10 Aug 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Knids - Album Review: One Small Step for Man, One Giant Leap for Manknid

06 Jul 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

I must confess that when punk first started rearing its ugly head in 1976, I was not a huge fan, as while the energy was interesting, too many songs sounded as if they had been created by people who had no musical ability or ideas whatsoever. What was way more fascinating to me was what came out slightly afterwards, the independent alternative scene, where the only commonality between bands was the DIY ethic. Some bands shot up like rockets, and exploded just as spectacularly, while some were slow burners and others never made it off the ground at all. I was only aware of the UK bands back then, and it was only in later years that I discovered the CBGB bands, and often found their earlier recordings to be far more interesting than what they turned into in later years.

So, what am I getting to? Simply put, this album by The Knids (they are of course named after Roald Dahl’s Vermicious Kind) is an absolute delight from the beginning to the end, and it typifies so much of that period in the late Seventies when anything was possible, as for the first time music started to belong in the hands of musicians as opposed to greedy corporations who wanted to siphon off all self-expression, leave the music makers penniless, and grow rich and bloated on their corpses (much like today then). There are 17 songs on this album, and one never knows what is coming next as the only commonality are the three musicians involved, Michael Baxter, Corinne Rutherford and Chris Shennen. Michael provided all the songs, apart from two where the lyrics are by Corinne, and the three all share lead and backing vocals.

At times we head back into the Sixties, where songs such as You’d Waste It could easily have come from the early psychedelic period of Pink Floyd, while others have more in keeping with Elvis Costello, and others Nick Lowe, but all in that indie vein. The opening simplistic Rotten Vermicious Knids does not really give a full idea of what is to come, but with When Opposites Collided I was immediately drawn in by the sheer depth and quality. We go through rock ‘n’ roll, proper New York-style punk and so much more in this 53-minute-long album, all with that wonderful independent alternative bent and the first time I played this I was so disappointed when it finished that I put it straight back on again! This is wonderfully compulsive listening which is putting two fingers up to the establishment and what people think belongs on the radio, and instead delivers hook after hook and is both engrossing and compelling. This may not be the mainstream path taken by so many, but the common way is often the most boring and sanitized, and this is definitely neither of those things.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About The Knids

The Knids are Michael Baxter, Corinne Rutherford and Chris Sheenan. Rescuing songs destined for the cutting room floor from various other original creative musical projects. Loosely classifying themselves as low-fi indie rock, there may be something else in their mix which will surprise you. Sit back. Have a listen, and prepare yourselves for a new experience.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Knids

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Oliver Birch - Album Review: Burning Daylight
05 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This is the debut album from Auckland musician, Oliver Birch, although older versions of many of the songs contained within have already been made available as singles. When the album started with the lengthy keyboard chords and feedback intro I thought it would fall into krautrock, but instead it quickly changed into a psychedelic experimental art rock number with emotionally charged vocals and an outright refusal to conform to any expectations.
Read More...
Album Review: Black Velvet Butterfly
03 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Black Velvet Butterfly are a one-man band from Auckland featuring James Castady-Kristament. I was intrigued to be sent this as when I looked on their Bandcamp page it said, “It may just well be the coolest thing you’ve heard in the Goth scene since Type O Negative.
Read More...
Bill Angus and the Mighty Ways - Album Review: All Night Before the World Began
01 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Bill had a musical career in England before deciding to do something different, and returned to his roots when he started working in New Zealand. This is his third album.
Read More...
Gig Review: Antagonist A.D. @ Galatos, Auckland - 30/07/2022
31 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Once more into the breach dear friends, as I made my way into the city for the third night in a row. I knew this was going to be the most dramatic gig of the week and was one I had been looking forward to for months.
Read More...
Gig Review: Reb Fountain @ Town Hall, Auckland - 29/07/2022
30 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Back into central Auckland for the second consecutive evening, this time to see an artist for whom I have great admiration for the first time, and whose latest album, Iris, was rightfully in my Top Ten of 2021. Until last month it had been years since I had been in Auckland Town Hall for a gig, but here I was again, this time for one of the series of Auckland Elemental events, and I could see lighting gantries across much of the venue so knew we were in for quite some night.
Read More...
Gig Review: Capital Theatre @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 28/07/2022
28 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Down to the Tuning Fork on a school night, whatever next?! Mind you, it was for a special occasion as Capital Theatre were back in town and it has been way too long since I last saw them play (thanks Covid).
Read More...
Infinity Ritual - EP Review: Infinity Ritual
28 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut EP from New Plymouth trio Adam Colless (guitars, vocals), Jason Karam (bass, vocals, mellotron) and Mark Thomas (drums and percussion). The four songs, 23 minutes in length, show a band who are bringing together groove metal with stoner, displaying plenty of bottom end with rich distortion.
Read More...
Sea Mouse - EP Review: Evil Heart
27 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There is a time in many music lover’s lives when they finally fall into the caress of the blues. Everyone has their own genre they prefer, but the best blues is that which really calls to the listener on an emotional level, and for me that means two very different strands, and my favourite depends on what I am feeling like on any particular day.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DOJA
    Central Cee
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • I LIKE YOU (A HAPPIER SONG)
    Post Malone And Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem