23 Sep 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Melanie - Gig Review: Tsunami Warning @ The Wine Cellar, Auckland - 25/06/2021

26 Jun 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Tonight was my first trip to The Wine Cellar in the centre of Auckland, a venue of which I was aware but just hadn’t been to, and is exactly as it sounds. I had also been told that lighting would be incredibly dark, which was also correct, and given tonight was a sell-out I really didn’t want to fight my way through to take a couple of photos on my phone and then fight my way back to where I was perching to write the review, so I have no shots of the night. This was a three-band bill, and I was quite excited to see Melanie as I had heard good things about them. Before the gig I was chatting with singer/guitarist James Dentice and drummer Joe Gasparich and they were stoked that the gig had sold so well. I also need to make mention that not only did they have a couple of different t-shirts for sale, but they had pressed their debut album on vinyl and that was also available, along with free stickers. If only more bands were this organised and had merch at gigs, it would make their lives so much easier. They told me they were somewhat worried about over saturating the scene by playing so much and had decided to cut back, but somehow were still gigging every weekend in June and July. This was in stark contrast to the first two bands on the bill, who for each it was only their third gig.

First up was Jiahu Symbols, who comprise Andrew Murray-Brown (vocals, guitar), Mitch Cramer (bass) and Howl Griffiths (drums). These guys had a lot of friends in the audience, and although there was a false start they soon settled down and were soon being appreciated for their shoegaze/Nirvana/New Order approach. The main issue for me was with the vocals, which were quite off-key, and while that is fine for this style of music, it is probably one of the reasons why I don’t listen to much of it out of choice. They dedicated their set to John McAfee and were obviously out to enjoy themselves, and Howl played the first few songs using mallets before changing to sticks as the band switched things around. Love Ephemera saw them start slowly, building an atmosphere which gradually developed into something quite powerful. They have developed songs which often contain different sections, and the changing between these sometimes worked better than others, and the impression was that this is very much a work in progress. Halfway through closing number Northern Exposure (which is available on Spotify), Howl picked up the snare drum and a cymbal and finished the set at the front of the band instead of sat at the back. There was no doubt that everyone there had a good time and enjoyed what they had delivered, but they are not a band I would personally rush out to see again for some time.

So then we had Finger Tight, for whom it was also their third gig, but no-one would have guessed this from the way they approached it. Here we have a quintet of Jesse and Glenn (guitars), Jasher (bass), James (drums), and Red (vocals), but while the musicians all go about their work noisily and effectively (special mention must be made of James who was highly effective at powering the band with different rhythms and attacks), Red is one of the most effective and energetic young frontmen I have come across for some time. Even before the gig started, I was looking at the singer wearing a bandana, in-ear speakers, who had dispensed with microphone stand. He started the night wearing a t-shirt and denim jacket, but by the end of the gig he was topless as throughout he was a ball of energy, living and screaming every word. This is pop punk with real balls, both guitarists chunking the riffs while Jasher was on a 5-string, James driving it all on, and then in the middle of it all was Red who simply never stopped giving his all. The audience were reacting strongly as Red brought everyone with him by sheer force of will, but at the same time everyone was having fun and there wasn’t the over the top nastiness that can sometimes come through. Apparently, he had been unwell earlier in the week and the band had rehearsed without him, but when it came to My Aphrodite they were unable to sing it just because the lyrics are so personal between Red and his girlfriend. Tonight, that was of course not an issue, and Red dedicated the song to her. There was a good pace throughout the set, and they have a knack of delivering songs which contain anthem-like choruses and hooks. I was extremely impressed by the end and found it hard to believe this is just their third gig – we are going to be hearing a lot more of these guys.

It is safe to say that everyone was warmed up for the headline and Melanie were not going to disappoint. Alongside James and Joe, the line-up is completed by Robin Davey Lusk (guitar) and William Dentice (bass, vocals) and they commenced with some very atmospheric looping, repeating chords and bass effects with the drums only slowly making an entrance: all extremely dramatic indeed. Then James shouted the song titleCollide, and we were off. One always knows when a band have been playing together for some time, there is the knowledge that everyone can do what they are supposed to, so everyone relaxes, and has a load of fun. Everyone was throwing themselves into the music; there was no time for anyone to stand still and relax, as whereas the first band didn’t have much energy, the second was concentrated on the singer, here it was everywhere and because of that it was infectious. There was so much passion and belief onstage that it was palpable, and although this was high octane stuff, they were developing complex patterns and interplays yet could also stop on a dime. These guys are tight, incredibly tight, which only comes from doing the hard yards of playing anywhere and everywhere.

Although vocally it was quite different, I found myself being reminded of the frenetic energy of The Undertones and given that this was the band who recorded John Peel’s favourite song, the lyrics of which are on his tombstone, that is high praise. They feel very British in their approach, much more than many of this genre who often look towards American for inspiration (although they did admit in a moment of madness that they have been known to play early Blink 182 songs at house gigs). They build songs up, then just stop – no messing, and then it is off into the next. Kachow was one of the highlights of the set, really packing a punch with a nice use of feedback at the beginning to lead it in. They also broke this into sections with the bass sometimes being at the forefront and others not there at all, and there was a real good use of dynamics. They can also really build a real groove, and it was hard not to move when listening to these guys, immensely powerful indeed, and I look forward to seeing them again.

Overall, tonight was a mixed bag, but as I said to the guys before the gig one never knows what one is going to get when attending bands not heard before, but that I expected to come away with at least one find, and a name to follow in the future, and I probably did better than that. There is so much live music out there at present (I was supposed to see Melanie in May, but it clashed with Beastwars), and often it is dirt cheap (I think tonight was $10) so get out into the scene and make some discoveries yourself.

 

Releases

42 Losers
Year: 2020
Type: Album
Melon
Year: 2018
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Album Review: Black Alpine
19 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
The very first time I looked at the cover of this album I was reminded of Deep Purple’s In Rock, as even though that was a stylised version of Mount Rushmore, there we had dudes with long hair playing Seventies hard rock and that is the same here. I mean, we even have aviator sunglasses!
Read More...
Secrets Of The Sun - Album Review: Obon
19 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Obon is the debut album from alternative metal band Secrets of the Sun, a quartet based in Wellington. It has been a while in the making, in that the first single, Suffer With The Moon, was actually released a year ago while Wretched Tracks came out in February: both are included here.
Read More...
Written By Wolves - EP Review: Secrets - The Collab Project
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Since I started writing for New Zealand’s #1 music site, https://www.muzic.
Read More...
Alien Weaponry - Album Review: Tangaroa
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
There is no doubt whatsoever that Alien Weaponry have captured the imagination not only of the New Zealand public, but metalheads worldwide, with their combination of groove and thrash metal mixing with their Maori heritage to create something very special indeed. There really is no other band quite like them, although I do sometimes find myself thinking of the impact of Sepultura and their Roots album, but one does need to remember that was Sepultura’s sixth album, some 12 years after their first release.
Read More...
Domingo Candelario - EP Review: Sin Palabras
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Although there is always a very Cuban base to his music, Domingo has covered many different styles, as he transcends culture and language: music is about expressing emotions honestly and he tries to be as unique as he can.  As a child, his parents listened to a lot of Brazilian music, and he was fascinated by the way they used harmonies: it was so beautifully put together, so soft and in connection with the soul.
Read More...
Glenn Bodger - Album Review: I'll Leave The Light On
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut solo album from Glenn Bodger, who provided most of the instrumentation himself, although he has also been assisted by former Braintree bandmate Darryn Harkness, who helped with additional guitar, bass and keyboards where required. From the gentle, almost cautiously picked acoustic guitar notes on opener I’ll Leave The Light On, we are brought carefully into a world which is dated yet fresh, comfortable but new, as he mixes together different musical elements in an independent, alternative style which is often somehow commercial and others when they are definitely not.
Read More...
Samantha Josephine - EP Review: Fly Bird Fly
15 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Samantha Josephine's six-track Fly Bird Fly EP is less than 13 minutes long, but in many ways that makes total sense, as there is a feeling within this that we are being allowed into a secret and very personal world and that it would be intrusive to stay for too long. One can imagine Samantha performing in a corner, hoping that no-one will see or hear her, and when I read in her bio that only her girlfriend has seen her perform in the last year, and that even she is not allowed to be around when Samantha is writing, then it makes perfect sense.
Read More...
The Night - Single Review: Untouchable
12 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
This cannot be right. According to the information I have in front of me, this Wellington-based band was formed from a group of music students in 2017, started performing live in 2018, and their ages now range from 15 to 18!
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • PEPEHA
    Six60
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
  • FAIR TRADE
    Drake feat. Travis Scott
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem