19 Sep 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
  • Articles »
  • Reviews »
  • Capital Theatre - Gig Review: Capital Theatre @ Botany Commons, Auckland - 31/07/2021

Capital Theatre - Gig Review: Capital Theatre @ Botany Commons, Auckland - 31/07/2021

01 Aug 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

I was fortunate enough to catch Capital Theatre earlier this year at The Tuning Fork, and hearing that they were playing Botany, which is not too far from me, meant a trip to a pub venue situated in a shopping complex, not the sort of place I normally visit. Still, it is always good to come to a place which has a nice permanent stage and lighting and walking in I could see the CT drumkit on stage, along with multiple guitars and Marshall amps – the guys certainly know how to make an impression even when they are not performing. Tonight, they were playing support to The Feelers, and this was a ticketed gig with the venue closed to non-attendees, so it was obvious that most of the people were there to see the headline band and had no idea whatsoever what they were going to receive from the support. I managed to catch a chat with Roy Oliver (guitar, vocals) beforehand, and was pleased to hear that the album finally has a release date (October this year), and we discussed the new single/video, Fire, before he realised, he was due on stage in ten minutes, and he really ought to get ready!

For those who have yet to see the band, Capital Theatre are a trio, with the line-up completed by Paul Reid (drums) and Adam Stevenson (vocals, keyboards, guitar). They do not have a bassist but use triggered samples to fill in the bass sound (and sometimes also use keyboard samples if the track needs two guitars). When they walked onstage, I was pleased to see Adam wearing the clown shirt he used in the recent People video, but was somewhat disappointed not to see any of the make-up being utilised – maybe next time? They checked everyone was good, and then hit into Fait, which certainly got everyone paying close attention indeed. This is one of their heavier numbers, with high energy and twin guitars, with Paul providing almost tribal-style drumming from the back. Adam’s vocals are always spot on, and he and Roy work the stage, ensuring everyone in the audience understands here is a class act. I was asked by someone in the audience if they were only playing originals as they were sure they knew a few of the songs, which just shows the cut through they are achieving.

There is no doubt that People is an absolute classic, which also has a killer vid (check out YouTube if you haven’t already), and they launched into it as just their second number. It is one of those songs which is full of passion and emotion from the beginning, yet somehow, they lift it towards the end, and it becomes an epic anthem. I must confess to having been playing this on repeat since I first heard it, and they more than do it proud in the live environment with both guitarists crunching it hard and Adam’s vocals bringing it home.

There were times when Adam went into the dark corner where the keyboards were situated, to provide a different feel to the sound, and with Second Skin they really slowed it down, yet from gentle beginnings it soon became a pounding belter. It is hard not to be impressed by the work of Paul behind the kit, as while he is content to sit back and provide deft touches on cymbals when the time is right, or utilising rimshots, here was a song where he was really driving it on with massive fills right around the kit. Roy is happy crunching riffs or providing dynamic solos, but he ended this with delicate feedback.

The new single, Fire, is another classic, starting with a bang before the keyboards took over. Powerful and dramatic, it is a number which contains so much contrast and emotion. The constant change of attack through the set, with every number containing multiple elements and great musicianship and vocals, meant that by the end the audience were close to the stage and people were dancing which was a real contrast to everyone just staring at them from a distance at the beginning. They ended with another of the highlights, the banging Force To Fight, and all too soon it was over.

I am already looking forward to the next gig, and I know there are plans afoot to do quite a few around the time of the album release. Polished, tight, with songs which all contain great hooks, Capital Theatre really are a band to look out for.


Photo Credit: Kev Rowland

 

Releases

There are no releases to display for Capital Theatre.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Written By Wolves - EP Review: Secrets - The Collab Project
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Since I started writing for New Zealand’s #1 music site, https://www.muzic.
Read More...
Alien Weaponry - Album Review: Tangaroa
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
There is no doubt whatsoever that Alien Weaponry have captured the imagination not only of the New Zealand public, but metalheads worldwide, with their combination of groove and thrash metal mixing with their Maori heritage to create something very special indeed. There really is no other band quite like them, although I do sometimes find myself thinking of the impact of Sepultura and their Roots album, but one does need to remember that was Sepultura’s sixth album, some 12 years after their first release.
Read More...
Domingo Candelario - EP Review: Sin Palabras
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Although there is always a very Cuban base to his music, Domingo has covered many different styles, as he transcends culture and language: music is about expressing emotions honestly and he tries to be as unique as he can.  As a child, his parents listened to a lot of Brazilian music, and he was fascinated by the way they used harmonies: it was so beautifully put together, so soft and in connection with the soul.
Read More...
Glenn Bodger - Album Review: I'll Leave The Light On
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut solo album from Glenn Bodger, who provided most of the instrumentation himself, although he has also been assisted by former Braintree bandmate Darryn Harkness, who helped with additional guitar, bass and keyboards where required. From the gentle, almost cautiously picked acoustic guitar notes on opener I’ll Leave The Light On, we are brought carefully into a world which is dated yet fresh, comfortable but new, as he mixes together different musical elements in an independent, alternative style which is often somehow commercial and others when they are definitely not.
Read More...
Samantha Josephine - EP Review: Fly Bird Fly
15 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Samantha Josephine's six-track Fly Bird Fly EP is less than 13 minutes long, but in many ways that makes total sense, as there is a feeling within this that we are being allowed into a secret and very personal world and that it would be intrusive to stay for too long. One can imagine Samantha performing in a corner, hoping that no-one will see or hear her, and when I read in her bio that only her girlfriend has seen her perform in the last year, and that even she is not allowed to be around when Samantha is writing, then it makes perfect sense.
Read More...
The Night - Single Review: Untouchable
12 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
This cannot be right. According to the information I have in front of me, this Wellington-based band was formed from a group of music students in 2017, started performing live in 2018, and their ages now range from 15 to 18!
Read More...
Channeled - EP Review: Perception
12 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
As I have said previously, 2020 was a breakthrough year for Channeled, as Ben Ruegg recorded the second album and formed an operational live band to make it more than just a studio project. They made it through to the final of the Ding Dong Lounge Battle of the Bands and set up a headline show at the same venue with Cafe Fistfight and Mariner as support to celebrate the release of I Heard Penelope Sing, but then disaster struck with Ben being rushed to hospital following a Grand Mal seizure.
Read More...
Empress - EP Review: Trash Dynasty
10 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Empress were formed by guitarist/singer Lora Thompson and drummer Craig Gilliver after the demise of their previous project, Cheshire Grimm with whom they toured the length of NZ, played with international acts and local superstars, as well as releasing material along the way. The lead track from this EP, Sailing the Seas of Grease, was actually released towards the end of 2020 but it has taken until now for their six-track 23-minute-long debut EP to made available.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • PEPEHA
    Six60
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
  • FAIR TRADE
    Drake feat. Travis Scott
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem