18 Oct 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Souldrop - EP Review: Gypsy Lizard King

21 Jul 2021 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Kiwi new-wave indie-soul 4-piece Souldrop have released their brand new and much-anticipated EP Gypsy Lizard King via label Meow. Featuring the stunningly smooth singles Cadet and Jive, and new single/ title track Gypsy Lizard King, this latest EP release furthers their reputation as a talented band on the rise. Currently making waves in the Australasian music scene, Souldrop have drawn favourable comparisons to acts like Ocean Alley, San Cisco and Saskwatch, with frontwoman Anna Benneto’s magnetic vocals are the perfect pairing to the indie-soul jams of Finn Perring (guitar/ bass), Fin Gilzean (guitar) and Elliot Millar (drums).

The EP starts with Trip, which really spells out what the song feels like. A lot is happening here that plays well to both the everyday listener and those who like to find the magic beneath the sound.

The second track Jive becomes more atmospheric yet still carries on the sound that is set as a foundation on the first track. It is easy to imagine how well these songs would transfer in a live environment. Anna's vocals and melodies really steal the show, but yet you cannot deny the guitar work or rhythm section working together so perfectly.

Gypsy Lizard King and Cadet really showcase even further the funk and soul that this group has shaped in their own image and sound. A lot is happening here that again you can just imagine vibing to at a live show. Still, the recording does it all justice. It sounds great cranked up. Closing off the EP with Sober October, we get to hear a bit more back and forward with different vocalists, allowing some contrast to the voice of Anna.

This is definitely an EP you want to find and listen to in any situation. It sounds great and feels good. Having read who they have been compared to, I can certainly hear those influences in the songs while Souldrop still maintains their originality.

Make sure to check this one out and to go see them live.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Souldrop

Souldrop is the bizarre equivalent to that wacky green smoothie your nan makes; what's it even made of? Souldrop's answer to that is a blend of chill surf rock, Latin and blues with a twist of psychedelic lemon, to name just a few ingredients...




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Souldrop

Releases

Gypsy Lizard King
Year: 2021
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Ms.Take - Single Review: Maybe That's Just What I Am
11 Oct 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
The dystopian Trap Jam Maybe That's Just What I Am is the second official single from Ms.Take, a follow up to 2018's Silver & Gold, and a 2020 lockdown collaboration with Melbourne-based artist F.
Read More...
Y$O - EP Review: Young And Slept On
05 Oct 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Y$O. Note that down.
Read More...
Louis Ross - Single Review: Here To Help
27 Sep 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Local Tauranga DJ and Producer Louis Ross has created a new song Here to Help to bring awareness to mental health issues ahead of Mental Health Awareness Week. After losing his father and Grandma within a few months of each other and navigating his way through loss and grief, Louis is combining his own mental health struggles with his love of music to help others.
Read More...
BrokeBoi Ace - Single Review: Watered Down Dreamz
15 Sep 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Oh man. I like this.
Read More...
Sam V - Single/Video Review: Wired
10 Sep 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Sam V's newest track Wired is another demonstration of how Sam keeps refining his sound. His vision has been getting more focused over time, based on his previous tracks like Cotton Candy which is actually a Y$O track, and Up Up Down.
Read More...
InDuna - Single Review: Strange Fruits
08 Sep 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
InDuna's approach to Hip-Hop/Rap is something that listeners should pay attention to. It fits into what kind of feels as almost progressive in regards to the styles it compasses.
Read More...
2Fly Ty - Single Review: That Track Feat. Dilz
03 Sep 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
2FLY TY's newest track entitled That Track is out now and features bars from Dilz. Both Ty and Dilz perform well here with TY’s flow being delivered on a rather flat way; not hyped and not like he’s not trying.
Read More...
Goodlynx - Single/Video Review: Purple Blue
10 Aug 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Starting Purple Blue off with a real honest vibe is the sound of a major 7th on a guitar. This interval sets a tone and mood that allows Goodlynx to be direct and honest with his audience.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • LOVE NWANTITI (AH AH AH)
    CKay
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • MEET ME AT OUR SPOT
    THE ANXIETY, WILLOW And Tyler Cole
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem