18 Sep 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Tall Folk - EP Review: Live From Martin's

19 Jul 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Tall Folk are a relatively new band, only coming together at the end of last year and feature Dunedin singer/songwriter Lara Robertson and mid-Western import Jack Ringhand, with both providing lead and harmony vocals and acoustic guitar. It really is a coming together of styles as Lara is obviously more from the folk end of the spectrum, while Jack’s gravellier rasp is far more set in Americana.

The 3-track EP Live From Martin's was recorded in a Catlins’ bach with the assistance of Dunedin rocker Michael Morris, and I presume it was recorded live. The reason I say that is because there are some notes on guitar on opening song Dani which jar every time I listen to it, and I am not convinced it is deliberate, as to my ears they are at odds with the rest of the song.

It is quite a distraction for me, as everything else about this 14-minute set is simply delightful. I love Lara’s gentle breathy vocals, and when she takes lead, it is like a shining light. Jack’s vocals are a real contrast, and when he is in front it gives the music a totally different feel with more depth, gravitas, and hidden power. With just guitars for accompaniment, no percussion, and arrangements where often it is only one of them singing, which gives the harmonies more presence when they arrive, it is a set full of space.

This is music one can relax into and demands to be played on headphones to get full benefit. They have been touring the bottom of South Island, but I truly hope they have the opportunity to come up here as I am sure these are going to be great in a small club. Plus, anyone who enjoys poking humour at themselves has got to be fun. As they say, “Lara is from a long line of long legs. Jack is an extension of generations of long necks. Together, with their long limbs and swirling harmonies, they are Tall Folk.”

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Tall Folk

Lara is from a long line of long legs. Jack is an extension of generations of long necks. Together, with their long limbs and swirling harmonies, they are Tall Folk. As an US-American import, Jack brings song-writing and Midwestern twang hardened in Americana tradition. Lara softens and juxtaposes the raspy edges with warm, resonant harmonies established through years embedded in the Dunedin folk scene.

On June 25, they released their debut live EP recorded in a Catlins’ bach with the assistance of Dunedin rocker Michael Morris. They now aim to ring in the New Year by releasing a full length album recorded at Chick’s Hotel with Tom Bell.

From the comparatively upper stratospheres of human heights, they write from a bird’s eye view of political and social turmoil, lined with remnants of the goodness that keeps us all moving. Think a Guthrie-inspired young Prine laced with the grace of Gillian Welch. Just a bit taller.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Tall Folk

Releases

Live From Martin's
Year: 2021
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Written By Wolves - EP Review: Secrets - The Collab Project
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Since I started writing for New Zealand’s #1 music site, https://www.muzic.
Read More...
Alien Weaponry - Album Review: Tangaroa
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
There is no doubt whatsoever that Alien Weaponry have captured the imagination not only of the New Zealand public, but metalheads worldwide, with their combination of groove and thrash metal mixing with their Maori heritage to create something very special indeed. There really is no other band quite like them, although I do sometimes find myself thinking of the impact of Sepultura and their Roots album, but one does need to remember that was Sepultura’s sixth album, some 12 years after their first release.
Read More...
Domingo Candelario - EP Review: Sin Palabras
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Although there is always a very Cuban base to his music, Domingo has covered many different styles, as he transcends culture and language: music is about expressing emotions honestly and he tries to be as unique as he can.  As a child, his parents listened to a lot of Brazilian music, and he was fascinated by the way they used harmonies: it was so beautifully put together, so soft and in connection with the soul.
Read More...
Glenn Bodger - Album Review: I'll Leave The Light On
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut solo album from Glenn Bodger, who provided most of the instrumentation himself, although he has also been assisted by former Braintree bandmate Darryn Harkness, who helped with additional guitar, bass and keyboards where required. From the gentle, almost cautiously picked acoustic guitar notes on opener I’ll Leave The Light On, we are brought carefully into a world which is dated yet fresh, comfortable but new, as he mixes together different musical elements in an independent, alternative style which is often somehow commercial and others when they are definitely not.
Read More...
Samantha Josephine - EP Review: Fly Bird Fly
15 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Samantha Josephine's six-track Fly Bird Fly EP is less than 13 minutes long, but in many ways that makes total sense, as there is a feeling within this that we are being allowed into a secret and very personal world and that it would be intrusive to stay for too long. One can imagine Samantha performing in a corner, hoping that no-one will see or hear her, and when I read in her bio that only her girlfriend has seen her perform in the last year, and that even she is not allowed to be around when Samantha is writing, then it makes perfect sense.
Read More...
The Night - Single Review: Untouchable
12 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
This cannot be right. According to the information I have in front of me, this Wellington-based band was formed from a group of music students in 2017, started performing live in 2018, and their ages now range from 15 to 18!
Read More...
Channeled - EP Review: Perception
12 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
As I have said previously, 2020 was a breakthrough year for Channeled, as Ben Ruegg recorded the second album and formed an operational live band to make it more than just a studio project. They made it through to the final of the Ding Dong Lounge Battle of the Bands and set up a headline show at the same venue with Cafe Fistfight and Mariner as support to celebrate the release of I Heard Penelope Sing, but then disaster struck with Ben being rushed to hospital following a Grand Mal seizure.
Read More...
Empress - EP Review: Trash Dynasty
10 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Empress were formed by guitarist/singer Lora Thompson and drummer Craig Gilliver after the demise of their previous project, Cheshire Grimm with whom they toured the length of NZ, played with international acts and local superstars, as well as releasing material along the way. The lead track from this EP, Sailing the Seas of Grease, was actually released towards the end of 2020 but it has taken until now for their six-track 23-minute-long debut EP to made available.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • GIRLS WANT GIRLS
    Drake feat. Lil Baby
  • FAIR TRADE
    Drake feat. Travis Scott
  • CHAMPAGNE POETRY
    Drake
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • WAY 2 SEXY
    Drake, Future And Young Thug
  • HURRICANE
    Kanye West
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem