20 May 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Souldrop - EP Review: Gypsy Lizard King

21 Jul 2021 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Kiwi new-wave indie-soul 4-piece Souldrop have released their brand new and much-anticipated EP Gypsy Lizard King via label Meow. Featuring the stunningly smooth singles Cadet and Jive, and new single/ title track Gypsy Lizard King, this latest EP release furthers their reputation as a talented band on the rise. Currently making waves in the Australasian music scene, Souldrop have drawn favourable comparisons to acts like Ocean Alley, San Cisco and Saskwatch, with frontwoman Anna Benneto’s magnetic vocals are the perfect pairing to the indie-soul jams of Finn Perring (guitar/ bass), Fin Gilzean (guitar) and Elliot Millar (drums).

The EP starts with Trip, which really spells out what the song feels like. A lot is happening here that plays well to both the everyday listener and those who like to find the magic beneath the sound.

The second track Jive becomes more atmospheric yet still carries on the sound that is set as a foundation on the first track. It is easy to imagine how well these songs would transfer in a live environment. Anna's vocals and melodies really steal the show, but yet you cannot deny the guitar work or rhythm section working together so perfectly.

Gypsy Lizard King and Cadet really showcase even further the funk and soul that this group has shaped in their own image and sound. A lot is happening here that again you can just imagine vibing to at a live show. Still, the recording does it all justice. It sounds great cranked up. Closing off the EP with Sober October, we get to hear a bit more back and forward with different vocalists, allowing some contrast to the voice of Anna.

This is definitely an EP you want to find and listen to in any situation. It sounds great and feels good. Having read who they have been compared to, I can certainly hear those influences in the songs while Souldrop still maintains their originality.

Make sure to check this one out and to go see them live.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Souldrop

Souldrop is the bizarre equivalent to that wacky green smoothie your nan makes; what's it even made of? Souldrop's answer to that is a blend of chill surf rock, Latin and blues with a twist of psychedelic lemon, to name just a few ingredients...




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Souldrop

Releases

Gypsy Lizard King
Year: 2021
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

EP Review: Yung Ludd - Two Tone
13 May 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Born and raised in Lyttelton, Yung Ludd is the rap alias of musician Connor Strati. Having spent some time in Auckland in his twenties, he was exposed to a lot of the underground Hip-Hop scene there which proved to be very influential on his sound.
Read More...
Will McClean - Single Review: Ego Prison
28 Apr 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
I'm getting to hear more Will McClean... yes please!
Read More...
Hans. - EP Review: Kimyuntak
20 Apr 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Hailing from Auckland, New Zealand, Hans. is an exciting Korean artist that has been dubbed by VICE Magazine as "One of the rising stars of New Zealand Hip Hop.
Read More...
Eliezer - Album Review: Diary Entries Vol 1
20 Apr 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
This is a great album. Even at 30 mins long, the overall feel and vibe of it is fantastic.
Read More...
Jeivenchy - Album Review: Fatal Attraction
31 Mar 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Jeivenchy, not to be confused with “Givenchy”, is a singer/songwriter based in Wellington, New Zealand. His debut album Seenzoned introduced his melodramatic lyrics, 80's inspired vocals and catchy choruses.
Read More...
Partyboi Pan - Single Review: Mystical Barz
16 Mar 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Partyboi Pan is the founder of The Mason, a vision to upgrade the very idea of what parties are with the sole purpose of showcasing local passions and talents.His latest track Mystical Barz opens with a dialogue that really sets the mood for the track.
Read More...
Phil Stoodley - Single/Video Review: Shame Shame
08 Mar 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
The new single from Phil Stoodley, Shame Shame, is a fantastic track that is not only catchy but has such a vibe to it that you will be hitting repeat over and over. With a solid bass line propping up the main guitar riff, the drums hold it all together and allow for Phil's vocals to sit neatly in place, which by the way sound real and authentic.
Read More...
Old Salts - Single Review: Take a Breather
27 Jan 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Old Salts are an alternative rock band that are set to leave listeners buzzed with the release of their debut single Take a Breather.Citing influences as Primus and Them Crooked Vultures, you can definitely hear this in the way the song, not only sounds but how it is written and arranged.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • WAIT FOR U
    Future feat. Drake And Tems
  • STARLIGHT
    Dave
  • FRIDAY NIGHT
    King George
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem