7 Jul 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Capital Theatre - Single/Video Review: Fire

02 Aug 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Capital Theatre are back with the most recent single, Fire, from the forthcoming album (which is due out in October), following on from the incredible People, which has been on constant repeat at my place. Given just how much I have been playing that, I did have some concerns that Fire may not live up to the same level, but these were soon blown away. It commences with harsh U2-type riffs, but these disappear as we concentrate on Adam’s vocals and the rhythm section, with keyboards and guitar adding touches here and there, then when it is time for the bridge we get some nice harmony vocals and just for a few bars there is more intensity and drive.

It reverts back to the simpler style for the second verse, and then the band starts to lift and change the dynamics and power structure. Paul always provides a great foundation for the band, knowing when to provide huge fills or when not to play at all, and at just past two minutes the song changes again to be just Adam and piano, but when Roy and Paul come back in, one knows it is really going to lift, which is exactly what it does. These elements of Coldplay and Muse move in and out, and when they go into the quiet section for the second time it is lifted with some beautiful cello, then slowly the guys start to push, and the song just keeps building and getting stronger. The use of contrast within the song is huge, as it emphasises the different structures and styles within it, with each person having a huge part to play.

The video is very different to the last one, in that we see very little of the band, and in fact we only see Adam’s face on a TV every so often with the others not making an appearance at all (nice to see Adam still using the make-up from People, he needs to do that more often!). This is a story video, but not quite as straight forward as Force To Fight (one of the most powerful around, check it out), but more arty, with loads of different imagery and of course plenty of flames. Whether it is in concert, on video or just with their music, Capital Theatre continue to push ever higher and overall, this is yet another stunning song.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

Releases

A Hero's Journey
Year: 2022
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Sonic Delusion - Single/Video Review: Fingertips
06 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Earlier this year I was fortunate enough to come across the incredible album When Turkeys Fly by Turkey The Bird which meant I was determined to see them when they came to Auckland and had an amazing evening. One member of that trio is André Manella, who has also been touring as Sonic Delusion, and over the last eight years he has played more than 800 shows and released five albums.
Read More...
Gig Review: T-Bone @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 03/07/2022
03 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Down to Tuning Fork for an early start with doors opening at 5:30 and the whole thing expected to be over by 9:30! I was so glad that Al from Hoop sent me the running times in the morning otherwise I would have missed their set altogether as well as possibly missing the beginning of T-Bone!
Read More...
EP Review: Ange.Mac + Shaun Garea
03 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
What we have here is the debut collaboration from Ange.Mac and Shaun Garea.
Read More...
Gig Review: Pale Flag @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 01/07/2022
02 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Tonight, I was supposed to be at The Tuning Fork for Ekko Park and Jordan Luck but the dreaded Covid had cast its spell and the gig was cancelled earlier in the week. I did a quick check to see what was on at Dead Witch and discovered there was a four-band bill and knowing three of them I could see it was going to be a good night so decided to head that way.
Read More...
Ayla Wesley - Single Review: Say To Me
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Normally, when I am reviewing singles for MNZ the turnaround time we work to is 7 days and it is not unusual for me to work on far tighter deadlines than that, but Ayla was incredibly well organised with the promotion for her second single, and I have been playing this for the last 3 weeks at least. In that time it has become a real earworm, and I have even found myself singing it as I walk around (not a pleasant experience for anyone in the vicinity, let me assure you).
Read More...
Ed Waaka - Single Review: E Kura
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It did not take long for me to fall in love with this song, probably the first 30 seconds I guess, as there is something about it which grabs hold the listener, puts them in a safe place, and lets the singer bare their soul. Soul, yes, this is full of it in a musical sense as well as an emotional one, and when I discovered he was singing about the upcoming birth of his first daughter, whether he would be a good father, and the need to reconnect to his Maori heritage it made a great deal of sense.
Read More...
Danica Bryant - Single Review: Crush
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the lead single from Danica Bryant’s forthcoming EP, Ego Death, and if this is fully representative, then that is something to look out for. For a young artist she has already had considerable success, mentoring with Bic Runga while also gaining a support slot for Elton John on his ‘Farewell Yellow Brick Road’ tour, and while she has already tasted success on the NZ Hot Singles Chart, I am sure this is going to head the same way.
Read More...
Tia Ward - EP Review: Me and Me Too
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This is the debut EP from Hawkes Bay singer Tia Ward, following on from two singles which were released ahead of time, Under Wraps and Paint Dry, both of which are included here. The first thing which the listener notices are her vocals, which are both understated yet firmly to the fore.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • JIMMY COOKS
    Drake feat. 21 Savage
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem