29 May 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Amos/Anon - Album Review: The Empty Afterwards

13 Jul 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Amos/Anon are a Wellington-based project who have been releasing music for more than a decade now. Mind you, if you have not heard of them then that is probably more by design that you may expect, given that on the Bandcamp page it states If you haven't heard of [amos/anon] then the system is working. Go back to sleep. I am sure I have not heard such a self-deprecating artist since Chumbawamba decided to only put negative reviews on their website more than 20 years ago. It is important to understand the thought processes behind this album, which are as follows. The empty afterwards is the moment a song fades away, or the feeling of finishing an album, or what you experience at the moment of death, or the sound of no one listening to a single note you've played, or something else. I put as much effort into writing these songs as people do listening to them. Your perspective will define what that means to you. These songs are bleak, imperfect, passing moments of time, like the person that wrote them. Pointless, and ephemeral. But like you, they are something that has existed.

Musically it hits the themes normally associated with Amos/Anon, namely Gothic and Indie, but while they are indeed both there in abundance, they are not the full picture as there is no doubt that this album contains a great deal of black metal, as well as industrial (thinking here more in the realms of Gridfailure than NIN). The introduction is just that, leading us into Icarus which commences life as a black metal monster before it becomes something even darker as it slows down and becomes almost delicate. There is an additional cymbal on this track outside of those with the drums, and I still cannot make up my mind whether it adds or detracts, as what it does is change the focus and I am sure that is the intent.

There is a real intensity about this album, yet it is also raw, very lo-fi and indie. At times it makes me think of the type of recordings from the early Darkthrone tape years, then at others it is far more polished, and there are some effects and notes which totally change the dynamic. The comment on perspective is an interesting one, as this is something which really does reward those who have an open mind and are willing to walk on a path less travelled, while many others will just not understand what is going on at all.

Throughout the album, the music shifts, and changes, never sticking too long within any particular musical genre, but always with that feeling of bleak depression and loneliness, with vocals that at times can be softly sung and others are shrieked and guttural with sounds that match those the movement. For many this will be a challenging album, yet I found it intriguing and compelling, with the raw production adding a sense of DIY honesty. This is the first I have heard of the band, but with more than 20 releases on Bandcamp I am sure it is not going to be the last.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Amos/Anon

If you haven't heard of Amos/Anon, then everything is fine. The system is working. Keep calm and stop thinking. Close your eyes and let capitalism lull you back into a dreamless slumber.

"...it’s Kiwi from end to end, indie and awesome. The more I listen, the more I want!"

"...unashamedly bolshie and brazen. There is no room for tenderness here."

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Amos/Anon

Releases

The Empty Afterwards
Year: 2021
Type: Album
V H E M T
Year: 2019
Type: EP
Demos
Year: 2017
Type: Album
Postmortem
Year: 2016
Type: EP
Toil On, Poor Heart
Year: 2016
Type: EP
Anomy
Year: 2015
Type: Album
Gothique Doesn't Exist
Year: 2014
Type: EP
Beneath The Pound Of Flesh
Year: 2014
Type: Album
Thanatos
Year: 2013
Type: Album
Songs of a Tortured Soul
Year: 2012
Type: EP
Demos
Year: 2012
Type: Album
Darkness From Light
Year: 2011
Type: Album
My Schizophrenic Acoustic
Year: 2010
Type: EP
theLachrymist
Year: 2009
Type: Album
Systema
Year: 2008
Type: EP
Gothique
Year: 2007
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Daniel Armstrong & The Monsoons @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 27/05/2022
27 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Only a few weeks back I was saying I had not been to Tuning Fork for well over a year, and now here I was back again, this time to see a three-band line-up which was due to start at 8:00 pm with the last band due on at 9:30 which is a very sensible state of affairs if you ask me! First up was Ripship who comprise Callum Lincoln (guitar, vocals, loops) and Eva-Rae McLean (drums, vocals).
Read More...
Torn Chorus - Single Review: The Meaning of Light/Rhythm of Sound
26 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Torn Chorus is Franklin Davis, an Auckland-based songwriter, musician, and photographer, who provides bass, various guitars, and vocals. This is about how he perceives the world through light and sound, as a photographer and musician.
Read More...
Moofish - Single/Video Review: Ash Tree Lament
26 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I must confess to knowing very little about MOoFiSh apart from that they are a duo of Rhonda Hofmans Johnson and Chris Fish Johnson, and while Rhonda is the lead singer I don’t know if they create all the music themselves or if other musicians are involved. They have been releasing music since 2018, and my first thought on playing on this was “how on earth am I going to be able to describe this”?
Read More...
Shadowcaster - Single Review: Cast a Shadow
26 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Although there is a band when it comes to performing live, in the studio Shadowcaster is a one-man affair with Trent Graham performing all manner of guitars and some keyboards. While it contains elements of the likes of Mumford & Sons there is also a very definite nod to The Levellers and our very own Albi & The Wolves (although with no violin).
Read More...
STATES - Single/Video Review: Hostage
26 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It has been a year since States released their last single, Relentless, but they were caught up in the COVID lockdowns and even though they recorded drum tracks at the end of 2020 they were unable to complete the songs. However, they are in the studio right now with Zorran Mendonsa (Devilskin, Coridian, City of Souls, Blacklistt) and hopefully they will be releasing material throughout the rest of the year as if this is anything to go by then we are on for a treat.
Read More...
Michael Signal - Single Review: Magnetism
25 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Now, I must confess to being as much a fan of short song as I am of long ones and given how much I listen to Napalm Death that is probably a good thing. But all short songs I know tend to fall into one of two camps, in that they are either complete in their own right (and are generally brutal), or are introductory tasters for a longer piece of music and I cannot help but feel that what we have here is the latter and my only complaint is that it stops after 90 seconds and I feel somewhat bereft.
Read More...
Max Hill - Album Review: M.H.
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Max Hill (they/them) originally started as Slow Rage, which became a duo with the addition of drummer Sam Hatley, building quite a reputation in the all-ages scene. However, like many other musicians they decided to make the most of the first lockdown in 2020 and started work on what would turn out to be a totally solo album recorded in their bedroom.
Read More...
Stephen McDaid - Album Review: Trail Maps
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut solo album from Stephen McDaid, who has been somewhat busy helping out his in-law’s by playing on both Guy Hobson and Kay Duncan’s recent releases, but now he has found time to go out on his own. Given that he has been adding guitar to both those other albums it is no surprise that this is the primary instrument, but here it is an acoustic which is the perfect accompaniment to his strong vocals.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • LATE NIGHT TALKING
    Harry Styles
  • MATILDA
    Harry Styles
  • MUSIC FOR A SUSHI RESTAURANT
    Harry Styles
  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • N95
    Kendrick Lamar
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem