7 Oct 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Souldrop - EP Review: Gypsy Lizard King

21 Jul 2021 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Kiwi new-wave indie-soul 4-piece Souldrop have released their brand new and much-anticipated EP Gypsy Lizard King via label Meow. Featuring the stunningly smooth singles Cadet and Jive, and new single/ title track Gypsy Lizard King, this latest EP release furthers their reputation as a talented band on the rise. Currently making waves in the Australasian music scene, Souldrop have drawn favourable comparisons to acts like Ocean Alley, San Cisco and Saskwatch, with frontwoman Anna Benneto’s magnetic vocals are the perfect pairing to the indie-soul jams of Finn Perring (guitar/ bass), Fin Gilzean (guitar) and Elliot Millar (drums).

The EP starts with Trip, which really spells out what the song feels like. A lot is happening here that plays well to both the everyday listener and those who like to find the magic beneath the sound.

The second track Jive becomes more atmospheric yet still carries on the sound that is set as a foundation on the first track. It is easy to imagine how well these songs would transfer in a live environment. Anna's vocals and melodies really steal the show, but yet you cannot deny the guitar work or rhythm section working together so perfectly.

Gypsy Lizard King and Cadet really showcase even further the funk and soul that this group has shaped in their own image and sound. A lot is happening here that again you can just imagine vibing to at a live show. Still, the recording does it all justice. It sounds great cranked up. Closing off the EP with Sober October, we get to hear a bit more back and forward with different vocalists, allowing some contrast to the voice of Anna.

This is definitely an EP you want to find and listen to in any situation. It sounds great and feels good. Having read who they have been compared to, I can certainly hear those influences in the songs while Souldrop still maintains their originality.

Make sure to check this one out and to go see them live.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Souldrop

Souldrop is the bizarre equivalent to that wacky green smoothie your nan makes; what's it even made of? Souldrop's answer to that is a blend of chill surf rock, Latin and blues with a twist of psychedelic lemon, to name just a few ingredients...




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Souldrop

Releases

Gypsy Lizard King
Year: 2021
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Album Review: Leejunardo Da Vinci
03 Oct 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Leejun is a Hip-Hop R&B Artist who lives and works in the 03 Christchurch, New Zealand. His complex lyricism and smooth delivery alongside his soulful singing voice reflect the amount of time he's dedicated to working on his craft.
Read More...
CACO - EP Review: Chisme
21 Sep 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
CACO is a 23-year-old South Auckland raised Iraqi. Over the last 6 years, CACO has become an all-encompassing musical artist; producing, mixing, mastering, writing and recording the near extent of his 30+ track catalogue.
Read More...
Seaside Sloths - Album Review: Claws
31 Aug 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Seaside Sloths are a 7-piece, genre-defying outfit, here to remind everyone to slow down. Hailing from the jungle and now residing on luscious shorelines of the Kapiti Coast.
Read More...
Munro - Album Review: The Book Of Isaac
31 Aug 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Rapper/producer Munro makes all his songs in a humble caravan studio located in Matakana.On his new album, The Book Of Isaac, he explores different soundscapes that range from acoustic, east-coast jazz influenced hip-hop and others all influenced by the hip-hop sounds of the last 30 years.
Read More...
Big Sima - Album Review: Stereotypes of a Polynesian Misunderstood
04 Jul 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Currently one of the most active NZ Hip-Hop artists on the live circuit, The Underground King AKA Big Sima is no stranger to the big stage. During his come-up, he has played support for everyone from Busta Rhymes to Bone Thugs 'n Harmony, Guru (Gangstarr), Mobb Deep and Cypress Hill.
Read More...
Y$O - Single Review: So Sexy
03 Jul 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Y$O returns with a new funky and R&B-infused track So Sexy.From the moment the track starts, I can feel that there is a lot of influence from N.
Read More...
Single/Video Review: Makaveli-C Feat. SNRXG - Brothers
04 Jun 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
The new video from Makaveli-C Feat. SNRXG takes Hip-Hop and puts some New Zealand flavour in it.
Read More...
Paul The Kid - Single Review: Close My Eyes
01 Jun 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Paul The Kid is an extremely diverse artist, combining an eclectic mix of contemporary genres with prominent themes of hip-hop, dance and reggae to create absolute bangers. Paul is most at home performing live and his shows generate an eccentric energy that invites the audience to get involved in the party.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • SUPER FREAKY GIRL
    Nicki Minaj
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CUFF IT
    Beyonce
  • B.O.T.A. (BADDEST OF THEM ALL)
    Eliza Rose And Interplanetary Criminal
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem