6 Jul 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Skank Bandit - Album Review: Blood, Sweat and Beers

29 Jul 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Blood, Sweat and Beers is the second album by Skank Bandit, a quartet who describe their music as an explosive combination of reggae, rock, ska, funk, metal, and punk, and to be honest they have hit the nail right on the head. When people think of punk, particularly British punk, they tend to focus on the out and out aggression of Sex Pistols and the like and tend to forget that some of the bands had far broader tastes and influences, and such was the case of The Clash. In the bio on their website, they describe London Calling as combining rock 'n roll, soul, jazz, ska, reggae, and funk, all given a Clash twist with crisp guitars and culturally evocative lyrics, and this was what I thought of when first hearing this. Punk is often three minutes of solid aggression, little room for expression or real musicality, yet ska and reggae bands are built around the rhythm, and here we have masters at play in Matthew Mahood (bass, backing vocals) and Jarrod Hooper (drums, backing vocals). Matthew has a wonderfully fluid touch, sometimes playing single notes and at others providing complex and intricate lines, while Jarrod is constantly changing the attack and time signatures.

This means that Wes James (vocals, guitar) and Tecwyn King (lead guitar, backing vocals) have the opportunity to just go for whatever they want, so we can get the title cut which starts off with shouted vocals, then solid riffs before we venture into ska. One never knows what is going to come up next, but certainly it isn’t the learned gentleman providing the Professor Sherman Finkelstein Thesis. Somehow, I think this will sound quite different when it is played live, and oh boy I do hope it is played live. As he states, “there is no known cure for this condition”. I was already thoroughly enjoying the album by then, but this just brought a huge smile to my face, and unlike some interludes this one can be played repeatedly. There are times when the only thing to do is get up and have a groove around the room, it is that infectious.

If this was just about the music, then I would be highly recommending it, as it is wonderfully diverse and compelling, yet this isn’t all. If one is fortunate enough to see the guys play live, then it is possible to purchase a 32-page A4 full colour high quality book, which contains the lyrics plus original artwork from a series of artists. To tie in with this, the Gover Street gallery in New Plymouth featured an interactive exhibition titled Pieces of The Puzzle: Art inspired by Music. This had 12 “stations” (one for each song), where attendees could listen to each song, read the lyrics, and view 2-4 pieces of art per song (not all pieces of art made it into the book) The exhibition also featured a live performance from the band, and they are hoping to be able to take it around the country. Until that happens, sit back, and relax in what is a wonderfully innovative and enjoyable piece of work.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Skank Bandit

A genre bending smorgasbord of energetic grooves and soulful melody.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Skank Bandit

Releases

Blood, Sweat & Beers
Year: 2020
Type: Album
Dreamtime
Year: 2020
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: T-Bone @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 03/07/2022
03 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Down to Tuning Fork for an early start with doors opening at 5:30 and the whole thing expected to be over by 9:30! I was so glad that Al from Hoop sent me the running times in the morning otherwise I would have missed their set altogether as well as possibly missing the beginning of T-Bone!
Read More...
EP Review: Ange.Mac + Shaun Garea
03 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
What we have here is the debut collaboration from Ange.Mac and Shaun Garea.
Read More...
Gig Review: Pale Flag @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 01/07/2022
02 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Tonight, I was supposed to be at The Tuning Fork for Ekko Park and Jordan Luck but the dreaded Covid had cast its spell and the gig was cancelled earlier in the week. I did a quick check to see what was on at Dead Witch and discovered there was a four-band bill and knowing three of them I could see it was going to be a good night so decided to head that way.
Read More...
Ayla Wesley - Single Review: Say To Me
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Normally, when I am reviewing singles for MNZ the turnaround time we work to is 7 days and it is not unusual for me to work on far tighter deadlines than that, but Ayla was incredibly well organised with the promotion for her second single, and I have been playing this for the last 3 weeks at least. In that time it has become a real earworm, and I have even found myself singing it as I walk around (not a pleasant experience for anyone in the vicinity, let me assure you).
Read More...
Ed Waaka - Single Review: E Kura
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It did not take long for me to fall in love with this song, probably the first 30 seconds I guess, as there is something about it which grabs hold the listener, puts them in a safe place, and lets the singer bare their soul. Soul, yes, this is full of it in a musical sense as well as an emotional one, and when I discovered he was singing about the upcoming birth of his first daughter, whether he would be a good father, and the need to reconnect to his Maori heritage it made a great deal of sense.
Read More...
Danica Bryant - Single Review: Crush
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the lead single from Danica Bryant’s forthcoming EP, Ego Death, and if this is fully representative, then that is something to look out for. For a young artist she has already had considerable success, mentoring with Bic Runga while also gaining a support slot for Elton John on his ‘Farewell Yellow Brick Road’ tour, and while she has already tasted success on the NZ Hot Singles Chart, I am sure this is going to head the same way.
Read More...
Tia Ward - EP Review: Me and Me Too
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This is the debut EP from Hawkes Bay singer Tia Ward, following on from two singles which were released ahead of time, Under Wraps and Paint Dry, both of which are included here. The first thing which the listener notices are her vocals, which are both understated yet firmly to the fore.
Read More...
Dark Divinity - Single Review: Left For Dead
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Formed in 2017 by drummer Ian Moir, melodic death metal act Dark Divinity have been through quite a lot in the last five years, as not only have they supported the likes of At The Gates, The Haunted, The Black Dahlia Murder and Psycroptic but have already released an EP, some singles and have of course been running the gamut of line-up changes. The most recent of these has seen the departure of singer Jolene Tempest and the return to a male singer in Jesse Wheeler, with the line-up completed by guitarist/bassist Paul Stewart and guitarist Jiji Aligno.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • JIMMY COOKS
    Drake feat. 21 Savage
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem