18 Jan 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Tablefox - Album Review: Battles

26 Jul 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

What strikes one most about the third album from Tablefox is the sheer diversity of styles on display. True, they are very much rooted in the Eighties and their style is also often very Kiwi, but after that they move all over the place. Alt rock is the flavour of the day, but more in the anthemic style of the likes of Simple Minds (in particular), while also bringing in elements of New Order, Dinosaur Jr. and even U2 Light In The Darkness starts with gentle picked guitar and plaintive vocals, with an almost Coldplay feel, and it builds ever so gently with additional guitar and vocals. The drums finally make a gentle entrance in the second verse, bass gradually shows up, plus piano and orchestration, but by the end it is a soaring anthem full of massive guitars and sounds which would fill an arena. It is so very different indeed to the riff-laden chugging machine that is Burning Bridges, which opens the album. Again, this is a builder but here we have a song with a chorus designed for everyone to sing along with – I imagine this is immense when played live.

There is also room for a beautiful ballad led be acoustic and electric guitar intertwining, Ghostlines, which leads us into the album closer, Keep Them Guessing which reminds us of the Liverpool scene of the Eighties with infectious harmonies and sweeping basslines. Of course, when the 10 tracks and 37 minutes finally come to an end then the only thing to do is put it back on again. The more I have played the album the more I have got from it, and it is wise to pay attention as there is much more going on under the surface than one immediately recognises, while it is the arrangements combined with the emotional vocals of singer Clinton Bell which make this what it is. They bring in horns when the time is right, but as they are used sparingly their impact is much greater than it would be otherwise. Packed full of hooks, it is no surprise that 5 of the 10 songs have been released as singles and collectively they spent over half of 2020 in the top 20 of the NZ Rock chart.

Polished, professional, and packed full of hooks, this is a great rock album to really enjoy with a smile on your face.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Tablefox

After a massive last few years playing shows with the likes of James, The Charlatans, City Calm Down and The Feelers, Kiwi rock 4-piece Tablefox return with the lead single from their third album Battles.

Recorded by Scott Seabright Productions and mastered by Ryan Smith (AC/DC, Greta Van Fleet) at Sterling Sound. Burning Bridges was released on July 27, 2021, with the album Battles landing on July 30th. A stonking track that opens the new album and signifies everything about the last few years for the band.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Tablefox

Releases

Battles
Year: 2021
Type: Album
Glass Houses
Year: 2017
Type: EP
You And I Will Find A Way
Year: 2017
Type: Album
Objects
Year: 2015
Type: Album
Passenger
Year: 2013
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Blindfolded and Led To The Woods @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 15/01/2022
16 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I have been looking forward to tonight for ages, as Auckland went into lockdown in August with all gigs being cancelled until just before Christmas, and even then, that was with limited attendance. This means that tonight was going to be my first gig in five months, and given that I covered more than 30 in the first part of the year, that was some cold turkey.
Read More...
Fool's Lagoon - Single Review: Bizarre
13 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Bizarre is the debut single from Auckland-based quintet Fool’s Lagoon. Mark, Connor, Joe, Matt and Joshua have created a bright and summery indie pop jangler which is heavily guitar-based yet is somehow light and airy throughout.
Read More...
Powder Chutes - EP Review: Sweet Noise Pollution
11 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There is always that little hint of concern when reading a press release for a new EP and realise it contains a quote from yours truly for the single which was taken from it. How would they take it this time around if I panned this release?
Read More...
Tall Folk - Album Review: Wiser
11 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
2021 was a wonderful musical adventure for me as I threw myself into the NZ music scene, and towards the end of the year I realised that with nearly 200 reviews of local music I really should work out my Top 10 singles, EP’s, albums and gigs (check out https://www.muzic.
Read More...
Pass The Peas - EP Review: Pop
06 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This three-track EP is the latest release from Poneke-based quintet Pass The Peas, who describe their music as Wasabi spicy Rock n' Roll, whatever that means. To my ears it means they play mid-paced alternative pop rock with a strong concentration on the gravelly and emotional vocals of Kurt with loads of space within the arrangements, which are well-produced.
Read More...
Black Sands - Single Review: Apocalypse of Eden
22 Dec 2021 // by Kev Rowland
To my mind this single is long overdue, as I have been lucky enough to catch these guys play live a few times this year and they always put on an amazing show. Comprising Cameron Owens (guitars), Ruaidri Keens (guitars), Matt Hammond (bass) and James Trimmer (drums) they are one of those very rare breeds, a hard-hitting metal act with no need for a singer.
Read More...
Kev's Top 10's - 2021
20 Dec 2021 // by Kev Rowland
2021 has been a strange year, of that there has been no doubt whatsoever, but although everyone in Auckland is champing at the bit to be let out into the real world, it is probably best to remind ourselves that until we went into lockdown in August we were the envy of the world with festivals, plenty of beer, and the country being totally open (apart from the borders). At that time, I had been to more than 30 gigs, and was on course to hit 50 for the year, never thinking for a minute that August would be the last time I saw a band play live.
Read More...
Samantha Josephine - Album Review: The Finished Touch
19 Dec 2021 // by Kev Rowland
This is a direct continuation of the work displayed by Samantha on the Fly Bird Fly EP which came out a few months ago, except this time around she has managed to secure the services of drummers Mars Slater Vitai and Olive Konai, who between them share the duties on this 16-track 39-minute-long album. They fit in well with the ethos and spirit of Samantha, not attempting to bring in any finesse of polish, but instead keeping to the very lo-fi and naïve approach demonstrated by the singer/guitarist.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DOWN UNDER
    Luude feat. Colin Hay
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • FINGERS CROSSED
    Lauren Spencer-Smith
  • ABCDEFU
    GAYLE
  • MR REGGAE
    L.A.B.
  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem