18 Jan 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Skank Bandit - Album Review: Blood, Sweat and Beers

29 Jul 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Blood, Sweat and Beers is the second album by Skank Bandit, a quartet who describe their music as an explosive combination of reggae, rock, ska, funk, metal, and punk, and to be honest they have hit the nail right on the head. When people think of punk, particularly British punk, they tend to focus on the out and out aggression of Sex Pistols and the like and tend to forget that some of the bands had far broader tastes and influences, and such was the case of The Clash. In the bio on their website, they describe London Calling as combining rock 'n roll, soul, jazz, ska, reggae, and funk, all given a Clash twist with crisp guitars and culturally evocative lyrics, and this was what I thought of when first hearing this. Punk is often three minutes of solid aggression, little room for expression or real musicality, yet ska and reggae bands are built around the rhythm, and here we have masters at play in Matthew Mahood (bass, backing vocals) and Jarrod Hooper (drums, backing vocals). Matthew has a wonderfully fluid touch, sometimes playing single notes and at others providing complex and intricate lines, while Jarrod is constantly changing the attack and time signatures.

This means that Wes James (vocals, guitar) and Tecwyn King (lead guitar, backing vocals) have the opportunity to just go for whatever they want, so we can get the title cut which starts off with shouted vocals, then solid riffs before we venture into ska. One never knows what is going to come up next, but certainly it isn’t the learned gentleman providing the Professor Sherman Finkelstein Thesis. Somehow, I think this will sound quite different when it is played live, and oh boy I do hope it is played live. As he states, “there is no known cure for this condition”. I was already thoroughly enjoying the album by then, but this just brought a huge smile to my face, and unlike some interludes this one can be played repeatedly. There are times when the only thing to do is get up and have a groove around the room, it is that infectious.

If this was just about the music, then I would be highly recommending it, as it is wonderfully diverse and compelling, yet this isn’t all. If one is fortunate enough to see the guys play live, then it is possible to purchase a 32-page A4 full colour high quality book, which contains the lyrics plus original artwork from a series of artists. To tie in with this, the Gover Street gallery in New Plymouth featured an interactive exhibition titled Pieces of The Puzzle: Art inspired by Music. This had 12 “stations” (one for each song), where attendees could listen to each song, read the lyrics, and view 2-4 pieces of art per song (not all pieces of art made it into the book) The exhibition also featured a live performance from the band, and they are hoping to be able to take it around the country. Until that happens, sit back, and relax in what is a wonderfully innovative and enjoyable piece of work.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Skank Bandit

Using an explosive combination of reggae, rock, ska, funk, metal and punk, Skank Bandit make no apologies when mashing together their eclectic sound.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Skank Bandit

Releases

Blood, Sweat & Beers
Year: 2020
Type: Album
Dreamtime
Year: 2020
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Blindfolded and Led To The Woods @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 15/01/2022
16 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I have been looking forward to tonight for ages, as Auckland went into lockdown in August with all gigs being cancelled until just before Christmas, and even then, that was with limited attendance. This means that tonight was going to be my first gig in five months, and given that I covered more than 30 in the first part of the year, that was some cold turkey.
Read More...
Fool's Lagoon - Single Review: Bizarre
13 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Bizarre is the debut single from Auckland-based quintet Fool’s Lagoon. Mark, Connor, Joe, Matt and Joshua have created a bright and summery indie pop jangler which is heavily guitar-based yet is somehow light and airy throughout.
Read More...
Powder Chutes - EP Review: Sweet Noise Pollution
11 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There is always that little hint of concern when reading a press release for a new EP and realise it contains a quote from yours truly for the single which was taken from it. How would they take it this time around if I panned this release?
Read More...
Tall Folk - Album Review: Wiser
11 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
2021 was a wonderful musical adventure for me as I threw myself into the NZ music scene, and towards the end of the year I realised that with nearly 200 reviews of local music I really should work out my Top 10 singles, EP’s, albums and gigs (check out https://www.muzic.
Read More...
Pass The Peas - EP Review: Pop
06 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This three-track EP is the latest release from Poneke-based quintet Pass The Peas, who describe their music as Wasabi spicy Rock n' Roll, whatever that means. To my ears it means they play mid-paced alternative pop rock with a strong concentration on the gravelly and emotional vocals of Kurt with loads of space within the arrangements, which are well-produced.
Read More...
Black Sands - Single Review: Apocalypse of Eden
22 Dec 2021 // by Kev Rowland
To my mind this single is long overdue, as I have been lucky enough to catch these guys play live a few times this year and they always put on an amazing show. Comprising Cameron Owens (guitars), Ruaidri Keens (guitars), Matt Hammond (bass) and James Trimmer (drums) they are one of those very rare breeds, a hard-hitting metal act with no need for a singer.
Read More...
Kev's Top 10's - 2021
20 Dec 2021 // by Kev Rowland
2021 has been a strange year, of that there has been no doubt whatsoever, but although everyone in Auckland is champing at the bit to be let out into the real world, it is probably best to remind ourselves that until we went into lockdown in August we were the envy of the world with festivals, plenty of beer, and the country being totally open (apart from the borders). At that time, I had been to more than 30 gigs, and was on course to hit 50 for the year, never thinking for a minute that August would be the last time I saw a band play live.
Read More...
Samantha Josephine - Album Review: The Finished Touch
19 Dec 2021 // by Kev Rowland
This is a direct continuation of the work displayed by Samantha on the Fly Bird Fly EP which came out a few months ago, except this time around she has managed to secure the services of drummers Mars Slater Vitai and Olive Konai, who between them share the duties on this 16-track 39-minute-long album. They fit in well with the ethos and spirit of Samantha, not attempting to bring in any finesse of polish, but instead keeping to the very lo-fi and naïve approach demonstrated by the singer/guitarist.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DOWN UNDER
    Luude feat. Colin Hay
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • FINGERS CROSSED
    Lauren Spencer-Smith
  • ABCDEFU
    GAYLE
  • MR REGGAE
    L.A.B.
  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem