7 Jul 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
  • Articles »
  • Reviews »
  • Capital Theatre - Gig Review: Capital Theatre @ Botany Commons, Auckland - 31/07/2021

Capital Theatre - Gig Review: Capital Theatre @ Botany Commons, Auckland - 31/07/2021

01 Aug 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

I was fortunate enough to catch Capital Theatre earlier this year at The Tuning Fork, and hearing that they were playing Botany, which is not too far from me, meant a trip to a pub venue situated in a shopping complex, not the sort of place I normally visit. Still, it is always good to come to a place which has a nice permanent stage and lighting and walking in I could see the CT drumkit on stage, along with multiple guitars and Marshall amps – the guys certainly know how to make an impression even when they are not performing. Tonight, they were playing support to The Feelers, and this was a ticketed gig with the venue closed to non-attendees, so it was obvious that most of the people were there to see the headline band and had no idea whatsoever what they were going to receive from the support. I managed to catch a chat with Roy Oliver (guitar, vocals) beforehand, and was pleased to hear that the album finally has a release date (October this year), and we discussed the new single/video, Fire, before he realised, he was due on stage in ten minutes, and he really ought to get ready!

For those who have yet to see the band, Capital Theatre are a trio, with the line-up completed by Paul Reid (drums) and Adam Stevenson (vocals, keyboards, guitar). They do not have a bassist but use triggered samples to fill in the bass sound (and sometimes also use keyboard samples if the track needs two guitars). When they walked onstage, I was pleased to see Adam wearing the clown shirt he used in the recent People video, but was somewhat disappointed not to see any of the make-up being utilised – maybe next time? They checked everyone was good, and then hit into Fait, which certainly got everyone paying close attention indeed. This is one of their heavier numbers, with high energy and twin guitars, with Paul providing almost tribal-style drumming from the back. Adam’s vocals are always spot on, and he and Roy work the stage, ensuring everyone in the audience understands here is a class act. I was asked by someone in the audience if they were only playing originals as they were sure they knew a few of the songs, which just shows the cut through they are achieving.

There is no doubt that People is an absolute classic, which also has a killer vid (check out YouTube if you haven’t already), and they launched into it as just their second number. It is one of those songs which is full of passion and emotion from the beginning, yet somehow, they lift it towards the end, and it becomes an epic anthem. I must confess to having been playing this on repeat since I first heard it, and they more than do it proud in the live environment with both guitarists crunching it hard and Adam’s vocals bringing it home.

There were times when Adam went into the dark corner where the keyboards were situated, to provide a different feel to the sound, and with Second Skin they really slowed it down, yet from gentle beginnings it soon became a pounding belter. It is hard not to be impressed by the work of Paul behind the kit, as while he is content to sit back and provide deft touches on cymbals when the time is right, or utilising rimshots, here was a song where he was really driving it on with massive fills right around the kit. Roy is happy crunching riffs or providing dynamic solos, but he ended this with delicate feedback.

The new single, Fire, is another classic, starting with a bang before the keyboards took over. Powerful and dramatic, it is a number which contains so much contrast and emotion. The constant change of attack through the set, with every number containing multiple elements and great musicianship and vocals, meant that by the end the audience were close to the stage and people were dancing which was a real contrast to everyone just staring at them from a distance at the beginning. They ended with another of the highlights, the banging Force To Fight, and all too soon it was over.

I am already looking forward to the next gig, and I know there are plans afoot to do quite a few around the time of the album release. Polished, tight, with songs which all contain great hooks, Capital Theatre really are a band to look out for.


Photo Credit: Kev Rowland

 

Releases

A Hero's Journey
Year: 2022
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Sonic Delusion - Single/Video Review: Fingertips
06 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Earlier this year I was fortunate enough to come across the incredible album When Turkeys Fly by Turkey The Bird which meant I was determined to see them when they came to Auckland and had an amazing evening. One member of that trio is André Manella, who has also been touring as Sonic Delusion, and over the last eight years he has played more than 800 shows and released five albums.
Read More...
Gig Review: T-Bone @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 03/07/2022
03 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Down to Tuning Fork for an early start with doors opening at 5:30 and the whole thing expected to be over by 9:30! I was so glad that Al from Hoop sent me the running times in the morning otherwise I would have missed their set altogether as well as possibly missing the beginning of T-Bone!
Read More...
EP Review: Ange.Mac + Shaun Garea
03 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
What we have here is the debut collaboration from Ange.Mac and Shaun Garea.
Read More...
Gig Review: Pale Flag @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 01/07/2022
02 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Tonight, I was supposed to be at The Tuning Fork for Ekko Park and Jordan Luck but the dreaded Covid had cast its spell and the gig was cancelled earlier in the week. I did a quick check to see what was on at Dead Witch and discovered there was a four-band bill and knowing three of them I could see it was going to be a good night so decided to head that way.
Read More...
Ayla Wesley - Single Review: Say To Me
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Normally, when I am reviewing singles for MNZ the turnaround time we work to is 7 days and it is not unusual for me to work on far tighter deadlines than that, but Ayla was incredibly well organised with the promotion for her second single, and I have been playing this for the last 3 weeks at least. In that time it has become a real earworm, and I have even found myself singing it as I walk around (not a pleasant experience for anyone in the vicinity, let me assure you).
Read More...
Ed Waaka - Single Review: E Kura
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It did not take long for me to fall in love with this song, probably the first 30 seconds I guess, as there is something about it which grabs hold the listener, puts them in a safe place, and lets the singer bare their soul. Soul, yes, this is full of it in a musical sense as well as an emotional one, and when I discovered he was singing about the upcoming birth of his first daughter, whether he would be a good father, and the need to reconnect to his Maori heritage it made a great deal of sense.
Read More...
Danica Bryant - Single Review: Crush
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the lead single from Danica Bryant’s forthcoming EP, Ego Death, and if this is fully representative, then that is something to look out for. For a young artist she has already had considerable success, mentoring with Bic Runga while also gaining a support slot for Elton John on his ‘Farewell Yellow Brick Road’ tour, and while she has already tasted success on the NZ Hot Singles Chart, I am sure this is going to head the same way.
Read More...
Tia Ward - EP Review: Me and Me Too
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This is the debut EP from Hawkes Bay singer Tia Ward, following on from two singles which were released ahead of time, Under Wraps and Paint Dry, both of which are included here. The first thing which the listener notices are her vocals, which are both understated yet firmly to the fore.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • JIMMY COOKS
    Drake feat. 21 Savage
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem