17 Aug 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Investigator - Gig Review: Investigator @ Cupid Bar, Auckland - 17/07/2021

18 Jul 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

This was a gig I thought I would have to miss, as I had been invited to a wedding, but after the ceremony I realised I could still make it, so it was back into Auckland for another venue which is new to me. Cupid Bar is situated in the foyer of the old Ambassador Theatre, and with the bar on the right-hand side, there is quite a narrow entrance which then opens into a small space where bands can set up. It felt very personal, and I was mightily impressed with not only the boutique range of beers on tap, but that they also have a chiller full of local craft ales: I can see me coming back.

Tonight, was the launch party for Investigator’s most recent single, Lake of Eyes, which last month made it into the Official NZ Music Charts, blasting into the Hot 20 NZ Singles. What is interesting is that Adrian had not done anything different in terms of promotion with this release than on any other, yet it has attracted attention globally (and as I write is #4 on the U&I Downloads chart) which has led to other bands asking what did he do?

First up tonight was Dashboard Ashtray, a band who have been created out of Undercut, although in a quite different musical area. Whereas John used to provide vocals and guitar, here he is hidden away on his laptop, while bassist Dave (who is also in Investigator) and guitarist Scott play against the samples and loops he is producing. The result was something which worked incredibly well, with nice solid bass and interesting guitar lines, with the latter having solid reverb and cut through. There were some moments when it did not gel as well as it might have, particularly with the heavy synthetic percussion on D & E, but when they got it right, as on Dubs, then it was quite something. This started with a filthy bass which was reminiscent of New Order, and there was a real sense of togetherness with Scott and Dave bouncing off each other. Their final song, Home Soon included a sample of Neil Finn from Four Seasons In One Day, so it will be interesting to see if this gets recorded, and overall I came away with the feeling that here is an instrumental band who are heavily influenced by the likes of Ozric Tentacles, are very tight, and having a load of fun producing something quite different.

Then it was time for Investigator, but before they started, I changed position as some guys had come into the bar and decided to stand right next to me so I could not see anything. This put me closer to the toilets, and when someone showed his girlfriend where they were, we glanced at each other and immediately did a doubletake, as it was Dom Morris from 71 Sunset. He and I have not seen each other for some six years, but I had been in the studio a few times when they were recording as well as writing the press releases for both their EP and album. The band broke up after singer Darrin Floyd moved to Australia and they had been unable to find a replacement, but all the guys are still active in different bands, and hopefully I will catch up with Dom at one of his own gigs soon.

Investigator started as a one-man outfit in a similar fashion to Chanelled, led by singer/guitarist and songwriter Adrian Drew, but these days it is a full live band with Dave Crowhen on bass/backing vocals, Adam Morton-Mason on guitar and Craig van Kan on drums and backing vocals. Adrian and I were talking beforehand about the difficulty of finding bands to be able to support and gain more fans, but I can certainly see why they have been playing gigs with Chanelled as they have a similar approach of delivering power pop mixed with melodic hard rock, creating something which has its roots in the likes of Cheap Trick yet with a harsher Kiwi attack which has not been smoothed to imperfection. They kicked off with Bad Luck’s Shoebox, the first song of theirs I had heard when it was released as a single. Back then I said that in many ways it reminds me of music being released in 81/82 with incredibly catchy licks, yet with a far more alternative metal sound, and that feeling was reinforced seeing them play it live. It is grounded on an incredibly solid rhythm section, with both Craig and Dave seeing their roles as providing support when it is required, but also at other times doing something which dramatically changes the focus. Adam’s role is often to provide melodic lead lines throughout, as opposed to just emphasising the rhythm guitar, which gives them a distinct sound.

They kept shifting styles, but always grounded in the root of melodic hard rock, and if Don’t Touch Me was recorded with an American-style production I could see it being a huge hit over there, while Livin’ In A Magazine is classic Cars. One thing of note is the strength of the lyrics throughout, as each song has something to say, and there is depth behind the pop hooks. Lake of Eyes was somewhat early in the set, as I would have thought that it would have been near the end, but the band were on a roll and so were the audience. There were times when Adrian used falsetto, but it never felt strained, and was also not over-used so it provided a strong contrast. They finished the first set with Candlelight, a song which was originally written about suicide and took on even more poignance when Chris Cornell died just two weeks after it was finished. Tonight though, it was dedicated to fur babies as Adrian and his wife had just lost theirs. This felt far more emotional, commencing with just Adrian and guitar.

The second set started much more slowly, with even a country vibe on Goodbye Car, while Inspire again had some sections where it was just Adrian, providing wonderful contrast when the rest of the guys came in. One of the highlights was YOUnique, another previous single, which is a wonderfully powerful belter, and we ended the night with The Raiser, which is another power pop song in a similar vein to The Knack. It was great to be able to finally catch Investigator in concert, and I know this is not the last time, as it was simply so much fun.


Photo Credit: Kev Rowland

 

About Investigator

It's all about the melodies and soaring choruses, with catchy riffs & driving guitar. These are bright shiny songs with dark undertones, a juxtaposition reflecting life. The love, loss and societal stabs feature heavy... but within the dark brooding space there is always a hint of optimism.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Investigator

Releases

Investigator
Year: 2018
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Scapegoat - Album Review: Reality and the Hanging Tree
12 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Rene Black can often be found out and about on the Auckland scene, either playing in the premier NZ Sabbath tribute band After Forever, or just supporting other bands and enjoying the vibe. We regularly bump into each other at our favourite dive, Ding Dong Lounge, but whereas that is a relatively new place for me, Rene has been on the circuit for years as he was also drummer and founding member of both His Masters Voice and {Cripple Mr.
Read More...
Caitlin - EP Review: States
12 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut EP from young Christchurch-based indie-pop musician Caitlin (Caitlin Bradley) who is currently studying at Ara Music Arts in the city. She took the songs to Ryan Chin (Fisherman), and together with Will McGillivray (Goodwill), Thomas Isbister, and Shaun Malloch they worked to capture her innocent vocals and songs in a manner which brings together lots of different styles.
Read More...
Corduroy. - Single Review: Ozone
11 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Ozone is the latest single from Wellington-based band Corduroy., and is taken from their forthcoming EP, Halftime Oranges.
Read More...
Mim Jensen - Single Review: Germaphobe
11 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This is the debut single from Otautahi artist Mim Jensen, and a load of fun it is too. It commences with jangly guitar and Mim’s vocals, and soon we are taken into commercial indie rock which has definite nods back to the likes of Fur Patrol.
Read More...
Moone - Single Review: I Am Who I Am
10 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There are some people who come into this world and put the rest of us to shame as to what they achieve, and undoubtedly one of those was Eva McGauley, who at the age of 15 was diagnosed with terminal cancer, to which she succumbed a little more than 3 years later. Eva was involved with the Wellington Rape Crisis Organisation, was an intern with the Green Party, ran her own charity 'Eva's Wish' raising more than $70,000 to help sexual abused survivors, was involved in the '200 Women Who will change the way you see the world' book and exhibition and was nominated for Youth Wellingtonian of the year award, among others.
Read More...
Oliver Birch - Album Review: Burning Daylight
05 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This is the debut album from Auckland musician, Oliver Birch, although older versions of many of the songs contained within have already been made available as singles. When the album started with the lengthy keyboard chords and feedback intro I thought it would fall into krautrock, but instead it quickly changed into a psychedelic experimental art rock number with emotionally charged vocals and an outright refusal to conform to any expectations.
Read More...
Album Review: Black Velvet Butterfly
03 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Black Velvet Butterfly are a one-man band from Auckland featuring James Castady-Kristament. I was intrigued to be sent this as when I looked on their Bandcamp page it said, “It may just well be the coolest thing you’ve heard in the Goth scene since Type O Negative.
Read More...
Bill Angus and the Mighty Ways - Album Review: All Night Before the World Began
01 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Bill had a musical career in England before deciding to do something different, and returned to his roots when he started working in New Zealand. This is his third album.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • DOJA
    Central Cee
  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • I LIKE YOU (A HAPPIER SONG)
    Post Malone And Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem