5 Feb 2023
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Salt Rock - Single Review: Six Appeal

30 Jul 2021 // A review by Chris Chick
Any song that has a sultry baseline and some trumpets are always going to grab my listening ear and have me easily fall in love with, that is just how I roll. Salt Rock are a funk-dub group based in Christchurch made up of seven pals doing their thing to the wonderful New Zealand music scene. Their latest song Six Appeal is here and here comes another summer song for you to add to your song list as well as another top quality product of Aotearoa to keep an eye on.

New Zealand has a rich history of producing top quality reggae/ska/dub music and again we find another band hitting the scene bringing high quality sound. If you do not leave this song at the end with a slightly sore neck because of all the head bobbing, then I implore you to listen again until the inevitable head bobbing begins. Salt Rock does a wonderful job of mixing the numerous instruments into this song with what seems like very easy transitions, like a well prepared and trained Brazilian football team, you just know as soon as they hit the pitch, there is only going to be one winner.

This is such an easy going song that just sounds better and better every time I listen to it, again when those trumpets blast onto the scene, I cannot help but sink further into my seat with my home made kombucha and enjoy the solitude. Visions of the Southern Alp mountain range come into view as I close my eyes as I can imagine the tranquility of it all through just the sounds radiating through my speakers. I am very excited that this song goes on for six minutes, it certainly needs to be that long, any shorter and I feel I would lose my zen like moment.

As I am sure you can tell, this is a wonderfully put together musical piece that gets a big thumbs up from me. I would stick my big toes up to, but apparently that would freak some people out, in that case, listen to this song for some calming beats. As a local Cantabrian I will be going out of my way to check these guys out in a live setting and I hope you will to. This gets a Chris Chick 4 stars out of 5 and everyone from the Salt Rock whanau should be very proud of their efforts, top notch work.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Salt Rock

Just 7 pals making funky dubby music from Christchurch, Aotearoa




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Salt Rock

Releases

There are no releases to display for Salt Rock.

Other Reviews By Chris Chick

Corrella - Single Review: Skankin
09 Dec 2022 // by Chris Chick
Oh yes, the summer vibes are in town and Corrella is starting the skank off without delay. Is there any other type of music that reflects New Zealand during the summertime as the ska/reggae vibes that permeated from the West Indies.
Read More...
EP Review: Bird Machine
24 Nov 2022 // by Chris Chick
Bird Machine are releasing their self-titled EP, the twosome brings a vibe of a New Zealand and Australian alt rock and dream pop to your ears. All these songs are remarkably performed, recorded, and produced from their home-based studio in the wonderful city of Hamilton.
Read More...
The Black Seeds - Album Review: Love & Fire
15 Jul 2022 // by Chris Chick
What a privilege it is to review a legendary band that is The Black Seeds. The band has been entertaining and soothing the ears of many a listener now since 1998.
Read More...
The Hootz - Single Review: Stay Away
06 May 2022 // by Chris Chick
Hailing from the Garden City and just a short 15-minute drive from yours truly, the 4-piece band known as The Hootz are releasing their upcoming single Stay Away. This song has a very melancholy vibe to it, but not in the sense of it being a negative thing, if anything it has a very Summer vibe feel to it.
Read More...
Trip Change - Single Review: Never Seen A Boy Like Me
24 Jan 2022 // by Chris Chick
It is not hard to know that I am fan of all music, I think the ability to pick up a musical instrument and compose a song is impressive. The intricacies of bringing many parts together and making the final product sound so good is beyond my capabilities.
Read More...
Kokomo - Album Review: A Little Something From The Attic
01 Jan 2022 // by Chris Chick
16 Blues songs to review was my mission if I chose to accept it, well naturally I did, otherwise you would not be reading this, but let me just tell you something, was I excited? Oh you can bet your bottom dollar I was.
Read More...
Mini Simmons - Single Review: Railroad For Two
01 Nov 2021 // by Chris Chick
I had the privilege of listening to another cracking song by Mini Simmons. Their latest release Railroad For Two hit my ears and I am happy to say, my heart was warmed by such a melodic and poignant song that is perfect for any setting where peace and calm are the order of the day.
Read More...
Oceanspace - Single Review: Silver City Rain
01 Sep 2021 // by Chris Chick
Now and again a song comes around that makes you stop and think "well that certainly surprised me". This is in no way a negative connotation, I would hate to think that my initial perspective was one of which, when I was given the task to review this song, I was already looking to the one-star rating.
Read More...
View All Articles By Chris Chick

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FLOWERS
    Miley Cyrus
  • KILL BILL
    SZA
  • ESCAPISM.
    RAYE feat. 070 Shake
  • SURE THING
    Miguel
  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • PLAYERS
    Coi Leray
  • PEOPLE
    Libianca
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • CREEPIN'
    Metro Boomin, The Weeknd And 21 Savage
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem