7 Jul 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Investigator - Gig Review: Investigator @ Cupid Bar, Auckland - 17/07/2021

18 Jul 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

This was a gig I thought I would have to miss, as I had been invited to a wedding, but after the ceremony I realised I could still make it, so it was back into Auckland for another venue which is new to me. Cupid Bar is situated in the foyer of the old Ambassador Theatre, and with the bar on the right-hand side, there is quite a narrow entrance which then opens into a small space where bands can set up. It felt very personal, and I was mightily impressed with not only the boutique range of beers on tap, but that they also have a chiller full of local craft ales: I can see me coming back.

Tonight, was the launch party for Investigator’s most recent single, Lake of Eyes, which last month made it into the Official NZ Music Charts, blasting into the Hot 20 NZ Singles. What is interesting is that Adrian had not done anything different in terms of promotion with this release than on any other, yet it has attracted attention globally (and as I write is #4 on the U&I Downloads chart) which has led to other bands asking what did he do?

First up tonight was Dashboard Ashtray, a band who have been created out of Undercut, although in a quite different musical area. Whereas John used to provide vocals and guitar, here he is hidden away on his laptop, while bassist Dave (who is also in Investigator) and guitarist Scott play against the samples and loops he is producing. The result was something which worked incredibly well, with nice solid bass and interesting guitar lines, with the latter having solid reverb and cut through. There were some moments when it did not gel as well as it might have, particularly with the heavy synthetic percussion on D & E, but when they got it right, as on Dubs, then it was quite something. This started with a filthy bass which was reminiscent of New Order, and there was a real sense of togetherness with Scott and Dave bouncing off each other. Their final song, Home Soon included a sample of Neil Finn from Four Seasons In One Day, so it will be interesting to see if this gets recorded, and overall I came away with the feeling that here is an instrumental band who are heavily influenced by the likes of Ozric Tentacles, are very tight, and having a load of fun producing something quite different.

Then it was time for Investigator, but before they started, I changed position as some guys had come into the bar and decided to stand right next to me so I could not see anything. This put me closer to the toilets, and when someone showed his girlfriend where they were, we glanced at each other and immediately did a doubletake, as it was Dom Morris from 71 Sunset. He and I have not seen each other for some six years, but I had been in the studio a few times when they were recording as well as writing the press releases for both their EP and album. The band broke up after singer Darrin Floyd moved to Australia and they had been unable to find a replacement, but all the guys are still active in different bands, and hopefully I will catch up with Dom at one of his own gigs soon.

Investigator started as a one-man outfit in a similar fashion to Chanelled, led by singer/guitarist and songwriter Adrian Drew, but these days it is a full live band with Dave Crowhen on bass/backing vocals, Adam Morton-Mason on guitar and Craig van Kan on drums and backing vocals. Adrian and I were talking beforehand about the difficulty of finding bands to be able to support and gain more fans, but I can certainly see why they have been playing gigs with Chanelled as they have a similar approach of delivering power pop mixed with melodic hard rock, creating something which has its roots in the likes of Cheap Trick yet with a harsher Kiwi attack which has not been smoothed to imperfection. They kicked off with Bad Luck’s Shoebox, the first song of theirs I had heard when it was released as a single. Back then I said that in many ways it reminds me of music being released in 81/82 with incredibly catchy licks, yet with a far more alternative metal sound, and that feeling was reinforced seeing them play it live. It is grounded on an incredibly solid rhythm section, with both Craig and Dave seeing their roles as providing support when it is required, but also at other times doing something which dramatically changes the focus. Adam’s role is often to provide melodic lead lines throughout, as opposed to just emphasising the rhythm guitar, which gives them a distinct sound.

They kept shifting styles, but always grounded in the root of melodic hard rock, and if Don’t Touch Me was recorded with an American-style production I could see it being a huge hit over there, while Livin’ In A Magazine is classic Cars. One thing of note is the strength of the lyrics throughout, as each song has something to say, and there is depth behind the pop hooks. Lake of Eyes was somewhat early in the set, as I would have thought that it would have been near the end, but the band were on a roll and so were the audience. There were times when Adrian used falsetto, but it never felt strained, and was also not over-used so it provided a strong contrast. They finished the first set with Candlelight, a song which was originally written about suicide and took on even more poignance when Chris Cornell died just two weeks after it was finished. Tonight though, it was dedicated to fur babies as Adrian and his wife had just lost theirs. This felt far more emotional, commencing with just Adrian and guitar.

The second set started much more slowly, with even a country vibe on Goodbye Car, while Inspire again had some sections where it was just Adrian, providing wonderful contrast when the rest of the guys came in. One of the highlights was YOUnique, another previous single, which is a wonderfully powerful belter, and we ended the night with The Raiser, which is another power pop song in a similar vein to The Knack. It was great to be able to finally catch Investigator in concert, and I know this is not the last time, as it was simply so much fun.


Photo Credit: Kev Rowland

 

About Investigator

It's all about the melodies and soaring choruses, with catchy riffs & driving guitar. These are bright shiny songs with dark undertones, a juxtaposition reflecting life. The love, loss and societal stabs feature heavy... but within the dark brooding space there is always a hint of optimism.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Investigator

Releases

Investigator
Year: 2018
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Sonic Delusion - Single/Video Review: Fingertips
06 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Earlier this year I was fortunate enough to come across the incredible album When Turkeys Fly by Turkey The Bird which meant I was determined to see them when they came to Auckland and had an amazing evening. One member of that trio is André Manella, who has also been touring as Sonic Delusion, and over the last eight years he has played more than 800 shows and released five albums.
Read More...
Gig Review: T-Bone @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 03/07/2022
03 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Down to Tuning Fork for an early start with doors opening at 5:30 and the whole thing expected to be over by 9:30! I was so glad that Al from Hoop sent me the running times in the morning otherwise I would have missed their set altogether as well as possibly missing the beginning of T-Bone!
Read More...
EP Review: Ange.Mac + Shaun Garea
03 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
What we have here is the debut collaboration from Ange.Mac and Shaun Garea.
Read More...
Gig Review: Pale Flag @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 01/07/2022
02 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Tonight, I was supposed to be at The Tuning Fork for Ekko Park and Jordan Luck but the dreaded Covid had cast its spell and the gig was cancelled earlier in the week. I did a quick check to see what was on at Dead Witch and discovered there was a four-band bill and knowing three of them I could see it was going to be a good night so decided to head that way.
Read More...
Ayla Wesley - Single Review: Say To Me
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Normally, when I am reviewing singles for MNZ the turnaround time we work to is 7 days and it is not unusual for me to work on far tighter deadlines than that, but Ayla was incredibly well organised with the promotion for her second single, and I have been playing this for the last 3 weeks at least. In that time it has become a real earworm, and I have even found myself singing it as I walk around (not a pleasant experience for anyone in the vicinity, let me assure you).
Read More...
Ed Waaka - Single Review: E Kura
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It did not take long for me to fall in love with this song, probably the first 30 seconds I guess, as there is something about it which grabs hold the listener, puts them in a safe place, and lets the singer bare their soul. Soul, yes, this is full of it in a musical sense as well as an emotional one, and when I discovered he was singing about the upcoming birth of his first daughter, whether he would be a good father, and the need to reconnect to his Maori heritage it made a great deal of sense.
Read More...
Danica Bryant - Single Review: Crush
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the lead single from Danica Bryant’s forthcoming EP, Ego Death, and if this is fully representative, then that is something to look out for. For a young artist she has already had considerable success, mentoring with Bic Runga while also gaining a support slot for Elton John on his ‘Farewell Yellow Brick Road’ tour, and while she has already tasted success on the NZ Hot Singles Chart, I am sure this is going to head the same way.
Read More...
Tia Ward - EP Review: Me and Me Too
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This is the debut EP from Hawkes Bay singer Tia Ward, following on from two singles which were released ahead of time, Under Wraps and Paint Dry, both of which are included here. The first thing which the listener notices are her vocals, which are both understated yet firmly to the fore.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • JIMMY COOKS
    Drake feat. 21 Savage
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem