27 Sep 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Salt Rock - Single Review: Six Appeal

30 Jul 2021 // A review by Chris Chick
Any song that has a sultry baseline and some trumpets are always going to grab my listening ear and have me easily fall in love with, that is just how I roll. Salt Rock are a funk-dub group based in Christchurch made up of seven pals doing their thing to the wonderful New Zealand music scene. Their latest song Six Appeal is here and here comes another summer song for you to add to your song list as well as another top quality product of Aotearoa to keep an eye on.

New Zealand has a rich history of producing top quality reggae/ska/dub music and again we find another band hitting the scene bringing high quality sound. If you do not leave this song at the end with a slightly sore neck because of all the head bobbing, then I implore you to listen again until the inevitable head bobbing begins. Salt Rock does a wonderful job of mixing the numerous instruments into this song with what seems like very easy transitions, like a well prepared and trained Brazilian football team, you just know as soon as they hit the pitch, there is only going to be one winner.

This is such an easy going song that just sounds better and better every time I listen to it, again when those trumpets blast onto the scene, I cannot help but sink further into my seat with my home made kombucha and enjoy the solitude. Visions of the Southern Alp mountain range come into view as I close my eyes as I can imagine the tranquility of it all through just the sounds radiating through my speakers. I am very excited that this song goes on for six minutes, it certainly needs to be that long, any shorter and I feel I would lose my zen like moment.

As I am sure you can tell, this is a wonderfully put together musical piece that gets a big thumbs up from me. I would stick my big toes up to, but apparently that would freak some people out, in that case, listen to this song for some calming beats. As a local Cantabrian I will be going out of my way to check these guys out in a live setting and I hope you will to. This gets a Chris Chick 4 stars out of 5 and everyone from the Salt Rock whanau should be very proud of their efforts, top notch work.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Salt Rock

Just 7 pals making funky dubby music from Christchurch, Aotearoa




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Salt Rock

Releases

There are no releases to display for Salt Rock.

Other Reviews By Chris Chick

Oceanspace - Single Review: Silver City Rain
01 Sep 2021 // by Chris Chick
Now and again a song comes around that makes you stop and think "well that certainly surprised me". This is in no way a negative connotation, I would hate to think that my initial perspective was one of which, when I was given the task to review this song, I was already looking to the one-star rating.
Read More...
False Heights - Single Review: Caught Up
21 Jul 2021 // by Chris Chick
The Taupo based pop duo False Heights have released their new single Caught Up and it is a corker. From the get go, the song takes me from the mid-winter blues (as I write this review) to the yearning of a wonderful sun filled summer on its way.
Read More...
Album Review: Turkey The Bird
07 Jun 2021 // by Chris Chick
The self-professed ‘Simon & Garfunkel’ of Aotearoa bring their first album to the listening ears of all New Zealanders and let us not beat around the bush, this is a corker of epic proportions. From the steadfast sound of the banjo piercing your ears delightful receptacles, to some rather incredibly smooth harmonies backed up by some rasping bass lines.
Read More...
Banana Mundo - EP Review: Hola
29 Apr 2021 // by Chris Chick
You just know with a name like Banana Mundo that you are in for a good time, as my old man once said to me "Chris, I am short and so is life, we are here for a good time, not a long time". It's a shame he did not have this EP at hand to use it in his timely philosophical saying.
Read More...
MARY. - Single Review: Day To Day
12 Mar 2021 // by Chris Chick
MARY. is the ‘dreamy’ alter ego of the songs creator Stef T, a robust and staunch woman making her way in what can be perceived as a very male orientated world in many aspects.
Read More...
Revulva - Single Review: Sniffly Lady
25 Feb 2021 // by Chris Chick
I had the privilege and honour to review the debut single from Revulva, Sniffly Lady, a song all about the grand boogie on a Saturday night. No matter how old or young you are, the intense anticipation of getting out and amongst the people for a boogie, especially in this day and age, is the great equalizer to the capitalistic machine we all find ourselves under.
Read More...
Bad Llamas - EP Review: Wunderlane
31 Jan 2021 // by Chris Chick
The new 6 track EP Wunderlane by Bad Llamas is a breath of fresh air when it comes to NZ music. Situated down in the depths of Christchurch, this is the band's second EP release after their debut 2019 EP What Even is Bad Llamas.
Read More...
Paul The Kid - Single Review: Palm Trees & Ciggies
08 Dec 2020 // by Chris Chick
If you were wondering what you Summer song was going to be for this year, the year of the 'what the hell just happened' Palm Trees and Ciggies could well be your winner to take you through to the next Winter. Any song that drops a humdinger of a ska/reggae beat is a sure fire way to get noticed by this reviewer, especially as the temperature starts to warm up and the stock of cold ones increases in the fridge.
Read More...
View All Articles By Chris Chick

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • PEPEHA
    Six60
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • THAT'S WHAT I WANT
    Lil Nas X
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem