17 Aug 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Tablefox - Album Review: Battles

26 Jul 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

What strikes one most about the third album from Tablefox is the sheer diversity of styles on display. True, they are very much rooted in the Eighties and their style is also often very Kiwi, but after that they move all over the place. Alt rock is the flavour of the day, but more in the anthemic style of the likes of Simple Minds (in particular), while also bringing in elements of New Order, Dinosaur Jr. and even U2 Light In The Darkness starts with gentle picked guitar and plaintive vocals, with an almost Coldplay feel, and it builds ever so gently with additional guitar and vocals. The drums finally make a gentle entrance in the second verse, bass gradually shows up, plus piano and orchestration, but by the end it is a soaring anthem full of massive guitars and sounds which would fill an arena. It is so very different indeed to the riff-laden chugging machine that is Burning Bridges, which opens the album. Again, this is a builder but here we have a song with a chorus designed for everyone to sing along with – I imagine this is immense when played live.

There is also room for a beautiful ballad led be acoustic and electric guitar intertwining, Ghostlines, which leads us into the album closer, Keep Them Guessing which reminds us of the Liverpool scene of the Eighties with infectious harmonies and sweeping basslines. Of course, when the 10 tracks and 37 minutes finally come to an end then the only thing to do is put it back on again. The more I have played the album the more I have got from it, and it is wise to pay attention as there is much more going on under the surface than one immediately recognises, while it is the arrangements combined with the emotional vocals of singer Clinton Bell which make this what it is. They bring in horns when the time is right, but as they are used sparingly their impact is much greater than it would be otherwise. Packed full of hooks, it is no surprise that 5 of the 10 songs have been released as singles and collectively they spent over half of 2020 in the top 20 of the NZ Rock chart.

Polished, professional, and packed full of hooks, this is a great rock album to really enjoy with a smile on your face.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Tablefox

After a massive last few years playing shows with the likes of James, The Charlatans, City Calm Down and The Feelers, Kiwi rock 4-piece Tablefox return with the lead single from their third album Battles.

Recorded by Scott Seabright Productions and mastered by Ryan Smith (AC/DC, Greta Van Fleet) at Sterling Sound. Burning Bridges was released on July 27, 2021, with the album Battles landing on July 30th. A stonking track that opens the new album and signifies everything about the last few years for the band.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Tablefox

Releases

Battles
Year: 2021
Type: Album
Glass Houses
Year: 2017
Type: EP
You And I Will Find A Way
Year: 2017
Type: Album
Objects
Year: 2015
Type: Album
Passenger
Year: 2013
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Scapegoat - Album Review: Reality and the Hanging Tree
12 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Rene Black can often be found out and about on the Auckland scene, either playing in the premier NZ Sabbath tribute band After Forever, or just supporting other bands and enjoying the vibe. We regularly bump into each other at our favourite dive, Ding Dong Lounge, but whereas that is a relatively new place for me, Rene has been on the circuit for years as he was also drummer and founding member of both His Masters Voice and {Cripple Mr.
Read More...
Caitlin - EP Review: States
12 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut EP from young Christchurch-based indie-pop musician Caitlin (Caitlin Bradley) who is currently studying at Ara Music Arts in the city. She took the songs to Ryan Chin (Fisherman), and together with Will McGillivray (Goodwill), Thomas Isbister, and Shaun Malloch they worked to capture her innocent vocals and songs in a manner which brings together lots of different styles.
Read More...
Corduroy. - Single Review: Ozone
11 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Ozone is the latest single from Wellington-based band Corduroy., and is taken from their forthcoming EP, Halftime Oranges.
Read More...
Mim Jensen - Single Review: Germaphobe
11 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This is the debut single from Otautahi artist Mim Jensen, and a load of fun it is too. It commences with jangly guitar and Mim’s vocals, and soon we are taken into commercial indie rock which has definite nods back to the likes of Fur Patrol.
Read More...
Moone - Single Review: I Am Who I Am
10 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There are some people who come into this world and put the rest of us to shame as to what they achieve, and undoubtedly one of those was Eva McGauley, who at the age of 15 was diagnosed with terminal cancer, to which she succumbed a little more than 3 years later. Eva was involved with the Wellington Rape Crisis Organisation, was an intern with the Green Party, ran her own charity 'Eva's Wish' raising more than $70,000 to help sexual abused survivors, was involved in the '200 Women Who will change the way you see the world' book and exhibition and was nominated for Youth Wellingtonian of the year award, among others.
Read More...
Oliver Birch - Album Review: Burning Daylight
05 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This is the debut album from Auckland musician, Oliver Birch, although older versions of many of the songs contained within have already been made available as singles. When the album started with the lengthy keyboard chords and feedback intro I thought it would fall into krautrock, but instead it quickly changed into a psychedelic experimental art rock number with emotionally charged vocals and an outright refusal to conform to any expectations.
Read More...
Album Review: Black Velvet Butterfly
03 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Black Velvet Butterfly are a one-man band from Auckland featuring James Castady-Kristament. I was intrigued to be sent this as when I looked on their Bandcamp page it said, “It may just well be the coolest thing you’ve heard in the Goth scene since Type O Negative.
Read More...
Bill Angus and the Mighty Ways - Album Review: All Night Before the World Began
01 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Bill had a musical career in England before deciding to do something different, and returned to his roots when he started working in New Zealand. This is his third album.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • DOJA
    Central Cee
  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • I LIKE YOU (A HAPPIER SONG)
    Post Malone And Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem