7 Jul 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Grawlixes - Album Review: Love You To Death

20 Jul 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

I have been reviewing music for more than 30 years and estimate I have written something like 2 million words on the subject, and I have often been asked the question, “Why?”. The simple reason is that if I didn’t do what I do then I would have missed out on so many amazing experiences, and when one is faced with a “new” band then one never knows what to expect. Prior to picking up this album and agreeing to see them play a gig (next month with Albi & The Wolves, it will be amazing), all I knew about them was that they played a form of folk. I put this on, and within 90 seconds of Honey Bees I was enthralled, and immediately felt that this was why I review, as every so often something comes through which is so very special indeed that it has a major impact on me. This is one of those albums, and from the very beginning I knew this was significant, and that feeling kept growing as the album kept playing.

There is a melancholy in their music with co-founders Robin Cederman (Tahu & The Takahes, The Prophet Hens) and Penelope Esplin (French for Rabbits, (Lake South}) taking turns to lead, providing harmonies for the other when the time is right. The result is an album which at times contains duets, and others either male or female lead, which may remind the listener of The Mutton Birds, Sandy Denny, Seventies Fleetwood Mac, Fairport Convention or Mumford & Sons, all in a melting pot. Penelope also provides accordion and Robin guitar, and on this their second album the band has expanded to include Alex Vaastra on violin (Julian Temple Band, Emily Fairlight), Emma Hattaway on bass (BoJack Funkman) and Hikurangi Schaverien-Kaa on drums (Dawn Diver, Stellarize, French for Rabbits).

It is timeless, but certainly does not sound as if has been released in these days of auto tune and over production, as vocals shine through, and it is possible to follow the musical thread of each and every instrument. What also makes this album work so well is the contrast, so we go from the vibrant full-on energy of The Wrong Idea into the sleazy, sassy Country feel of Modern Boy with Elizabeth to the gentle picked folk of Get Cold Easily with Robin, which turns into something incredibly powerful. Bill Bruford famously received a writing credit for the King Crimson song Trio, where he decided his contribution was not to play at all, and the same can be said for the members of Grawlixes as each knows what they bring to the arrangements, and at times that really means not being involved and just adding in at the correct moment.

This is an album that needs to be played on headphones when the listener has the time to do just that and be whisked away in the world of Grawlixes. They are soon going to be undertaking a 12-date tour, which on the evidence of this is not to be missed, as this is something which will be enjoyed by lovers of folk, country, acoustic, singer/songwriter material. Simply essential.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Grawlixes

Grawlixes are an existential folk-pop band from Wellington, New Zealand, who will sear themselves in your brain with raw, wry and infectious songs about doomed relationships, not being invited to parties, and wanting to murder each other. Continuing the great lineage of artists who bring sadness to their sprightly melodies, Grawlixes’ music often deals in the melancholy with self-deprecating honesty and beautiful boy-girl harmonies, sung by co-founders Robin Cederman (Tahu & The Takahes, The Prophet Hens) and Penelope Esplin (French for Rabbits, Lake South).

Grawlixes signed to Home Alone records, following an extensive European tour supporting label-mates French for Rabbits. They released their debut album Set Free in July 2017 to critical acclaim, reaching #9 in the NZ Charts. They have since expanded into a 5 piece, featuring Alex Vaastra on violin (Julian Temple Band, Emily Fairlight), Emma Hattaway on bass (BoJack Funkman) and Hikurangi Schaverien-Kaa on drums (Dawn Diver, Stellarize, French for Rabbits).

Grawlixes have opened for such bands as Steve Gunn (US), Nadia Reid, Ha the Unclear and Delaney Davidson, and international acts such as Blue Child Collective (Aus) and Ben Salter (Aus), and participated in the Auckland Folk Festival, Wellington Folk Festival, The Performance Arcade & CubaDupa.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Grawlixes

Releases

Love You To Death
Year: 2021
Type: Album
Set Free
Year: 2017
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: T-Bone @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 03/07/2022
03 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Down to Tuning Fork for an early start with doors opening at 5:30 and the whole thing expected to be over by 9:30! I was so glad that Al from Hoop sent me the running times in the morning otherwise I would have missed their set altogether as well as possibly missing the beginning of T-Bone!
Read More...
EP Review: Ange.Mac + Shaun Garea
03 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
What we have here is the debut collaboration from Ange.Mac and Shaun Garea.
Read More...
Gig Review: Pale Flag @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 01/07/2022
02 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Tonight, I was supposed to be at The Tuning Fork for Ekko Park and Jordan Luck but the dreaded Covid had cast its spell and the gig was cancelled earlier in the week. I did a quick check to see what was on at Dead Witch and discovered there was a four-band bill and knowing three of them I could see it was going to be a good night so decided to head that way.
Read More...
Ayla Wesley - Single Review: Say To Me
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Normally, when I am reviewing singles for MNZ the turnaround time we work to is 7 days and it is not unusual for me to work on far tighter deadlines than that, but Ayla was incredibly well organised with the promotion for her second single, and I have been playing this for the last 3 weeks at least. In that time it has become a real earworm, and I have even found myself singing it as I walk around (not a pleasant experience for anyone in the vicinity, let me assure you).
Read More...
Ed Waaka - Single Review: E Kura
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It did not take long for me to fall in love with this song, probably the first 30 seconds I guess, as there is something about it which grabs hold the listener, puts them in a safe place, and lets the singer bare their soul. Soul, yes, this is full of it in a musical sense as well as an emotional one, and when I discovered he was singing about the upcoming birth of his first daughter, whether he would be a good father, and the need to reconnect to his Maori heritage it made a great deal of sense.
Read More...
Danica Bryant - Single Review: Crush
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the lead single from Danica Bryant’s forthcoming EP, Ego Death, and if this is fully representative, then that is something to look out for. For a young artist she has already had considerable success, mentoring with Bic Runga while also gaining a support slot for Elton John on his ‘Farewell Yellow Brick Road’ tour, and while she has already tasted success on the NZ Hot Singles Chart, I am sure this is going to head the same way.
Read More...
Tia Ward - EP Review: Me and Me Too
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This is the debut EP from Hawkes Bay singer Tia Ward, following on from two singles which were released ahead of time, Under Wraps and Paint Dry, both of which are included here. The first thing which the listener notices are her vocals, which are both understated yet firmly to the fore.
Read More...
Dark Divinity - Single Review: Left For Dead
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Formed in 2017 by drummer Ian Moir, melodic death metal act Dark Divinity have been through quite a lot in the last five years, as not only have they supported the likes of At The Gates, The Haunted, The Black Dahlia Murder and Psycroptic but have already released an EP, some singles and have of course been running the gamut of line-up changes. The most recent of these has seen the departure of singer Jolene Tempest and the return to a male singer in Jesse Wheeler, with the line-up completed by guitarist/bassist Paul Stewart and guitarist Jiji Aligno.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • JIMMY COOKS
    Drake feat. 21 Savage
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem