23 Sep 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Amos/Anon - Album Review: The Empty Afterwards

13 Jul 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Amos/Anon are a Wellington-based project who have been releasing music for more than a decade now. Mind you, if you have not heard of them then that is probably more by design that you may expect, given that on the Bandcamp page it states If you haven't heard of [amos/anon] then the system is working. Go back to sleep. I am sure I have not heard such a self-deprecating artist since Chumbawamba decided to only put negative reviews on their website more than 20 years ago. It is important to understand the thought processes behind this album, which are as follows. The empty afterwards is the moment a song fades away, or the feeling of finishing an album, or what you experience at the moment of death, or the sound of no one listening to a single note you've played, or something else. I put as much effort into writing these songs as people do listening to them. Your perspective will define what that means to you. These songs are bleak, imperfect, passing moments of time, like the person that wrote them. Pointless, and ephemeral. But like you, they are something that has existed.

Musically it hits the themes normally associated with Amos/Anon, namely Gothic and Indie, but while they are indeed both there in abundance, they are not the full picture as there is no doubt that this album contains a great deal of black metal, as well as industrial (thinking here more in the realms of Gridfailure than NIN). The introduction is just that, leading us into Icarus which commences life as a black metal monster before it becomes something even darker as it slows down and becomes almost delicate. There is an additional cymbal on this track outside of those with the drums, and I still cannot make up my mind whether it adds or detracts, as what it does is change the focus and I am sure that is the intent.

There is a real intensity about this album, yet it is also raw, very lo-fi and indie. At times it makes me think of the type of recordings from the early Darkthrone tape years, then at others it is far more polished, and there are some effects and notes which totally change the dynamic. The comment on perspective is an interesting one, as this is something which really does reward those who have an open mind and are willing to walk on a path less travelled, while many others will just not understand what is going on at all.

Throughout the album, the music shifts, and changes, never sticking too long within any particular musical genre, but always with that feeling of bleak depression and loneliness, with vocals that at times can be softly sung and others are shrieked and guttural with sounds that match those the movement. For many this will be a challenging album, yet I found it intriguing and compelling, with the raw production adding a sense of DIY honesty. This is the first I have heard of the band, but with more than 20 releases on Bandcamp I am sure it is not going to be the last.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Amos/Anon

If you haven't heard of Amos/Anon, then everything is fine. The system is working. Keep calm and stop thinking. Close your eyes and let capitalism lull you back into a dreamless slumber.

"...it’s Kiwi from end to end, indie and awesome. The more I listen, the more I want!"

"...unashamedly bolshie and brazen. There is no room for tenderness here."

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Amos/Anon

Releases

The Empty Afterwards
Year: 2021
Type: Album
V H E M T
Year: 2019
Type: EP
Demos
Year: 2017
Type: Album
Postmortem
Year: 2016
Type: EP
Toil On, Poor Heart
Year: 2016
Type: EP
Anomy
Year: 2015
Type: Album
Gothique Doesn't Exist
Year: 2014
Type: EP
Beneath The Pound Of Flesh
Year: 2014
Type: Album
Thanatos
Year: 2013
Type: Album
Songs of a Tortured Soul
Year: 2012
Type: EP
Demos
Year: 2012
Type: Album
Darkness From Light
Year: 2011
Type: Album
My Schizophrenic Acoustic
Year: 2010
Type: EP
theLachrymist
Year: 2009
Type: Album
Systema
Year: 2008
Type: EP
Gothique
Year: 2007
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Album Review: Black Alpine
19 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
The very first time I looked at the cover of this album I was reminded of Deep Purple’s In Rock, as even though that was a stylised version of Mount Rushmore, there we had dudes with long hair playing Seventies hard rock and that is the same here. I mean, we even have aviator sunglasses!
Read More...
Secrets Of The Sun - Album Review: Obon
19 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Obon is the debut album from alternative metal band Secrets of the Sun, a quartet based in Wellington. It has been a while in the making, in that the first single, Suffer With The Moon, was actually released a year ago while Wretched Tracks came out in February: both are included here.
Read More...
Written By Wolves - EP Review: Secrets - The Collab Project
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Since I started writing for New Zealand’s #1 music site, https://www.muzic.
Read More...
Alien Weaponry - Album Review: Tangaroa
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
There is no doubt whatsoever that Alien Weaponry have captured the imagination not only of the New Zealand public, but metalheads worldwide, with their combination of groove and thrash metal mixing with their Maori heritage to create something very special indeed. There really is no other band quite like them, although I do sometimes find myself thinking of the impact of Sepultura and their Roots album, but one does need to remember that was Sepultura’s sixth album, some 12 years after their first release.
Read More...
Domingo Candelario - EP Review: Sin Palabras
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Although there is always a very Cuban base to his music, Domingo has covered many different styles, as he transcends culture and language: music is about expressing emotions honestly and he tries to be as unique as he can.  As a child, his parents listened to a lot of Brazilian music, and he was fascinated by the way they used harmonies: it was so beautifully put together, so soft and in connection with the soul.
Read More...
Glenn Bodger - Album Review: I'll Leave The Light On
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut solo album from Glenn Bodger, who provided most of the instrumentation himself, although he has also been assisted by former Braintree bandmate Darryn Harkness, who helped with additional guitar, bass and keyboards where required. From the gentle, almost cautiously picked acoustic guitar notes on opener I’ll Leave The Light On, we are brought carefully into a world which is dated yet fresh, comfortable but new, as he mixes together different musical elements in an independent, alternative style which is often somehow commercial and others when they are definitely not.
Read More...
Samantha Josephine - EP Review: Fly Bird Fly
15 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Samantha Josephine's six-track Fly Bird Fly EP is less than 13 minutes long, but in many ways that makes total sense, as there is a feeling within this that we are being allowed into a secret and very personal world and that it would be intrusive to stay for too long. One can imagine Samantha performing in a corner, hoping that no-one will see or hear her, and when I read in her bio that only her girlfriend has seen her perform in the last year, and that even she is not allowed to be around when Samantha is writing, then it makes perfect sense.
Read More...
The Night - Single Review: Untouchable
12 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
This cannot be right. According to the information I have in front of me, this Wellington-based band was formed from a group of music students in 2017, started performing live in 2018, and their ages now range from 15 to 18!
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • PEPEHA
    Six60
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
  • FAIR TRADE
    Drake feat. Travis Scott
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem