30 Sep 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
  • Articles »
  • Reviews »
  • Capital Theatre - Gig Review: Capital Theatre @ Botany Commons, Auckland - 31/07/2021

Capital Theatre - Gig Review: Capital Theatre @ Botany Commons, Auckland - 31/07/2021

01 Aug 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

I was fortunate enough to catch Capital Theatre earlier this year at The Tuning Fork, and hearing that they were playing Botany, which is not too far from me, meant a trip to a pub venue situated in a shopping complex, not the sort of place I normally visit. Still, it is always good to come to a place which has a nice permanent stage and lighting and walking in I could see the CT drumkit on stage, along with multiple guitars and Marshall amps – the guys certainly know how to make an impression even when they are not performing. Tonight, they were playing support to The Feelers, and this was a ticketed gig with the venue closed to non-attendees, so it was obvious that most of the people were there to see the headline band and had no idea whatsoever what they were going to receive from the support. I managed to catch a chat with Roy Oliver (guitar, vocals) beforehand, and was pleased to hear that the album finally has a release date (October this year), and we discussed the new single/video, Fire, before he realised, he was due on stage in ten minutes, and he really ought to get ready!

For those who have yet to see the band, Capital Theatre are a trio, with the line-up completed by Paul Reid (drums) and Adam Stevenson (vocals, keyboards, guitar). They do not have a bassist but use triggered samples to fill in the bass sound (and sometimes also use keyboard samples if the track needs two guitars). When they walked onstage, I was pleased to see Adam wearing the clown shirt he used in the recent People video, but was somewhat disappointed not to see any of the make-up being utilised – maybe next time? They checked everyone was good, and then hit into Fait, which certainly got everyone paying close attention indeed. This is one of their heavier numbers, with high energy and twin guitars, with Paul providing almost tribal-style drumming from the back. Adam’s vocals are always spot on, and he and Roy work the stage, ensuring everyone in the audience understands here is a class act. I was asked by someone in the audience if they were only playing originals as they were sure they knew a few of the songs, which just shows the cut through they are achieving.

There is no doubt that People is an absolute classic, which also has a killer vid (check out YouTube if you haven’t already), and they launched into it as just their second number. It is one of those songs which is full of passion and emotion from the beginning, yet somehow, they lift it towards the end, and it becomes an epic anthem. I must confess to having been playing this on repeat since I first heard it, and they more than do it proud in the live environment with both guitarists crunching it hard and Adam’s vocals bringing it home.

There were times when Adam went into the dark corner where the keyboards were situated, to provide a different feel to the sound, and with Second Skin they really slowed it down, yet from gentle beginnings it soon became a pounding belter. It is hard not to be impressed by the work of Paul behind the kit, as while he is content to sit back and provide deft touches on cymbals when the time is right, or utilising rimshots, here was a song where he was really driving it on with massive fills right around the kit. Roy is happy crunching riffs or providing dynamic solos, but he ended this with delicate feedback.

The new single, Fire, is another classic, starting with a bang before the keyboards took over. Powerful and dramatic, it is a number which contains so much contrast and emotion. The constant change of attack through the set, with every number containing multiple elements and great musicianship and vocals, meant that by the end the audience were close to the stage and people were dancing which was a real contrast to everyone just staring at them from a distance at the beginning. They ended with another of the highlights, the banging Force To Fight, and all too soon it was over.

I am already looking forward to the next gig, and I know there are plans afoot to do quite a few around the time of the album release. Polished, tight, with songs which all contain great hooks, Capital Theatre really are a band to look out for.


Photo Credit: Kev Rowland

 

Releases

A Hero's Journey
Year: 2022
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Dead Favours - Single Review: Sink or Swim
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Just the opening few bars of their new single lets the listener know that Dead Favours are back, and yet again they mean business. Charlie sets up an intricate backbeat, Kyle and Jared have their guitars in sync, and at the heart of it all is a filthy bassline with Alex providing melodies and countermelodies, so one is brought into the music long before Jared even starts singing!
Read More...
Impostor Syndrome - Single Review: I Talk Too Much
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Auckland trio Imposter Syndrome, which is based strongly on a riffed acoustic guitar (the sound of which is superb, congrats whoever engineered this), with vocals over the top. Due to its nature this has plenty of space within the arrangements as even when additional instruments are added they are sparse, so the concentration is always on the voice and the guitar.
Read More...
Old Salts - EP Review: Stories Told by the Sea
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Alt rockers Old Salts hail from the shores of Bream Bay, Northland, and features John Buckle (lead vocals, guitar) Scott Brown (lead guitar, BV) Marcus Jones (bass, BV), and Lucas Hargreaves (drums, BV). This four-track EP contains three previously released singles plus the new one, Casual Smoker, which they describe as being reminiscent of Barry Manilow meets RHCP.
Read More...
BO And the Constrictors - EP Review: Love
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
These guys are new to me, and when I checked them out, I realised they are from Dunedin, which is why I have not come across them yet on the Auckland circuit, but I do hope they can make it up here at some point as these three songs are a nice slice of rock, and they are doing something quite different with their sound. Named after lead singer/guitarist Boaz Anema, the band also comprises Dean Armitage (bass, backing vocals), Jacob Rutherford (slide guitar) and Jack Mcrae (drums).
Read More...
Trepidations - EP Review: Time Flies
28 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
The latest EP from Trepidations follows a rather unusual format in that we have one vocal track which was recorded in a studio, and then three instrumental tracks which were played live which are quite different in approach and sound quality. Having not played any of their music before I must confess, I do not know if these distinctly different approaches are what one would expect from the trio, or whether one of these paths is new to them.
Read More...
John Michaelz and the Black Brothers Band - EP Review: Limited Edition
26 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It is not often that I am asked to review reggae, as it is an area which is very much a strange land to me, so I am coming at this as a straightforward listener as opposed to having any knowledge in the genre. This EP is a collection of three previously released singles, plus dub versions of the same, one of which has been broken in two to provide us with seven numbers.
Read More...
Ekko Park - EP Review: UnMute
25 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There are times when it is just impossible to write a review as I am having so much fun playing the music that I find myself hitting the desk in time with the drums, bopping to the beat and fully in the groove. Then the damn thing is finished, and I have to put it on again (not really an issue) and the debacle repeats!
Read More...
Gig Review: Smokefreerockquest National Finals @ Q Theatre, Auckland - 24/09/2022
25 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I must admit I had to look up the address for Q Theatre on Google as I had never heard of it but having found it, I realized I must have been past it hundreds of times as it is right next door to Auckland Town Hall. Tonight, I was at the finals for Smokefree Rock Quest, the most important school competition for music in Aotearoa, and it would not surprise me if it was one of the longest running in the world as they were celebrating 35 years of the event.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SUPER FREAKY GIRL
    Nicki Minaj
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CUFF IT
    Beyonce
  • SHUT DOWN
    BLACKPINK
  • B.O.T.A. (BADDEST OF THEM ALL)
    Eliza Rose And Interplanetary Criminal
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem