18 Jan 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Investigator - Gig Review: Investigator @ Cupid Bar, Auckland - 17/07/2021

18 Jul 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

This was a gig I thought I would have to miss, as I had been invited to a wedding, but after the ceremony I realised I could still make it, so it was back into Auckland for another venue which is new to me. Cupid Bar is situated in the foyer of the old Ambassador Theatre, and with the bar on the right-hand side, there is quite a narrow entrance which then opens into a small space where bands can set up. It felt very personal, and I was mightily impressed with not only the boutique range of beers on tap, but that they also have a chiller full of local craft ales: I can see me coming back.

Tonight, was the launch party for Investigator’s most recent single, Lake of Eyes, which last month made it into the Official NZ Music Charts, blasting into the Hot 20 NZ Singles. What is interesting is that Adrian had not done anything different in terms of promotion with this release than on any other, yet it has attracted attention globally (and as I write is #4 on the U&I Downloads chart) which has led to other bands asking what did he do?

First up tonight was Dashboard Ashtray, a band who have been created out of Undercut, although in a quite different musical area. Whereas John used to provide vocals and guitar, here he is hidden away on his laptop, while bassist Dave (who is also in Investigator) and guitarist Scott play against the samples and loops he is producing. The result was something which worked incredibly well, with nice solid bass and interesting guitar lines, with the latter having solid reverb and cut through. There were some moments when it did not gel as well as it might have, particularly with the heavy synthetic percussion on D & E, but when they got it right, as on Dubs, then it was quite something. This started with a filthy bass which was reminiscent of New Order, and there was a real sense of togetherness with Scott and Dave bouncing off each other. Their final song, Home Soon included a sample of Neil Finn from Four Seasons In One Day, so it will be interesting to see if this gets recorded, and overall I came away with the feeling that here is an instrumental band who are heavily influenced by the likes of Ozric Tentacles, are very tight, and having a load of fun producing something quite different.

Then it was time for Investigator, but before they started, I changed position as some guys had come into the bar and decided to stand right next to me so I could not see anything. This put me closer to the toilets, and when someone showed his girlfriend where they were, we glanced at each other and immediately did a doubletake, as it was Dom Morris from 71 Sunset. He and I have not seen each other for some six years, but I had been in the studio a few times when they were recording as well as writing the press releases for both their EP and album. The band broke up after singer Darrin Floyd moved to Australia and they had been unable to find a replacement, but all the guys are still active in different bands, and hopefully I will catch up with Dom at one of his own gigs soon.

Investigator started as a one-man outfit in a similar fashion to Chanelled, led by singer/guitarist and songwriter Adrian Drew, but these days it is a full live band with Dave Crowhen on bass/backing vocals, Adam Morton-Mason on guitar and Craig van Kan on drums and backing vocals. Adrian and I were talking beforehand about the difficulty of finding bands to be able to support and gain more fans, but I can certainly see why they have been playing gigs with Chanelled as they have a similar approach of delivering power pop mixed with melodic hard rock, creating something which has its roots in the likes of Cheap Trick yet with a harsher Kiwi attack which has not been smoothed to imperfection. They kicked off with Bad Luck’s Shoebox, the first song of theirs I had heard when it was released as a single. Back then I said that in many ways it reminds me of music being released in 81/82 with incredibly catchy licks, yet with a far more alternative metal sound, and that feeling was reinforced seeing them play it live. It is grounded on an incredibly solid rhythm section, with both Craig and Dave seeing their roles as providing support when it is required, but also at other times doing something which dramatically changes the focus. Adam’s role is often to provide melodic lead lines throughout, as opposed to just emphasising the rhythm guitar, which gives them a distinct sound.

They kept shifting styles, but always grounded in the root of melodic hard rock, and if Don’t Touch Me was recorded with an American-style production I could see it being a huge hit over there, while Livin’ In A Magazine is classic Cars. One thing of note is the strength of the lyrics throughout, as each song has something to say, and there is depth behind the pop hooks. Lake of Eyes was somewhat early in the set, as I would have thought that it would have been near the end, but the band were on a roll and so were the audience. There were times when Adrian used falsetto, but it never felt strained, and was also not over-used so it provided a strong contrast. They finished the first set with Candlelight, a song which was originally written about suicide and took on even more poignance when Chris Cornell died just two weeks after it was finished. Tonight though, it was dedicated to fur babies as Adrian and his wife had just lost theirs. This felt far more emotional, commencing with just Adrian and guitar.

The second set started much more slowly, with even a country vibe on Goodbye Car, while Inspire again had some sections where it was just Adrian, providing wonderful contrast when the rest of the guys came in. One of the highlights was YOUnique, another previous single, which is a wonderfully powerful belter, and we ended the night with The Raiser, which is another power pop song in a similar vein to The Knack. It was great to be able to finally catch Investigator in concert, and I know this is not the last time, as it was simply so much fun.


Photo Credit: Kev Rowland

 

About Investigator

It's all about the melodies and soaring choruses, with catchy riffs & driving guitar. These are bright shiny songs with dark undertones, a juxtaposition reflecting life. The love, loss and societal stabs feature heavy... but within the dark brooding space there is always a hint of optimism.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Investigator

Releases

Investigator
Year: 2018
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Blindfolded and Led To The Woods @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 15/01/2022
16 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I have been looking forward to tonight for ages, as Auckland went into lockdown in August with all gigs being cancelled until just before Christmas, and even then, that was with limited attendance. This means that tonight was going to be my first gig in five months, and given that I covered more than 30 in the first part of the year, that was some cold turkey.
Read More...
Fool's Lagoon - Single Review: Bizarre
13 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Bizarre is the debut single from Auckland-based quintet Fool’s Lagoon. Mark, Connor, Joe, Matt and Joshua have created a bright and summery indie pop jangler which is heavily guitar-based yet is somehow light and airy throughout.
Read More...
Powder Chutes - EP Review: Sweet Noise Pollution
11 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There is always that little hint of concern when reading a press release for a new EP and realise it contains a quote from yours truly for the single which was taken from it. How would they take it this time around if I panned this release?
Read More...
Tall Folk - Album Review: Wiser
11 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
2021 was a wonderful musical adventure for me as I threw myself into the NZ music scene, and towards the end of the year I realised that with nearly 200 reviews of local music I really should work out my Top 10 singles, EP’s, albums and gigs (check out https://www.muzic.
Read More...
Pass The Peas - EP Review: Pop
06 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This three-track EP is the latest release from Poneke-based quintet Pass The Peas, who describe their music as Wasabi spicy Rock n' Roll, whatever that means. To my ears it means they play mid-paced alternative pop rock with a strong concentration on the gravelly and emotional vocals of Kurt with loads of space within the arrangements, which are well-produced.
Read More...
Black Sands - Single Review: Apocalypse of Eden
22 Dec 2021 // by Kev Rowland
To my mind this single is long overdue, as I have been lucky enough to catch these guys play live a few times this year and they always put on an amazing show. Comprising Cameron Owens (guitars), Ruaidri Keens (guitars), Matt Hammond (bass) and James Trimmer (drums) they are one of those very rare breeds, a hard-hitting metal act with no need for a singer.
Read More...
Kev's Top 10's - 2021
20 Dec 2021 // by Kev Rowland
2021 has been a strange year, of that there has been no doubt whatsoever, but although everyone in Auckland is champing at the bit to be let out into the real world, it is probably best to remind ourselves that until we went into lockdown in August we were the envy of the world with festivals, plenty of beer, and the country being totally open (apart from the borders). At that time, I had been to more than 30 gigs, and was on course to hit 50 for the year, never thinking for a minute that August would be the last time I saw a band play live.
Read More...
Samantha Josephine - Album Review: The Finished Touch
19 Dec 2021 // by Kev Rowland
This is a direct continuation of the work displayed by Samantha on the Fly Bird Fly EP which came out a few months ago, except this time around she has managed to secure the services of drummers Mars Slater Vitai and Olive Konai, who between them share the duties on this 16-track 39-minute-long album. They fit in well with the ethos and spirit of Samantha, not attempting to bring in any finesse of polish, but instead keeping to the very lo-fi and naïve approach demonstrated by the singer/guitarist.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DOWN UNDER
    Luude feat. Colin Hay
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • FINGERS CROSSED
    Lauren Spencer-Smith
  • ABCDEFU
    GAYLE
  • MR REGGAE
    L.A.B.
  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem