10 Aug 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

WHITE NØISE MAFIA - Single/Video Review: The Divide

29 Jun 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Last year I was fortunate enough to see all the heats and one of the semi-finals for the Ding Dong Lounge Battle of the Bands competition and came away incredibly impressed with a band who had formed just in time to play a gig at the venue, and to be then allowed to enter the competition. When they played their heat, I was immediately impressed, as were the judges, and I came away wondering if they were like that at their second ever gig what on earth would they be doing in a few years’ time. That band was of course White Nøise Mafia and I have been lucky enough to see them play a few times since then, and each time they just keep getting better.

At the back sits Neo Lee, one of those drummers who seems to understand innately what he needs to do to add to a song and is prepared to take the lead in certain passages and sit back in the pocket in others. Locked in with him is bassist Matt Sansome, who fronts the cover to the single, someone who understands his role in providing that heavy bottom end which underpins everything the band does, providing that rich contrast. In Matt Holden they have a guitarist who lives and breathes being in a rock band, always with a smile on his face as he crunches out the riffs, and then in the middle of it all is Chris Webb.  Chris never has a hair out of place, unlike young Mr. Holden, always looking smooth and calm until he stands in front of a microphone and then he cranks into the riffs and knows just what to do to drive the audience crazy.

Needless to say, the band not only got through their heat and semi but came away at the end with the top prize, which saw them heading into the studio to record this with Dave Rhodes, after which they filmed a video with Francis Wheeler. The last time I saw them play this song was when they opened at The Tuning Fork (some six months on from forming – their target was 18), as this is what they launched into from the off and within a few bars the stage was being rushed. Chris started playing with his back to the stage and turned around to find they were being mobbed – bear in mind that at that point very few people had seen them play and there was no product available, but there was an immediate connection. Dave Rhodes has an extremely high reputation in the NZ scene, and here he has captured not only the energy of this crunching rock band but allowed the layers to shine through. After a short introduction they are into the groove, but when the verse commences everyone takes a step backwards apart from Neo, who starts pummeling around the kit, which allows the listener to focus on the vocals and lyrics. The riffs come back in for the bridge, and then we are into the commercial chorus where anyone hearing this just has to bounce. The song keeps moving and swirling, so there is a spoken word section which gradually builds and then turns into something which could have almost come out of Meshuggah.

The video for The Divide shows the guys playing the song, but there are multiple cuts all the way through with everyone having their time centre stage in the spotlight, even Neo, at which point the rest of the guys are stood playing behind him. The quick edits and camera movements combine with the dynamic lighting to really capture the energy of this exciting band. This song and video are going to launch this young band to the world, and if they are doing this at less than a year together just what are they going to achieve in the future? Alien Weaponry has shown there is a market for metal from Aotearoa on the international stage, and yet again here we have a ridiculously young band showing that the sky really is the limit.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About WHITE NØISE MAFIA

WHITE NØISE MAFIA is a 4 piece heavy alternative rock band established in July 2020 and based in Auckland, New Zealand. The band strives to put on an all-out show with heavy riffs, crushing beats, booming low end and catchy vocals to hook the listener into their performance. They take inspiration from bands such as Linkin Park, Blindspott, BMTH, Slipknot etc. In the long run they seek to leave a lasting impact on the local scene and make a name for themselves.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for WHITE NØISE MAFIA

Releases

There are no releases to display for WHITE NØISE MAFIA.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Oliver Birch - Album Review: Burning Daylight
05 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This is the debut album from Auckland musician, Oliver Birch, although older versions of many of the songs contained within have already been made available as singles. When the album started with the lengthy keyboard chords and feedback intro I thought it would fall into krautrock, but instead it quickly changed into a psychedelic experimental art rock number with emotionally charged vocals and an outright refusal to conform to any expectations.
Read More...
Album Review: Black Velvet Butterfly
03 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Black Velvet Butterfly are a one-man band from Auckland featuring James Castady-Kristament. I was intrigued to be sent this as when I looked on their Bandcamp page it said, “It may just well be the coolest thing you’ve heard in the Goth scene since Type O Negative.
Read More...
Bill Angus and the Mighty Ways - Album Review: All Night Before the World Began
01 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Bill had a musical career in England before deciding to do something different, and returned to his roots when he started working in New Zealand. This is his third album.
Read More...
Gig Review: Antagonist A.D. @ Galatos, Auckland - 30/07/2022
31 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Once more into the breach dear friends, as I made my way into the city for the third night in a row. I knew this was going to be the most dramatic gig of the week and was one I had been looking forward to for months.
Read More...
Gig Review: Reb Fountain @ Town Hall, Auckland - 29/07/2022
30 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Back into central Auckland for the second consecutive evening, this time to see an artist for whom I have great admiration for the first time, and whose latest album, Iris, was rightfully in my Top Ten of 2021. Until last month it had been years since I had been in Auckland Town Hall for a gig, but here I was again, this time for one of the series of Auckland Elemental events, and I could see lighting gantries across much of the venue so knew we were in for quite some night.
Read More...
Gig Review: Capital Theatre @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 28/07/2022
28 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Down to the Tuning Fork on a school night, whatever next?! Mind you, it was for a special occasion as Capital Theatre were back in town and it has been way too long since I last saw them play (thanks Covid).
Read More...
Infinity Ritual - EP Review: Infinity Ritual
28 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut EP from New Plymouth trio Adam Colless (guitars, vocals), Jason Karam (bass, vocals, mellotron) and Mark Thomas (drums and percussion). The four songs, 23 minutes in length, show a band who are bringing together groove metal with stoner, displaying plenty of bottom end with rich distortion.
Read More...
Sea Mouse - EP Review: Evil Heart
27 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There is a time in many music lover’s lives when they finally fall into the caress of the blues. Everyone has their own genre they prefer, but the best blues is that which really calls to the listener on an emotional level, and for me that means two very different strands, and my favourite depends on what I am feeling like on any particular day.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DOJA
    Central Cee
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • I LIKE YOU (A HAPPIER SONG)
    Post Malone And Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem