19 Sep 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Personal Igloo - Single Review: Material Girl

01 Jul 2021 // A review by Peter-James Dries

No. This is not a Madonna cover.

This is the sound of New Zealand summer, six months too late.

Such is the Personal Igloo sound. Summery that is, not late. Despite sporting a title straight from the 80s, Material Girl feels as fresh and new as Madonna did when she first donned her once infamous conical brassiere.

Narrowly sidestepping a career as a Kings of Leon tribute band, Personal Igloo has taken the bold move of throwing their obvious talent into a more colourful, thriving ball pit. This funk-pop hit is all bouncing bass, funky riffs, and an infectiously danceable beat. Sine waves and sex machines. I can see a twerk of TikTok appendages poking up over the horizon, all of them jelly-wrestling to be the one to make this track trend.

And how about those production values. You’d never know that this Personal Igloo is a bedroom producer. A song made for the bedroom, maybe. A song made in the bedroom; this is impressive. There’s a remarkable attention to detail here. Like the subtle solo, that could have easily been overdone, or the finger picking in the calm before the final chorus. The song would be fine enough without the little flourishes, but is all the better because of them.  

Five of five stars. Now, let's see you do it again.

You can find Material Girl most places you find music now days. But here it is on Spotify.

Be sure to check out their… uh… sexy(?) new video on YouTube too.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Personal Igloo

If Kings of Leon and Still Woozg hooked up one night and made a baby, that baby might sound something like Personal Igloo.

Personal Igloo is the solo project of Auckland based song writer/producer, Hamish Nixon

Personal Igloo's chill and unique sound blends a variety of alternative pop and RnB influences with soulful, raspy vocals. Keep an eye out for Personal Igloo's upcoming live shows coming 2021!

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Personal Igloo

Releases

Phone-In Serotonin
Year: 2020
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Peter-James Dries

Comf - Single Review: Do You Feat. Ilena
12 Sep 2021 // by Peter-James Dries
Water, Clay, and Ceramic. If the sonic possibilities of these three textures are the question, then Comf’s triptych of EPs, The Texture Tapes, are the proposed hypothesis.
Read More...
Hazza Making Noise - EP Review: Vengeful Millennial
05 Sep 2021 // by Peter-James Dries
You’re sitting in an average suburban home. A family is sitting at the dinner table in front of you.
Read More...
Scalper - Single Review: Silence Speaks
24 Jul 2021 // by Peter-James Dries
Hard to believe it’s been seven years since I heard my first Scalper track My Blood Your Blood. Harder to believe it was only last year I reviewed Scalper’s The Beast & The Beauty.
Read More...
Hazza Making Noise - Single Review: NoMoreGaps
16 Mar 2021 // by Peter-James Dries
I sometimes wonder what would have happened if Kurt Cobain survived. Would he have kept making music and what would it sound like?
Read More...
You, Me, Everybody - Album Review: Southern Sky
16 Feb 2021 // by Peter-James Dries
Deep within the matryoshka doll that is the country genre is a bluegrass doll in cosplay. Sitting on the fire escape of a rundown apartment building, dry buck wheat stem between its teeth, and a rock band shirt, progressive bluegrass is the genre that ran away from its home in the Appalachians and fell in with a different crowd.
Read More...
Kev Rowland - Book Review: The Progressive Underground vol 1 - 3
27 Jan 2021 // by Peter-James Dries
It is an odd circumstance, to be in the position of reviewing reviews. Reviews are one person’s personal, subjective opinion.
Read More...
Scalper - Album Review: The Beast and The Beauty
20 Nov 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
I have reviewed more releases than I have patience to count. Many of the musicians I’ve heard have disappeared from my consciousness and the scene soon after, but there are a few that make such an impression that they stick with me.
Read More...
The Hopkinsville Goblins - Album Review: Hit The # Key
24 Oct 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
“Little Green Men Harass Kentucky Farm Family”. A headline that captured the imaginations of a nation, coined the term for extra-terrestrial visitors, and inspiring Pokemon, films, and musicals.
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter-James Dries

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • PEPEHA
    Six60
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
  • FAIR TRADE
    Drake feat. Travis Scott
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem