23 Sep 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Infinity Chamber - Various Artists - Reflections of the Infinity Chamber

01 Jul 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Dylan Paul Ware was born and raised in New Zealand, and was exposed to music from a young age as his father was a radio rock journalist who interviewed the likes of Chuck Berry. At home there was a massive record collection, and consequently his tastes in music are very broad indeed (I read a fascinating interview where he lists his favourite albums as Dire Straits’ debut album, NIN’s The Downward Spiral, The Beatle’s Abbey Road, CCR’s Bayou Country, ACDC’s Powerage, Simon & Garfunkle’s The Sounds of Silence, Bob Dylan’s Bootleg Series #4 1966 Royal Albert Hall Concert 1966 Disk: 1. Metallica’s Master of Puppets, Pink Floyd’s Atom Heart Mother, Led Zep IV, Bert & John, and Tom Waits’ Rain Dogs, quite a mix). He picked up a guitar at the age of 11, and just 8 years later he decided home was too quiet and he would take his guitar and travel. More than a decade ago he settled in Istanbul, where he released a couple of albums as The Infinity Chamber, mostly in the folk or alt folk style, until a full band came together for the third release. They were planning for the fourth when they came across a series of issues, not least of which was a certain pandemic.

The line-up had also broken-up by then, so Dylan was wondering what to do when musician friend Simon Dwight suggested why not pull together an album which were all covers of Dylan’s songs? There were already some covers available, and Dylan thought it was an interesting concept so approached a series of musicians asking if they were up for it. The only condition was that they had to record a song released by The Infinity Chamber, but apart from that they could undertake it in any fashion they liked, and there were no limits as to what they could do. It took some time to pull it together, but the result is a 10-track album which comes in at just under 40 minutes.

Having not heard any of the original songs I cannot comment on what changes have been made to the originals, but there is no doubt that my personal favourites are those where it is basically voice and acoustic guitar, and the highlight of these is probably the aforementioned Simon’s take on The Hill, which reminds me somewhat of Nick Harper in the way the guitar is attacked. However, opener Alice by Aysegul Turkoglu has a delicate punkish naive beauty which is incredibly compelling. This type of rendition is quite at odds with some of the others such as The Gates and their version of The Deathcall, which is electro and definitely the sort of music I would listen to for pleasure. There is even a version of No Honey, a single released by The Infinity Chamber only a few months ago, here covered by Utku Uluer with a few guitars.

Unless the listener is already familiar with the material, and is interested in hearing what has been done with it by artists given a totally free rein, then I think it is unlikely they will enjoy the whole album as the styles are incredibly diverse. However, this is definitely worthy of further investigation, and it has certainly piqued my interest in finding out more. I must also mention that Dylan sent me links to various interviews and pieces written on the band, and he has a fascinating story to tell and a compelling way with words.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About The Infinity Chamber

The Infinity Chamber is Istanbul-based New Zealand song-writer and guitarist, Dylan Paul Ware.

Alt-rock, dark indie-folk, & folk-rock music.

Born and raised in New Zealand, Dylan travelled the world hobo-style, sleeping in cemeteries and empty buildings, a sheepskin jacket and a guitar,

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Infinity Chamber

Releases

No Honey (Anymore)
Year: 2021
Type: EP
The Lonely Gnome
Year: 2018
Type: EP
Sand Imaginings
Year: 2017
Type: EP
The Infinity Chamber
Year: 2016
Type: Album
Wolfsongbird
Year: 2012
Type: Album
Dark Wind Songs
Year: 2004
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Album Review: Black Alpine
19 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
The very first time I looked at the cover of this album I was reminded of Deep Purple’s In Rock, as even though that was a stylised version of Mount Rushmore, there we had dudes with long hair playing Seventies hard rock and that is the same here. I mean, we even have aviator sunglasses!
Read More...
Secrets Of The Sun - Album Review: Obon
19 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Obon is the debut album from alternative metal band Secrets of the Sun, a quartet based in Wellington. It has been a while in the making, in that the first single, Suffer With The Moon, was actually released a year ago while Wretched Tracks came out in February: both are included here.
Read More...
Written By Wolves - EP Review: Secrets - The Collab Project
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Since I started writing for New Zealand’s #1 music site, https://www.muzic.
Read More...
Alien Weaponry - Album Review: Tangaroa
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
There is no doubt whatsoever that Alien Weaponry have captured the imagination not only of the New Zealand public, but metalheads worldwide, with their combination of groove and thrash metal mixing with their Maori heritage to create something very special indeed. There really is no other band quite like them, although I do sometimes find myself thinking of the impact of Sepultura and their Roots album, but one does need to remember that was Sepultura’s sixth album, some 12 years after their first release.
Read More...
Domingo Candelario - EP Review: Sin Palabras
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Although there is always a very Cuban base to his music, Domingo has covered many different styles, as he transcends culture and language: music is about expressing emotions honestly and he tries to be as unique as he can.  As a child, his parents listened to a lot of Brazilian music, and he was fascinated by the way they used harmonies: it was so beautifully put together, so soft and in connection with the soul.
Read More...
Glenn Bodger - Album Review: I'll Leave The Light On
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut solo album from Glenn Bodger, who provided most of the instrumentation himself, although he has also been assisted by former Braintree bandmate Darryn Harkness, who helped with additional guitar, bass and keyboards where required. From the gentle, almost cautiously picked acoustic guitar notes on opener I’ll Leave The Light On, we are brought carefully into a world which is dated yet fresh, comfortable but new, as he mixes together different musical elements in an independent, alternative style which is often somehow commercial and others when they are definitely not.
Read More...
Samantha Josephine - EP Review: Fly Bird Fly
15 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Samantha Josephine's six-track Fly Bird Fly EP is less than 13 minutes long, but in many ways that makes total sense, as there is a feeling within this that we are being allowed into a secret and very personal world and that it would be intrusive to stay for too long. One can imagine Samantha performing in a corner, hoping that no-one will see or hear her, and when I read in her bio that only her girlfriend has seen her perform in the last year, and that even she is not allowed to be around when Samantha is writing, then it makes perfect sense.
Read More...
The Night - Single Review: Untouchable
12 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
This cannot be right. According to the information I have in front of me, this Wellington-based band was formed from a group of music students in 2017, started performing live in 2018, and their ages now range from 15 to 18!
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • PEPEHA
    Six60
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
  • FAIR TRADE
    Drake feat. Travis Scott
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem