16 Aug 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Grawlixes - Album Review: Love You To Death

20 Jul 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

I have been reviewing music for more than 30 years and estimate I have written something like 2 million words on the subject, and I have often been asked the question, “Why?”. The simple reason is that if I didn’t do what I do then I would have missed out on so many amazing experiences, and when one is faced with a “new” band then one never knows what to expect. Prior to picking up this album and agreeing to see them play a gig (next month with Albi & The Wolves, it will be amazing), all I knew about them was that they played a form of folk. I put this on, and within 90 seconds of Honey Bees I was enthralled, and immediately felt that this was why I review, as every so often something comes through which is so very special indeed that it has a major impact on me. This is one of those albums, and from the very beginning I knew this was significant, and that feeling kept growing as the album kept playing.

There is a melancholy in their music with co-founders Robin Cederman (Tahu & The Takahes, The Prophet Hens) and Penelope Esplin (French for Rabbits, (Lake South}) taking turns to lead, providing harmonies for the other when the time is right. The result is an album which at times contains duets, and others either male or female lead, which may remind the listener of The Mutton Birds, Sandy Denny, Seventies Fleetwood Mac, Fairport Convention or Mumford & Sons, all in a melting pot. Penelope also provides accordion and Robin guitar, and on this their second album the band has expanded to include Alex Vaastra on violin (Julian Temple Band, Emily Fairlight), Emma Hattaway on bass (BoJack Funkman) and Hikurangi Schaverien-Kaa on drums (Dawn Diver, Stellarize, French for Rabbits).

It is timeless, but certainly does not sound as if has been released in these days of auto tune and over production, as vocals shine through, and it is possible to follow the musical thread of each and every instrument. What also makes this album work so well is the contrast, so we go from the vibrant full-on energy of The Wrong Idea into the sleazy, sassy Country feel of Modern Boy with Elizabeth to the gentle picked folk of Get Cold Easily with Robin, which turns into something incredibly powerful. Bill Bruford famously received a writing credit for the King Crimson song Trio, where he decided his contribution was not to play at all, and the same can be said for the members of Grawlixes as each knows what they bring to the arrangements, and at times that really means not being involved and just adding in at the correct moment.

This is an album that needs to be played on headphones when the listener has the time to do just that and be whisked away in the world of Grawlixes. They are soon going to be undertaking a 12-date tour, which on the evidence of this is not to be missed, as this is something which will be enjoyed by lovers of folk, country, acoustic, singer/songwriter material. Simply essential.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Grawlixes

Grawlixes are an existential folk-pop band from Wellington, New Zealand, who will sear themselves in your brain with raw, wry and infectious songs about doomed relationships, not being invited to parties, and wanting to murder each other. Continuing the great lineage of artists who bring sadness to their sprightly melodies, Grawlixes’ music often deals in the melancholy with self-deprecating honesty and beautiful boy-girl harmonies, sung by co-founders Robin Cederman (Tahu & The Takahes, The Prophet Hens) and Penelope Esplin (French for Rabbits, Lake South).

Grawlixes signed to Home Alone records, following an extensive European tour supporting label-mates French for Rabbits. They released their debut album Set Free in July 2017 to critical acclaim, reaching #9 in the NZ Charts. They have since expanded into a 5 piece, featuring Alex Vaastra on violin (Julian Temple Band, Emily Fairlight), Emma Hattaway on bass (BoJack Funkman) and Hikurangi Schaverien-Kaa on drums (Dawn Diver, Stellarize, French for Rabbits).

Grawlixes have opened for such bands as Steve Gunn (US), Nadia Reid, Ha the Unclear and Delaney Davidson, and international acts such as Blue Child Collective (Aus) and Ben Salter (Aus), and participated in the Auckland Folk Festival, Wellington Folk Festival, The Performance Arcade & CubaDupa.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Grawlixes

Releases

Love You To Death
Year: 2021
Type: Album
Set Free
Year: 2017
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Scapegoat - Album Review: Reality and the Hanging Tree
12 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Rene Black can often be found out and about on the Auckland scene, either playing in the premier NZ Sabbath tribute band After Forever, or just supporting other bands and enjoying the vibe. We regularly bump into each other at our favourite dive, Ding Dong Lounge, but whereas that is a relatively new place for me, Rene has been on the circuit for years as he was also drummer and founding member of both His Masters Voice and {Cripple Mr.
Read More...
Caitlin - EP Review: States
12 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut EP from young Christchurch-based indie-pop musician Caitlin (Caitlin Bradley) who is currently studying at Ara Music Arts in the city. She took the songs to Ryan Chin (Fisherman), and together with Will McGillivray (Goodwill), Thomas Isbister, and Shaun Malloch they worked to capture her innocent vocals and songs in a manner which brings together lots of different styles.
Read More...
Corduroy. - Single Review: Ozone
11 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Ozone is the latest single from Wellington-based band Corduroy., and is taken from their forthcoming EP, Halftime Oranges.
Read More...
Mim Jensen - Single Review: Germaphobe
11 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This is the debut single from Otautahi artist Mim Jensen, and a load of fun it is too. It commences with jangly guitar and Mim’s vocals, and soon we are taken into commercial indie rock which has definite nods back to the likes of Fur Patrol.
Read More...
Moone - Single Review: I Am Who I Am
10 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There are some people who come into this world and put the rest of us to shame as to what they achieve, and undoubtedly one of those was Eva McGauley, who at the age of 15 was diagnosed with terminal cancer, to which she succumbed a little more than 3 years later. Eva was involved with the Wellington Rape Crisis Organisation, was an intern with the Green Party, ran her own charity 'Eva's Wish' raising more than $70,000 to help sexual abused survivors, was involved in the '200 Women Who will change the way you see the world' book and exhibition and was nominated for Youth Wellingtonian of the year award, among others.
Read More...
Oliver Birch - Album Review: Burning Daylight
05 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This is the debut album from Auckland musician, Oliver Birch, although older versions of many of the songs contained within have already been made available as singles. When the album started with the lengthy keyboard chords and feedback intro I thought it would fall into krautrock, but instead it quickly changed into a psychedelic experimental art rock number with emotionally charged vocals and an outright refusal to conform to any expectations.
Read More...
Album Review: Black Velvet Butterfly
03 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Black Velvet Butterfly are a one-man band from Auckland featuring James Castady-Kristament. I was intrigued to be sent this as when I looked on their Bandcamp page it said, “It may just well be the coolest thing you’ve heard in the Goth scene since Type O Negative.
Read More...
Bill Angus and the Mighty Ways - Album Review: All Night Before the World Began
01 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Bill had a musical career in England before deciding to do something different, and returned to his roots when he started working in New Zealand. This is his third album.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • DOJA
    Central Cee
  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • I LIKE YOU (A HAPPIER SONG)
    Post Malone And Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem