27 Nov 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

WHITE NØISE MAFIA - Single/Video Review: The Divide

29 Jun 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Last year I was fortunate enough to see all the heats and one of the semi-finals for the Ding Dong Lounge Battle of the Bands competition and came away incredibly impressed with a band who had formed just in time to play a gig at the venue, and to be then allowed to enter the competition. When they played their heat, I was immediately impressed, as were the judges, and I came away wondering if they were like that at their second ever gig what on earth would they be doing in a few years’ time. That band was of course White Nøise Mafia and I have been lucky enough to see them play a few times since then, and each time they just keep getting better.

At the back sits Neo Lee, one of those drummers who seems to understand innately what he needs to do to add to a song and is prepared to take the lead in certain passages and sit back in the pocket in others. Locked in with him is bassist Matt Sansome, who fronts the cover to the single, someone who understands his role in providing that heavy bottom end which underpins everything the band does, providing that rich contrast. In Matt Holden they have a guitarist who lives and breathes being in a rock band, always with a smile on his face as he crunches out the riffs, and then in the middle of it all is Chris Webb.  Chris never has a hair out of place, unlike young Mr. Holden, always looking smooth and calm until he stands in front of a microphone and then he cranks into the riffs and knows just what to do to drive the audience crazy.

Needless to say, the band not only got through their heat and semi but came away at the end with the top prize, which saw them heading into the studio to record this with Dave Rhodes, after which they filmed a video with Francis Wheeler. The last time I saw them play this song was when they opened at The Tuning Fork (some six months on from forming – their target was 18), as this is what they launched into from the off and within a few bars the stage was being rushed. Chris started playing with his back to the stage and turned around to find they were being mobbed – bear in mind that at that point very few people had seen them play and there was no product available, but there was an immediate connection. Dave Rhodes has an extremely high reputation in the NZ scene, and here he has captured not only the energy of this crunching rock band but allowed the layers to shine through. After a short introduction they are into the groove, but when the verse commences everyone takes a step backwards apart from Neo, who starts pummeling around the kit, which allows the listener to focus on the vocals and lyrics. The riffs come back in for the bridge, and then we are into the commercial chorus where anyone hearing this just has to bounce. The song keeps moving and swirling, so there is a spoken word section which gradually builds and then turns into something which could have almost come out of Meshuggah.

The video for The Divide shows the guys playing the song, but there are multiple cuts all the way through with everyone having their time centre stage in the spotlight, even Neo, at which point the rest of the guys are stood playing behind him. The quick edits and camera movements combine with the dynamic lighting to really capture the energy of this exciting band. This song and video are going to launch this young band to the world, and if they are doing this at less than a year together just what are they going to achieve in the future? Alien Weaponry has shown there is a market for metal from Aotearoa on the international stage, and yet again here we have a ridiculously young band showing that the sky really is the limit.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About WHITE NØISE MAFIA

WHITE NØISE MAFIA is a 4 piece heavy alternative rock band established in July 2020 and based in Auckland, New Zealand. The band strives to put on an all-out show with heavy riffs, crushing beats, booming low end and catchy vocals to hook the listener into their performance. They take inspiration from bands such as Linkin Park, Blindspott, BMTH, Slipknot etc. In the long run they seek to leave a lasting impact on the local scene and make a name for themselves.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for WHITE NØISE MAFIA

Releases

There are no releases to display for WHITE NØISE MAFIA.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

The Sam Loveridge Band - Single/Video Review: I Wanna Dance
21 Nov 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Sam and the guys are back with the second single from the forthcoming album, Recovery, and if ever they were looking for radio play I can pretty much guarantee this will not be getting it with this one. The simple reason is that in the key part of the chorus, people get asked to go forth and multiply, and somehow, I don’t think the mainstream are quite ready for that yet.
Read More...
Gramsci - Single/Video Review: Ourselves
18 Nov 2021 // by Kev Rowland
I first came across Gramsci last year when they released the amazing album Inheritance, which was then followed up with a theatre performance which was stunning by all accounts (I was gutted not to be able to make it). But I am very late to the piece indeed, as Gramsci are the brainchild of Paul McLaney who is so productive that he has lost count of the works he has undertaken to date.
Read More...
Pervertor - Album Review: Putrid Dominion
18 Nov 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Wellington-based blackened thrash outfit Pervertor are back with their third-full length album, Putrid Dominion, some four years since Perverted Tales of Depravity. Since they released their first demo back in 2009 the band have had the same line-up throughout of Necroar (vocals), Inebriator (guitar), Carnage (bass), and Rots (drums).
Read More...
On Tick - Album Review: Nothing New
18 Nov 2021 // by Kev Rowland
On Tick was formed by brothers Brendan (vocals and drums) and Aidan O'Loughlin (vocals, guitar), out of the ashes of their previous band, Evil Tomato. They decided to work as a rough and raw punk duo, adapting some of the older songs to their new style, a few of which can be heard here.
Read More...
Powder Chutes - Single Review: Take It Or Leave It
17 Nov 2021 // by Kev Rowland
I must confess to doing a little bit of a double take when I first saw a photo of these guys, as it looked like none of them were old enough to shave! A check of their bio and I was able to see that the band comprises Archie Orbell (16), Clarke West (16), Henry McConnell (16) & Otis Murphy (14) – when a group put their age into their bio you know they are young.
Read More...
Sol3 Mio - Album Review: Coming Home
17 Nov 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Earlier this year I was fortunate enough to catch these guys at Spark Arena and it was truly one of the greatest concerts I have ever attended. Given that my idea of a great night often consists of high energy metal of one type or another, I would not normally say that about an evening of light opera.
Read More...
Henika - Album Review: Strange Creatures
16 Nov 2021 // by Kev Rowland
It is safe to say that I listen to more varied music than the average person, and I have no idea how many albums I have reviewed over the last 30+ years but it is many thousands, and I have written well in excess of a million words on the subject. This means I am rarely surprised, and it is not often I come across something and can honestly say I have never heard anything quite like it before, but this is one of those times.
Read More...
Sit Down In Front - Single/Video Review: Pixie Caramel Feat. Tiki Taane
11 Nov 2021 // by Kev Rowland
When punk hit the UK in 1976, I loved the high-octane high energy music which came out of the scene and was quite surprised when the adults around me said there was no melody, and it was just a load of noise. The first wave of the new punk scene was made up of musicians who had been part of the earlier pub rock craze, so they knew what they were doing, and were far more musically inclined than many gave them credit for.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • ALL TOO WELL (10 MINUTE VERSION) (TAYLOR'S VERSION)
    Taylor Swift
  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • SMOKIN' OUT THE WINDOW
    Silk Sonic
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • MEET ME AT OUR SPOT
    THE ANXIETY, WILLOW And Tyler Cole
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem