30 Jan 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Knids - Album Review: One Small Step for Man, One Giant Leap for Manknid

06 Jul 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

I must confess that when punk first started rearing its ugly head in 1976, I was not a huge fan, as while the energy was interesting, too many songs sounded as if they had been created by people who had no musical ability or ideas whatsoever. What was way more fascinating to me was what came out slightly afterwards, the independent alternative scene, where the only commonality between bands was the DIY ethic. Some bands shot up like rockets, and exploded just as spectacularly, while some were slow burners and others never made it off the ground at all. I was only aware of the UK bands back then, and it was only in later years that I discovered the CBGB bands, and often found their earlier recordings to be far more interesting than what they turned into in later years.

So, what am I getting to? Simply put, this album by The Knids (they are of course named after Roald Dahl’s Vermicious Kind) is an absolute delight from the beginning to the end, and it typifies so much of that period in the late Seventies when anything was possible, as for the first time music started to belong in the hands of musicians as opposed to greedy corporations who wanted to siphon off all self-expression, leave the music makers penniless, and grow rich and bloated on their corpses (much like today then). There are 17 songs on this album, and one never knows what is coming next as the only commonality are the three musicians involved, Michael Baxter, Corinne Rutherford and Chris Shennen. Michael provided all the songs, apart from two where the lyrics are by Corinne, and the three all share lead and backing vocals.

At times we head back into the Sixties, where songs such as You’d Waste It could easily have come from the early psychedelic period of Pink Floyd, while others have more in keeping with Elvis Costello, and others Nick Lowe, but all in that indie vein. The opening simplistic Rotten Vermicious Knids does not really give a full idea of what is to come, but with When Opposites Collided I was immediately drawn in by the sheer depth and quality. We go through rock ‘n’ roll, proper New York-style punk and so much more in this 53-minute-long album, all with that wonderful independent alternative bent and the first time I played this I was so disappointed when it finished that I put it straight back on again! This is wonderfully compulsive listening which is putting two fingers up to the establishment and what people think belongs on the radio, and instead delivers hook after hook and is both engrossing and compelling. This may not be the mainstream path taken by so many, but the common way is often the most boring and sanitized, and this is definitely neither of those things.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About The Knids

The Knids are Michael Baxter, Corinne Rutherford and Chris Sheenan. Rescuing songs destined for the cutting room floor from various other original creative musical projects. Loosely classifying themselves as low-fi indie rock, there may be something else in their mix which will surprise you. Sit back. Have a listen, and prepare yourselves for a new experience.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Knids

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

The Sam Loveridge Band - Album Review: Recovery
27 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Some albums are intense, some are incredibly hard work and only open up (sometimes, if at all) after a great many plays, and others will never be destined for mainstream radio play as there is nothing there to attract the masses. Then there are albums like this one, where all you need to do is check out the cover to have an idea of what it is going to be like inside.
Read More...
Melanie - EP Review: ABCD
25 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Since releasing their debut EP back in 2018, Auckland pop/punk outfit Melanie have been making quite a name for themselves in the old-fashioned way of doing things, namely playing anywhere and everywhere, and having total belief in themselves and their music. When I first saw them, I was impressed that here was an unsigned band who had invested in having their debut album pressed in vinyl and had a few different t-shirts available as well as some other merch including stickers.
Read More...
Gig Review: Checaine & After Forever @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 22/01/2022
23 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
As normal I got in early to the venue, then soon left again to have a beer up the road with the guys from Checaine. I was mightily impressed as they had brought a bus up from Hamilton with a load of fans onboard – one way of guaranteeing playing in a strange town in front of a friendly crowd.
Read More...
Gig Review: Blindfolded and Led To The Woods @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 15/01/2022
16 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I have been looking forward to tonight for ages, as Auckland went into lockdown in August with all gigs being cancelled until just before Christmas, and even then, that was with limited attendance. This means that tonight was going to be my first gig in five months, and given that I covered more than 30 in the first part of the year, that was some cold turkey.
Read More...
Fool's Lagoon - Single Review: Bizarre
13 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Bizarre is the debut single from Auckland-based quintet Fool’s Lagoon. Mark, Connor, Joe, Matt and Joshua have created a bright and summery indie pop jangler which is heavily guitar-based yet is somehow light and airy throughout.
Read More...
Powder Chutes - EP Review: Sweet Noise Pollution
11 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There is always that little hint of concern when reading a press release for a new EP and realise it contains a quote from yours truly for the single which was taken from it. How would they take it this time around if I panned this release?
Read More...
Tall Folk - Album Review: Wiser
11 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
2021 was a wonderful musical adventure for me as I threw myself into the NZ music scene, and towards the end of the year I realised that with nearly 200 reviews of local music I really should work out my Top 10 singles, EP’s, albums and gigs (check out https://www.muzic.
Read More...
Pass The Peas - EP Review: Pop
06 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This three-track EP is the latest release from Poneke-based quintet Pass The Peas, who describe their music as Wasabi spicy Rock n' Roll, whatever that means. To my ears it means they play mid-paced alternative pop rock with a strong concentration on the gravelly and emotional vocals of Kurt with loads of space within the arrangements, which are well-produced.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DOWN UNDER
    Luude feat. Colin Hay
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • MR REGGAE
    L.A.B.
  • ABCDEFU
    GAYLE
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • WE DON'T TALK ABOUT BRUNO
    Various
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem