18 Sep 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Skank Bandit - Album Review: Blood, Sweat and Beers

29 Jul 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Blood, Sweat and Beers is the second album by Skank Bandit, a quartet who describe their music as an explosive combination of reggae, rock, ska, funk, metal, and punk, and to be honest they have hit the nail right on the head. When people think of punk, particularly British punk, they tend to focus on the out and out aggression of Sex Pistols and the like and tend to forget that some of the bands had far broader tastes and influences, and such was the case of The Clash. In the bio on their website, they describe London Calling as combining rock 'n roll, soul, jazz, ska, reggae, and funk, all given a Clash twist with crisp guitars and culturally evocative lyrics, and this was what I thought of when first hearing this. Punk is often three minutes of solid aggression, little room for expression or real musicality, yet ska and reggae bands are built around the rhythm, and here we have masters at play in Matthew Mahood (bass, backing vocals) and Jarrod Hooper (drums, backing vocals). Matthew has a wonderfully fluid touch, sometimes playing single notes and at others providing complex and intricate lines, while Jarrod is constantly changing the attack and time signatures.

This means that Wes James (vocals, guitar) and Tecwyn King (lead guitar, backing vocals) have the opportunity to just go for whatever they want, so we can get the title cut which starts off with shouted vocals, then solid riffs before we venture into ska. One never knows what is going to come up next, but certainly it isn’t the learned gentleman providing the Professor Sherman Finkelstein Thesis. Somehow, I think this will sound quite different when it is played live, and oh boy I do hope it is played live. As he states, “there is no known cure for this condition”. I was already thoroughly enjoying the album by then, but this just brought a huge smile to my face, and unlike some interludes this one can be played repeatedly. There are times when the only thing to do is get up and have a groove around the room, it is that infectious.

If this was just about the music, then I would be highly recommending it, as it is wonderfully diverse and compelling, yet this isn’t all. If one is fortunate enough to see the guys play live, then it is possible to purchase a 32-page A4 full colour high quality book, which contains the lyrics plus original artwork from a series of artists. To tie in with this, the Gover Street gallery in New Plymouth featured an interactive exhibition titled Pieces of The Puzzle: Art inspired by Music. This had 12 “stations” (one for each song), where attendees could listen to each song, read the lyrics, and view 2-4 pieces of art per song (not all pieces of art made it into the book) The exhibition also featured a live performance from the band, and they are hoping to be able to take it around the country. Until that happens, sit back, and relax in what is a wonderfully innovative and enjoyable piece of work.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Skank Bandit

Using an explosive combination of reggae, rock, ska, funk, metal and punk, Skank Bandit make no apologies when mashing together their eclectic sound.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Skank Bandit

Releases

Blood, Sweat & Beers
Year: 2020
Type: Album
Dreamtime
Year: 2020
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Written By Wolves - EP Review: Secrets - The Collab Project
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Since I started writing for New Zealand’s #1 music site, https://www.muzic.
Read More...
Alien Weaponry - Album Review: Tangaroa
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
There is no doubt whatsoever that Alien Weaponry have captured the imagination not only of the New Zealand public, but metalheads worldwide, with their combination of groove and thrash metal mixing with their Maori heritage to create something very special indeed. There really is no other band quite like them, although I do sometimes find myself thinking of the impact of Sepultura and their Roots album, but one does need to remember that was Sepultura’s sixth album, some 12 years after their first release.
Read More...
Domingo Candelario - EP Review: Sin Palabras
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Although there is always a very Cuban base to his music, Domingo has covered many different styles, as he transcends culture and language: music is about expressing emotions honestly and he tries to be as unique as he can.  As a child, his parents listened to a lot of Brazilian music, and he was fascinated by the way they used harmonies: it was so beautifully put together, so soft and in connection with the soul.
Read More...
Glenn Bodger - Album Review: I'll Leave The Light On
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut solo album from Glenn Bodger, who provided most of the instrumentation himself, although he has also been assisted by former Braintree bandmate Darryn Harkness, who helped with additional guitar, bass and keyboards where required. From the gentle, almost cautiously picked acoustic guitar notes on opener I’ll Leave The Light On, we are brought carefully into a world which is dated yet fresh, comfortable but new, as he mixes together different musical elements in an independent, alternative style which is often somehow commercial and others when they are definitely not.
Read More...
Samantha Josephine - EP Review: Fly Bird Fly
15 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Samantha Josephine's six-track Fly Bird Fly EP is less than 13 minutes long, but in many ways that makes total sense, as there is a feeling within this that we are being allowed into a secret and very personal world and that it would be intrusive to stay for too long. One can imagine Samantha performing in a corner, hoping that no-one will see or hear her, and when I read in her bio that only her girlfriend has seen her perform in the last year, and that even she is not allowed to be around when Samantha is writing, then it makes perfect sense.
Read More...
The Night - Single Review: Untouchable
12 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
This cannot be right. According to the information I have in front of me, this Wellington-based band was formed from a group of music students in 2017, started performing live in 2018, and their ages now range from 15 to 18!
Read More...
Channeled - EP Review: Perception
12 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
As I have said previously, 2020 was a breakthrough year for Channeled, as Ben Ruegg recorded the second album and formed an operational live band to make it more than just a studio project. They made it through to the final of the Ding Dong Lounge Battle of the Bands and set up a headline show at the same venue with Cafe Fistfight and Mariner as support to celebrate the release of I Heard Penelope Sing, but then disaster struck with Ben being rushed to hospital following a Grand Mal seizure.
Read More...
Empress - EP Review: Trash Dynasty
10 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Empress were formed by guitarist/singer Lora Thompson and drummer Craig Gilliver after the demise of their previous project, Cheshire Grimm with whom they toured the length of NZ, played with international acts and local superstars, as well as releasing material along the way. The lead track from this EP, Sailing the Seas of Grease, was actually released towards the end of 2020 but it has taken until now for their six-track 23-minute-long debut EP to made available.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • GIRLS WANT GIRLS
    Drake feat. Lil Baby
  • FAIR TRADE
    Drake feat. Travis Scott
  • CHAMPAGNE POETRY
    Drake
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • WAY 2 SEXY
    Drake, Future And Young Thug
  • HURRICANE
    Kanye West
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem