7 Feb 2023
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Grawlixes - Album Review: Love You To Death

20 Jul 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

I have been reviewing music for more than 30 years and estimate I have written something like 2 million words on the subject, and I have often been asked the question, “Why?”. The simple reason is that if I didn’t do what I do then I would have missed out on so many amazing experiences, and when one is faced with a “new” band then one never knows what to expect. Prior to picking up this album and agreeing to see them play a gig (next month with Albi & The Wolves, it will be amazing), all I knew about them was that they played a form of folk. I put this on, and within 90 seconds of Honey Bees I was enthralled, and immediately felt that this was why I review, as every so often something comes through which is so very special indeed that it has a major impact on me. This is one of those albums, and from the very beginning I knew this was significant, and that feeling kept growing as the album kept playing.

There is a melancholy in their music with co-founders Robin Cederman (Tahu & The Takahes, The Prophet Hens) and Penelope Esplin (French for Rabbits, (Lake South}) taking turns to lead, providing harmonies for the other when the time is right. The result is an album which at times contains duets, and others either male or female lead, which may remind the listener of The Mutton Birds, Sandy Denny, Seventies Fleetwood Mac, Fairport Convention or Mumford & Sons, all in a melting pot. Penelope also provides accordion and Robin guitar, and on this their second album the band has expanded to include Alex Vaastra on violin (Julian Temple Band, Emily Fairlight), Emma Hattaway on bass (BoJack Funkman) and Hikurangi Schaverien-Kaa on drums (Dawn Diver, Stellarize, French for Rabbits).

It is timeless, but certainly does not sound as if has been released in these days of auto tune and over production, as vocals shine through, and it is possible to follow the musical thread of each and every instrument. What also makes this album work so well is the contrast, so we go from the vibrant full-on energy of The Wrong Idea into the sleazy, sassy Country feel of Modern Boy with Elizabeth to the gentle picked folk of Get Cold Easily with Robin, which turns into something incredibly powerful. Bill Bruford famously received a writing credit for the King Crimson song Trio, where he decided his contribution was not to play at all, and the same can be said for the members of Grawlixes as each knows what they bring to the arrangements, and at times that really means not being involved and just adding in at the correct moment.

This is an album that needs to be played on headphones when the listener has the time to do just that and be whisked away in the world of Grawlixes. They are soon going to be undertaking a 12-date tour, which on the evidence of this is not to be missed, as this is something which will be enjoyed by lovers of folk, country, acoustic, singer/songwriter material. Simply essential.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Grawlixes

Grawlixes are an existential folk-pop band from Wellington, New Zealand, who will sear themselves in your brain with raw, wry and infectious songs about doomed relationships, not being invited to parties, and wanting to murder each other. Continuing the great lineage of artists who bring sadness to their sprightly melodies, Grawlixes’ music often deals in the melancholy with self-deprecating honesty and beautiful boy-girl harmonies, sung by co-founders Robin Cederman (Tahu & The Takahes, The Prophet Hens) and Penelope Esplin (French for Rabbits, Lake South).

Grawlixes signed to Home Alone records, following an extensive European tour supporting label-mates French for Rabbits. They released their debut album Set Free in July 2017 to critical acclaim, reaching #9 in the NZ Charts. They have since expanded into a 5 piece, featuring Alex Vaastra on violin (Julian Temple Band, Emily Fairlight), Emma Hattaway on bass (BoJack Funkman) and Hikurangi Schaverien-Kaa on drums (Dawn Diver, Stellarize, French for Rabbits).

Grawlixes have opened for such bands as Steve Gunn (US), Nadia Reid, Ha the Unclear and Delaney Davidson, and international acts such as Blue Child Collective (Aus) and Ben Salter (Aus), and participated in the Auckland Folk Festival, Wellington Folk Festival, The Performance Arcade & CubaDupa.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Grawlixes

Releases

Love You To Death
Year: 2021
Type: Album
Set Free
Year: 2017
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Ding Dong Lounge 10th Birthday Part 1 @ Ding Dong Lounge, Auckland - 29/01/2023
03 Feb 2023 // by Kev Rowland
The original Ding Dong Lounge was founded in New York City in 2001 by Bill Nolan, opening on the upper west side of Manhattan and slowly gaining a following of talented artists, writers, actors, and musicians. In 2003, Bill Walsh opened Ding Dong Lounge in Melbourne, branding itself with a live gig atmosphere that easily upheld Ding Dong’s rock reputation.
Read More...
Beckoned - Single/Video Review: Luminous
01 Feb 2023 // by Kev Rowland
The word “supergroup” is not one to be bandied around lightly, yet that was very much the first thing which came to mind when I came across the new formation of Beckoned. During one of the many lockdowns, guitarist Nail Vincent (Devilskin) started working on new material, and he played some to his old bandmate, bassist Munro Goodwin (Sinate) and pretty soon they were working on the material together with drummer Corey Friedlander (City of Souls,8 Foot Sativa), but who would be the singer?
Read More...
Flying Man - Single Review: Under The Stars
31 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Flying Man is the stage name of Dunedin based Irish-born live-looping guitarist and singer/songwriter Alan Ned Gray. Flying Man’s song-writings sit in the electroacoustic realm - playing programmed beats, live looping and layered harmonies.
Read More...
Crying Club - EP Review: Big Water Bottle
31 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
It is some 18 months since I last reviewed a recording by Crying Club, which was the single Taxi Man, but I did see them at EmoFest last year where three of the songs on this five-track thirteen-minute-long EP were played. While their music is solidly rooted in the indie scene, they manage to also bring in other genres as they cross genres, bringing rock and metal quite strongly into their poppy mix.
Read More...
Gig Review: Midnight Green & Kazia @ The Thirsty Dog, Auckland - 21/01/2022
21 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
After being blasted the previous night at Dead Witch, tonight I was at The Thirsty for what promised to be a very different affair indeed, with two soul/jazz/pop bands. Beforehand I was talking to the bar manager who told me that soon they will be closing for renovations, after which they will open up with the stage in a different place, and it promises to be much improved, so I am really looking forward to seeing the end results.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Rising Tide @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 20/01/2023
20 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Back to Dead Witch tonight for my first time seeing The Rising Tide who were up from Palmerston North in support of their excellent new EP, The Hope We Die For. They had also invited a few other bands who I have seen before, namely Brawler NZHC who I saw supporting Xile, plus favourites Unwanted Subject and Pale Flag who were both at the Downfall of Humanity release show.
Read More...
Gig Review: Music In Parks - Helensville @ Helensville River Reserve, Auckland - 15/01/2023
15 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Each Summer, the Auckland Council put on a series of free outdoor concerts in different places around the city, and today was the second this year, and definitely had a country flavour with Keith Pereira, Louis Jarlov and Sam Bartells. Not only are the shows free, but they all take place in the afternoon, so this gig was set to take place between 1 and 4!
Read More...
Gig Review: Ovus @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 14/01/2023
15 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Having spent an incredible two weeks at home on South Island, it was now back up to Auckland and it was soon back into the live scene with my first gig at Dead Witch for 2023. Tonight was going to be interesting as I recently reviewed Ovus’s EP, Lucid, and it would be the first time I had seen Afterlight since they changed their name from Antebellum.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FLOWERS
    Miley Cyrus
  • KILL BILL
    SZA
  • ESCAPISM.
    RAYE feat. 070 Shake
  • SURE THING
    Miguel
  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • PLAYERS
    Coi Leray
  • PEOPLE
    Libianca
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • CREEPIN'
    Metro Boomin, The Weeknd And 21 Savage
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem