23 Sep 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Knids - Album Review: One Small Step for Man, One Giant Leap for Manknid

06 Jul 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

I must confess that when punk first started rearing its ugly head in 1976, I was not a huge fan, as while the energy was interesting, too many songs sounded as if they had been created by people who had no musical ability or ideas whatsoever. What was way more fascinating to me was what came out slightly afterwards, the independent alternative scene, where the only commonality between bands was the DIY ethic. Some bands shot up like rockets, and exploded just as spectacularly, while some were slow burners and others never made it off the ground at all. I was only aware of the UK bands back then, and it was only in later years that I discovered the CBGB bands, and often found their earlier recordings to be far more interesting than what they turned into in later years.

So, what am I getting to? Simply put, this album by The Knids (they are of course named after Roald Dahl’s Vermicious Kind) is an absolute delight from the beginning to the end, and it typifies so much of that period in the late Seventies when anything was possible, as for the first time music started to belong in the hands of musicians as opposed to greedy corporations who wanted to siphon off all self-expression, leave the music makers penniless, and grow rich and bloated on their corpses (much like today then). There are 17 songs on this album, and one never knows what is coming next as the only commonality are the three musicians involved, Michael Baxter, Corinne Rutherford and Chris Shennen. Michael provided all the songs, apart from two where the lyrics are by Corinne, and the three all share lead and backing vocals.

At times we head back into the Sixties, where songs such as You’d Waste It could easily have come from the early psychedelic period of Pink Floyd, while others have more in keeping with Elvis Costello, and others Nick Lowe, but all in that indie vein. The opening simplistic Rotten Vermicious Knids does not really give a full idea of what is to come, but with When Opposites Collided I was immediately drawn in by the sheer depth and quality. We go through rock ‘n’ roll, proper New York-style punk and so much more in this 53-minute-long album, all with that wonderful independent alternative bent and the first time I played this I was so disappointed when it finished that I put it straight back on again! This is wonderfully compulsive listening which is putting two fingers up to the establishment and what people think belongs on the radio, and instead delivers hook after hook and is both engrossing and compelling. This may not be the mainstream path taken by so many, but the common way is often the most boring and sanitized, and this is definitely neither of those things.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About The Knids

The Knids are Michael Baxter, Corinne Rutherford and Chris Sheenan. Rescuing songs destined for the cutting room floor from various other original creative musical projects. Loosely classifying themselves as low-fi indie rock, there may be something else in their mix which will surprise you. Sit back. Have a listen, and prepare yourselves for a new experience.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Knids

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Album Review: Black Alpine
19 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
The very first time I looked at the cover of this album I was reminded of Deep Purple’s In Rock, as even though that was a stylised version of Mount Rushmore, there we had dudes with long hair playing Seventies hard rock and that is the same here. I mean, we even have aviator sunglasses!
Read More...
Secrets Of The Sun - Album Review: Obon
19 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Obon is the debut album from alternative metal band Secrets of the Sun, a quartet based in Wellington. It has been a while in the making, in that the first single, Suffer With The Moon, was actually released a year ago while Wretched Tracks came out in February: both are included here.
Read More...
Written By Wolves - EP Review: Secrets - The Collab Project
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Since I started writing for New Zealand’s #1 music site, https://www.muzic.
Read More...
Alien Weaponry - Album Review: Tangaroa
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
There is no doubt whatsoever that Alien Weaponry have captured the imagination not only of the New Zealand public, but metalheads worldwide, with their combination of groove and thrash metal mixing with their Maori heritage to create something very special indeed. There really is no other band quite like them, although I do sometimes find myself thinking of the impact of Sepultura and their Roots album, but one does need to remember that was Sepultura’s sixth album, some 12 years after their first release.
Read More...
Domingo Candelario - EP Review: Sin Palabras
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Although there is always a very Cuban base to his music, Domingo has covered many different styles, as he transcends culture and language: music is about expressing emotions honestly and he tries to be as unique as he can.  As a child, his parents listened to a lot of Brazilian music, and he was fascinated by the way they used harmonies: it was so beautifully put together, so soft and in connection with the soul.
Read More...
Glenn Bodger - Album Review: I'll Leave The Light On
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut solo album from Glenn Bodger, who provided most of the instrumentation himself, although he has also been assisted by former Braintree bandmate Darryn Harkness, who helped with additional guitar, bass and keyboards where required. From the gentle, almost cautiously picked acoustic guitar notes on opener I’ll Leave The Light On, we are brought carefully into a world which is dated yet fresh, comfortable but new, as he mixes together different musical elements in an independent, alternative style which is often somehow commercial and others when they are definitely not.
Read More...
Samantha Josephine - EP Review: Fly Bird Fly
15 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Samantha Josephine's six-track Fly Bird Fly EP is less than 13 minutes long, but in many ways that makes total sense, as there is a feeling within this that we are being allowed into a secret and very personal world and that it would be intrusive to stay for too long. One can imagine Samantha performing in a corner, hoping that no-one will see or hear her, and when I read in her bio that only her girlfriend has seen her perform in the last year, and that even she is not allowed to be around when Samantha is writing, then it makes perfect sense.
Read More...
The Night - Single Review: Untouchable
12 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
This cannot be right. According to the information I have in front of me, this Wellington-based band was formed from a group of music students in 2017, started performing live in 2018, and their ages now range from 15 to 18!
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • PEPEHA
    Six60
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
  • FAIR TRADE
    Drake feat. Travis Scott
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem