10 Aug 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
  • Articles »
  • Reviews »
  • Burn the Bridges - Gig Review: Burn The Bridges w/ Bianca Rae @ The Portland, Auckland - 10/07/2021

Burn the Bridges - Gig Review: Burn The Bridges w/ Bianca Rae @ The Portland, Auckland - 10/07/2021

11 Jul 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

The world of reviewers is a small one, and many of us are in touch with others in all parts of the world, and it is through this network that I know Nick Hudson, a Dunedin lad who writes for The Progressive Aspect and now resides in the UK. He in turn introduced me to Linz Eel, a well-known musician who is back in NZ after spending some time overseas, and at the beginning of the week he in turn contacted me to ask would it be possible for me to go and review a young singer-songwriter? While being asked to review gigs is nothing new, it is quite uncommon for someone to make direct contact with me who isn’t in the band themselves, so I was intrigued. I was supposed to be at another gig last night, but as those plans fell through, I thought why not? I confess to not getting over to Avondale very often, but perhaps next time if I am reviewing a gig in the area on the same night the All Blacks are playing, and every pub is full of people watching the game, then I will leave earlier.

I eventually found somewhere to park made my way into The Portland and was somewhat surprised to see it was a small pub filled with tables and a stage in the corner. I made a beeline for the stage and was soon chatting to Bianca Rae, who was so grateful that I had come to see her play. Of course, I never go to a gig and review just one of the bands playing and had also been in touch with Burn The Bridges and she introduced me to those guys as well. We had some wonderful conversations about music, and people we both knew, and this all went on somewhat longer that it should have as the sound engineer was not here yet. The band were supposed to load in and soundcheck at 8, but here we were at 9 and it still had not happened. Fortunately, when he did arrive, he was quick, and it meant we were set to go at 9:30. I was sat on a small stool right in front of the stage, used a chair in front of me as a table and decided I was not going to move even when all the other tables and chairs were taken away. This meant I was right against the stage, with people dancing and going crazy around me, but I think I only got hit two or three times, beer spilled on my back once, while one guy thought I had amazing handwriting (you’re kidding, right?) and another shook my hand when he discovered I was reviewing.

There is something special about one person and a guitar, and it takes some guts to get up and play in a pub when no-one is really paying any attention. Bianca has an interesting approach in that she does a cover as a first song, knowing that in many ways it is a throwaway number but gets people to pay attention to her so that she can then play her own material, which I thought was a very good ploy indeed. Bianca exudes confidence and self-belief, and deservedly so as her vocals have far more age and beauty in them than one would expect from someone so young. She has worked with Burn The Bridges previously, so much so that they sent her the bones of a song they had been working on and asked her if she wanted to do something with it, and this was her first real number of the night, Gypsy. Her vocals have an edge to them, they are strong and clear with a great deal of restrained power behind them. I later discovered she and Emily Rice of Aro are friends and first met up in Berlin when they were both overseas, and like Emily she also uses a device to generate her own harmonies. But she uses it very sparingly indeed, which means that when it comes in it has great effect. I also liked the fact that instead of using a dynamic and driving stomp box in a way similar to the likes of Chris Dent (Albi & the Wolves) she uses one which is a tambourine. I don’t know how many could really hear that away from the stage, but I felt it added some nice finesses and polish. She also uses quite a lot of reverbs on the vocals, and I certainly felt I was being drawn into a musical spell.

Flower has some nice fingerpicking, but the guitar is always just there as an accompaniment for her wonderful vocals and songs. This one has a nice folky roots side to it, with hints of singer-songwriter and Americana. I also felt there were times when she was hitting the chords quite hard on this one, and that strike provided a stark harshness and additional dynamic. The Wolf was one of the highlights of the set and has a powerful singalong chorus and is full of energy. All her songs are full of hooks and really grab the listener, but it is her vocals which really reels the listener in. She invited drummer Sam Bennett to the stage for Summer Loving, and it was interesting to hear the change in dynamic. The kick drum made quite a difference, but she lifted her voice and easily cut through. She was back on her own for Sundown which sadly was the end of the set, which had to be cut short due to time constraints, and yet again she was full of passion and power. I came away immensely impressed and look forward to hearing her again in a much larger setting with a much longer set and I am sure it is not going to be long before that happens.

Then it was time for Burn The Bridges, yet another band new to me (one thing about writing for www.muzic.net.nz for the last year has proved to me just how little I know about the NZ scene, but I am making up for lost time). They have released material on both Bandcamp and Spotify (where they have just made some more songs available), and have been a gigging band for some time, both in their own right and supporting the likes of Albi & The Wolves. Something I noticed from the off was that their setlist tonight was incredibly long for an originals show in this type of setting, but bassist Matthew Piggott told me this had been requested by the venue. Still, they were playing 17 songs which was about 90 minutes in length, so quite something in a pub. The quartet is completed by singer/guitarist Caleb Green and C.P. Moore (Rhodes, piano), who was situated on the floor as the stage was really only big enough for a drumkit and two other musicians.

They describe their music as “Americana meets Kiwiana. Playing a mix of country, blues, soul and folk, sometimes with a touch of New Zealand reggae sound”, but it would possibly be easier to just describe much of their influences in a much shorter manner, just say The Band. While I have always loved Bob Dylan and have even had the misfortune to see him in concert (he was awful), if I am going to put on an album of his for sheer listening pleasure then it will be Before The Flood, the live album they did together. There is something about the power of that unit which cannot be matched, but tonight here was a band taking huge elements of that and doing it in their own way and having fun while they were doing it. A good band is one which is better than the sum of its individual components, and what we witnessed tonight were four wonderful musicians who when they combine take it to a whole new level. Matthew is the one who keeps it grounded, always playing the right measured note while also providing wonderful harmony vocals, drummer Sam is constantly changing his approach and sticks to provide different sounds, the dapper Mr Moore (love the hat) has a delicate touch on electric piano which sounds both dated and modern, while Caleb is always in the moment. There were times tonight when he seemed lost in the music, concentrating on the vocals, and not even bothering with the guitar. Having a real pianist allows the band to switch and move, as the songs often have a different base, with the keyboards sometimes driving the melody, at others they are in harmony, while others they are in the background waiting to come forward.

Right from the beginning the music got people moving, and as the set progressed, they only got more and more frantic (I was keeping a close eye on one guy next to me as I was sure I was going to get glassed at one point as he was so into the music). The rhythm section provides a solid foundation for the two melodic leads to do their thing, always with that early Seventies Americana style, and I think everyone chuckled when some wag in the audience cried out “More cowbell!”. The guys are obviously incredibly comfortable with each other, in the manner which only comes from playing together repeatedly. The vocals were extremely good throughout, and the harmonies worked very well indeed, with songs such as Honey really building with the drums taking it on and the bass keeping it centred. At times Caleb switched to acoustic, and it was here that the Americana bent became even more prevalent, although it never went too far away. There was just one cover in the set, Charlie Parr’s 1922 Blues, where Sam started with a shaker, then brought in the kick drum, and by the end was belting the kit as the song just kept building. In many ways this felt quite different to their own material but was a great fit in the set. Notebooks was one of the highlights for me, another slow burner with the piano holding the melody. At the end of the lengthy set they were of course called back and closed with the high energy Take You Out, and left with the crowd baying for more.

It was a heck of a night, and I am really glad I made the effort to get out there and will definitely catch both these acts again.   


Photo Credit: Kev Rowland

 

 

About Burn the Bridges

Americana meets Kiwiana. Playing a mix of country, blues, soul and folk, sometimes with a touch of New Zealand reggae sound.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Burn the Bridges

Releases

There are no releases to display for Burn the Bridges.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Oliver Birch - Album Review: Burning Daylight
05 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This is the debut album from Auckland musician, Oliver Birch, although older versions of many of the songs contained within have already been made available as singles. When the album started with the lengthy keyboard chords and feedback intro I thought it would fall into krautrock, but instead it quickly changed into a psychedelic experimental art rock number with emotionally charged vocals and an outright refusal to conform to any expectations.
Read More...
Album Review: Black Velvet Butterfly
03 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Black Velvet Butterfly are a one-man band from Auckland featuring James Castady-Kristament. I was intrigued to be sent this as when I looked on their Bandcamp page it said, “It may just well be the coolest thing you’ve heard in the Goth scene since Type O Negative.
Read More...
Bill Angus and the Mighty Ways - Album Review: All Night Before the World Began
01 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Bill had a musical career in England before deciding to do something different, and returned to his roots when he started working in New Zealand. This is his third album.
Read More...
Gig Review: Antagonist A.D. @ Galatos, Auckland - 30/07/2022
31 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Once more into the breach dear friends, as I made my way into the city for the third night in a row. I knew this was going to be the most dramatic gig of the week and was one I had been looking forward to for months.
Read More...
Gig Review: Reb Fountain @ Town Hall, Auckland - 29/07/2022
30 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Back into central Auckland for the second consecutive evening, this time to see an artist for whom I have great admiration for the first time, and whose latest album, Iris, was rightfully in my Top Ten of 2021. Until last month it had been years since I had been in Auckland Town Hall for a gig, but here I was again, this time for one of the series of Auckland Elemental events, and I could see lighting gantries across much of the venue so knew we were in for quite some night.
Read More...
Gig Review: Capital Theatre @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 28/07/2022
28 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Down to the Tuning Fork on a school night, whatever next?! Mind you, it was for a special occasion as Capital Theatre were back in town and it has been way too long since I last saw them play (thanks Covid).
Read More...
Infinity Ritual - EP Review: Infinity Ritual
28 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut EP from New Plymouth trio Adam Colless (guitars, vocals), Jason Karam (bass, vocals, mellotron) and Mark Thomas (drums and percussion). The four songs, 23 minutes in length, show a band who are bringing together groove metal with stoner, displaying plenty of bottom end with rich distortion.
Read More...
Sea Mouse - EP Review: Evil Heart
27 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There is a time in many music lover’s lives when they finally fall into the caress of the blues. Everyone has their own genre they prefer, but the best blues is that which really calls to the listener on an emotional level, and for me that means two very different strands, and my favourite depends on what I am feeling like on any particular day.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DOJA
    Central Cee
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • I LIKE YOU (A HAPPIER SONG)
    Post Malone And Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem