25 Sep 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Grawlixes - Album Review: Love You To Death

20 Jul 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

I have been reviewing music for more than 30 years and estimate I have written something like 2 million words on the subject, and I have often been asked the question, “Why?”. The simple reason is that if I didn’t do what I do then I would have missed out on so many amazing experiences, and when one is faced with a “new” band then one never knows what to expect. Prior to picking up this album and agreeing to see them play a gig (next month with Albi & The Wolves, it will be amazing), all I knew about them was that they played a form of folk. I put this on, and within 90 seconds of Honey Bees I was enthralled, and immediately felt that this was why I review, as every so often something comes through which is so very special indeed that it has a major impact on me. This is one of those albums, and from the very beginning I knew this was significant, and that feeling kept growing as the album kept playing.

There is a melancholy in their music with co-founders Robin Cederman (Tahu & The Takahes, The Prophet Hens) and Penelope Esplin (French for Rabbits, (Lake South}) taking turns to lead, providing harmonies for the other when the time is right. The result is an album which at times contains duets, and others either male or female lead, which may remind the listener of The Mutton Birds, Sandy Denny, Seventies Fleetwood Mac, Fairport Convention or Mumford & Sons, all in a melting pot. Penelope also provides accordion and Robin guitar, and on this their second album the band has expanded to include Alex Vaastra on violin (Julian Temple Band, Emily Fairlight), Emma Hattaway on bass (BoJack Funkman) and Hikurangi Schaverien-Kaa on drums (Dawn Diver, Stellarize, French for Rabbits).

It is timeless, but certainly does not sound as if has been released in these days of auto tune and over production, as vocals shine through, and it is possible to follow the musical thread of each and every instrument. What also makes this album work so well is the contrast, so we go from the vibrant full-on energy of The Wrong Idea into the sleazy, sassy Country feel of Modern Boy with Elizabeth to the gentle picked folk of Get Cold Easily with Robin, which turns into something incredibly powerful. Bill Bruford famously received a writing credit for the King Crimson song Trio, where he decided his contribution was not to play at all, and the same can be said for the members of Grawlixes as each knows what they bring to the arrangements, and at times that really means not being involved and just adding in at the correct moment.

This is an album that needs to be played on headphones when the listener has the time to do just that and be whisked away in the world of Grawlixes. They are soon going to be undertaking a 12-date tour, which on the evidence of this is not to be missed, as this is something which will be enjoyed by lovers of folk, country, acoustic, singer/songwriter material. Simply essential.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Grawlixes

Grawlixes are an existential folk-pop band from Wellington, New Zealand, who will sear themselves in your brain with raw, wry and infectious songs about doomed relationships, not being invited to parties, and wanting to murder each other. Continuing the great lineage of artists who bring sadness to their sprightly melodies, Grawlixes’ music often deals in the melancholy with self-deprecating honesty and beautiful boy-girl harmonies, sung by co-founders Robin Cederman (Tahu & The Takahes, The Prophet Hens) and Penelope Esplin (French for Rabbits, Lake South).

Grawlixes signed to Home Alone records, following an extensive European tour supporting label-mates French for Rabbits. They released their debut album Set Free in July 2017 to critical acclaim, reaching #9 in the NZ Charts. They have since expanded into a 5 piece, featuring Alex Vaastra on violin (Julian Temple Band, Emily Fairlight), Emma Hattaway on bass (BoJack Funkman) and Hikurangi Schaverien-Kaa on drums (Dawn Diver, Stellarize, French for Rabbits).

Grawlixes have opened for such bands as Steve Gunn (US), Nadia Reid, Ha the Unclear and Delaney Davidson, and international acts such as Blue Child Collective (Aus) and Ben Salter (Aus), and participated in the Auckland Folk Festival, Wellington Folk Festival, The Performance Arcade & CubaDupa.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Grawlixes

Releases

Love You To Death
Year: 2021
Type: Album
Set Free
Year: 2017
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Power The Light - Single Review: Snowing
23 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Power The Light is Max Roskilly, an 18-year-old musician who is based in Auckland , and has been self-releasing music for the last four years already, including the album Blueprints a while back. This is his second single in recent months, following on from Skys where he showed an interest more in krautrock than in is normal indie-jazz style.
Read More...
Single Review: Glass Throne
23 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Glass Throne are an Auckland-based power trio comprising Justin Robinson (lead vocals, bass, guitar), Owen McKibbin (guitar, organ, backing vocals) and Daniel Cutfield (drums, percussion, backing vocals). I have managed to catch them play live a few times over the last year, and what always strikes me is just how different they are to the rest of the local scene, coming through as a mix of classic Seventies hard rock, progressive and modern alt rock.
Read More...
On Tick - Single Review: Nothing New
21 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
On Tick is the brainchild of brothers Brendan (vocals and drums) and Aidan O'Loughlin (vocals, guitar), and was formed from the ashes of their previous musical outfit, Evil Tomato, who began as a band in 2012. They came across 5-string bassist Matt Hammond when they heard the demoes for Black Sands, which he not only produced but played on, and he joined forces to work with them on the album and to allow them to play in the Ding Dong Battle of the Bands.
Read More...
Ravenhall - EP Review: The Coming Storm
21 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Ravenhall were formed by guitarist Joe Ravenhall and singer Chris Brebner in 2015. They were both already veterans of the Auckland scene, and wanted to perform music which concentrated on the power of acoustic guitar, wonderful vocals, plus some gentle electronic backing, and that is certainly what we have here.
Read More...
Album Review: Black Alpine
19 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
The very first time I looked at the cover of this album I was reminded of Deep Purple’s In Rock, as even though that was a stylised version of Mount Rushmore, there we had dudes with long hair playing Seventies hard rock and that is the same here. I mean, we even have aviator sunglasses!
Read More...
Secrets Of The Sun - Album Review: Obon
19 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Obon is the debut album from alternative metal band Secrets of the Sun, a quartet based in Wellington. It has been a while in the making, in that the first single, Suffer With The Moon, was actually released a year ago while Wretched Tracks came out in February: both are included here.
Read More...
Written By Wolves - EP Review: Secrets - The Collab Project
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Since I started writing for New Zealand’s #1 music site, https://www.muzic.
Read More...
Alien Weaponry - Album Review: Tangaroa
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
There is no doubt whatsoever that Alien Weaponry have captured the imagination not only of the New Zealand public, but metalheads worldwide, with their combination of groove and thrash metal mixing with their Maori heritage to create something very special indeed. There really is no other band quite like them, although I do sometimes find myself thinking of the impact of Sepultura and their Roots album, but one does need to remember that was Sepultura’s sixth album, some 12 years after their first release.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • PEPEHA
    Six60
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
  • FAIR TRADE
    Drake feat. Travis Scott
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem