP Review: Limited Edition
26 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It is not often that I am asked to review reggae, as it is an area which is very much a strange land to me, so I am coming at this as a straightforward listener as opposed to having any knowledge in the genre. This EP is a collection of three previously released singles, plus dub versions of the same, one of which has been broken in two to provide us with seven numbers.
Read More...
Ekko Park - EP Review: UnMute
25 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There are times when it is just impossible to write a review as I am having so much fun playing the music that I find myself hitting the desk in time with the drums, bopping to the beat and fully in the groove. Then the damn thing is finished, and I have to put it on again (not really an issue) and the debacle repeats!
Read More...
Gig Review: Smokefreerockquest National Finals @ Q Theatre, Auckland - 24/09/2022
25 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I must admit I had to look up the address for Q Theatre on Google as I had never heard of it but having found it, I realized I must have been past it hundreds of times as it is right next door to Auckland Town Hall. Tonight, I was at the finals for Smokefree Rock Quest, the most important school competition for music in Aotearoa, and it would not surprise me if it was one of the longest running in the world as they were celebrating 35 years of the event.
Read More...
Gig Review: Achilles Complex @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 23/09/2022
24 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I cannot believe I have not been at Dead Witch since the beginning of July, but there has been so much music going on that I kept having clashes. Luckily, Harley asked if I could come and see Achilles Complex quite some time back so this date was locked in.
Read More...
Planet Hunter - Album Review: Moscovium
22 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
On April 19th, 2018, the Transiting Exoplanet Survey Satellite was launched on a two-year mission to find a rocky world with an atmosphere which could be probed for signs of life. Although it had an official name, the media just called it a planet hunter which seemed more exciting, and a Wellington rock band finally came across a name they felt was fitting for the music they were creating.
Read More...
Medusa Glare - Single Review: Lay It To Rest
21 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It is not unusual for me to have conversations with music lovers which revolve around me attempting to convince them there is a vibrant and exciting music scene in Aotearoa as sometimes it feels like I am coming across a wonderful new band on a daily basis, and here is another. I am sure if Medusa Glare were an Auckland act as opposed to being from the ‘Tron I would have come across them long before now, but given they were formed back in 2014 there really is no excuse on missing out on this classic hard rock band until now.
Read More...
PolarisRadio - Album Review: Legend of the Broken Claw
21 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I was not too sure what to expect from PolarisRadio, which is the pseudonym for Dean Moroney, but I am pretty sure this wasn’t it! Dean’s music is normally described as Synthwave, and in some respects that still fits as here we have an instrumental album which appears to be based on a video game, yet while there are some tracks (such as Sea of Stars) which are solidly sat within that genre, there are plenty of others which do not.
Read More...
Thousand Limbs - Single Review: The Aurouchs - Ensnared
19 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the second single from Auckland-based instrumental doom outfit Thousand Limbs. It is taken from their forthcoming debut album The Aurouchs, which is a ten-part song-cycle based on Kakuan Shien’s Ten Ox Herding Pictures, and is set to be released later this year, with each of the ten songs being based on one of the ten woodcuts.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SUPER FREAKY GIRL
    Nicki Minaj
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CUFF IT
    Beyonce
  • SHUT DOWN
    BLACKPINK
  • B.O.T.A. (BADDEST OF THEM ALL)
    Eliza Rose And Interplanetary Criminal
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem