23 Sep 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Blue River Baby - Single/Video Review: Pay

20 Jul 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Blue River Baby, AKA BRBB, are back with the first single from their second album, which will be due out next year. They created quite a stir with their debut release in 2019, hitting the Top Ten on the Official NZ Music charts as well as topping the NZ Indie (IMNZ) charts. They are based around the vocals of Ree Thomson and the 70’s funk keyboards of Cam Crawford, with the line-up completed by Leith Hazlitt-Black (drums), Matt Fitzpatrick (guitar), Henry Smithers (bass), and John Gualter (saxophone) while on this track they were also joined by trumpet player Barrett Hocking of The Black Seeds.

They state they are influenced by old school soul-funk and rock masters and modern-day heroes such as Anderson Paak and the Free Nationals, Beyonce, Tower of Power, Greg Phillinganes, Bakrithi Kumalo, Bruno Mars, Kora, Florence and the Machine, Alicia Keys, Christina Aguilera, Sharon Jones, Parliament / Funkadelics, Amy Winehouse, Hendrix and Red Hot Chili Peppers, although it must be said I cannot heard much Hendrix in this (although check out their YouTube video of them jamming on Led Zep which shows a very different side of the band altogether).

This song is one of progression, starting with delicate bass, percussion and keyboards, and loads of space around the vocals, which are pure and clean. It is here that one can really hear the Amy Winehouse influence, yet as the song progresses with more brass and energy coming in there is a more soulful, almost blues element when Ree drops her voice lower. She can be pure and clean, or full of sass and vigour, and the accompaniment is designed to keep it always front and centre, even allowing for her to have the odd bar with no support whatsoever. This is music aimed at commercial radio, and the light funk pop soul mix is sure to find them a great many fans in that field.

The production is incredibly polished, but although the electric piano and keyboards are somewhat muted, the vocals are always allowed to shine. The video is a mix mostly of the band recording in the studio, plus some dramatic landscape shots, but the concept just does not work for me as I am not interested in seeing the back of Ree’s head for a large part of it. In fact, very few shots of the musicians are face on, which is a very strange idea indeed, and for me the song stands better on its own.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Blue River Baby

Formed in 2016 Blue River Baby 'B.R.B' are busy recording new music for their second album with the first singles releasing mid 2021. This highly productive Poneke / Valley 6-piece funk dub & soul collective brims with fresh new talent and amazing lead vocals from Ree Thomson.

The bands self-titled debut album was recorded with Dr. Lee Prebble who has been instrumental in projects from L.A.B. and The Black Seeds. Released 2019 B.R.B's first album hit #1 on the NZ Indie (IMNZ) Top 20 Album Chart and #8 on the Official NZ Music Top 20 Album Chart, and held three weeks in both charts in the company iconic acts like L.A.B., Six60, BENEE, Drax Project, Troy Kingi, Katchafire & Aldous Harding.

B.R.B received a bunch of ongoing commercial and student radio play around NZ 2019 and into 2020. In March 2020 they re-entered the (IMNZ) Top 20 Album Chart at #12.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Blue River Baby

Releases

Blue River Baby
Year: 2019
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Album Review: Black Alpine
19 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
The very first time I looked at the cover of this album I was reminded of Deep Purple’s In Rock, as even though that was a stylised version of Mount Rushmore, there we had dudes with long hair playing Seventies hard rock and that is the same here. I mean, we even have aviator sunglasses!
Read More...
Secrets Of The Sun - Album Review: Obon
19 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Obon is the debut album from alternative metal band Secrets of the Sun, a quartet based in Wellington. It has been a while in the making, in that the first single, Suffer With The Moon, was actually released a year ago while Wretched Tracks came out in February: both are included here.
Read More...
Written By Wolves - EP Review: Secrets - The Collab Project
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Since I started writing for New Zealand’s #1 music site, https://www.muzic.
Read More...
Alien Weaponry - Album Review: Tangaroa
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
There is no doubt whatsoever that Alien Weaponry have captured the imagination not only of the New Zealand public, but metalheads worldwide, with their combination of groove and thrash metal mixing with their Maori heritage to create something very special indeed. There really is no other band quite like them, although I do sometimes find myself thinking of the impact of Sepultura and their Roots album, but one does need to remember that was Sepultura’s sixth album, some 12 years after their first release.
Read More...
Domingo Candelario - EP Review: Sin Palabras
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Although there is always a very Cuban base to his music, Domingo has covered many different styles, as he transcends culture and language: music is about expressing emotions honestly and he tries to be as unique as he can.  As a child, his parents listened to a lot of Brazilian music, and he was fascinated by the way they used harmonies: it was so beautifully put together, so soft and in connection with the soul.
Read More...
Glenn Bodger - Album Review: I'll Leave The Light On
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut solo album from Glenn Bodger, who provided most of the instrumentation himself, although he has also been assisted by former Braintree bandmate Darryn Harkness, who helped with additional guitar, bass and keyboards where required. From the gentle, almost cautiously picked acoustic guitar notes on opener I’ll Leave The Light On, we are brought carefully into a world which is dated yet fresh, comfortable but new, as he mixes together different musical elements in an independent, alternative style which is often somehow commercial and others when they are definitely not.
Read More...
Samantha Josephine - EP Review: Fly Bird Fly
15 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Samantha Josephine's six-track Fly Bird Fly EP is less than 13 minutes long, but in many ways that makes total sense, as there is a feeling within this that we are being allowed into a secret and very personal world and that it would be intrusive to stay for too long. One can imagine Samantha performing in a corner, hoping that no-one will see or hear her, and when I read in her bio that only her girlfriend has seen her perform in the last year, and that even she is not allowed to be around when Samantha is writing, then it makes perfect sense.
Read More...
The Night - Single Review: Untouchable
12 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
This cannot be right. According to the information I have in front of me, this Wellington-based band was formed from a group of music students in 2017, started performing live in 2018, and their ages now range from 15 to 18!
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • PEPEHA
    Six60
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
  • FAIR TRADE
    Drake feat. Travis Scott
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem