30 Jan 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Black Gravel City - Single Review: Internal Fix

24 Jun 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Internal Fix is the debut release from Auckland-based trio Black Gravel City, who describe themselves as metal/rock/metal which in terms of this song definitely makes sense. Formed just a year ago, the band comprise Hemi Sachin (drums, formerly Broken Season, Lakius, Order of Mammal), Kerry Cooper (guitars, vocals, formerly Djen, Order of Mammal, various cover bands) and Caz (bass and backing vocals, past groups Tegan, Sairalei, Madame Youth, Lakius). So although this band is new, it can be seen that the guys have been around the same scene for quite some time, with everyone having played with at least one other in the past.

This song is written from the viewpoint of someone undergoing heart surgery, and both commences and ends with the beeping of a monitor. Musically it starts with crunching riffs, double kick drums and vocals that are gruff and solid and one thinks that this is going to be a Sepultura-style metal number, but then we get to the bridge and suddenly we are in rock territory which has been influenced by the likes of Linkin Park, and there are even some keyboards. Here the vocals are far more melodic, with harmonies, and it is almost as if the leather-clad tattooed metallic monsters from the verse have been turned into something quite different indeed, almost as if they are ready for their Instagram moment.

When they are heavy, they have a solid groove, with hints of Meshuggah and Lamb of God, and one cannot help but get into the swing of it, but the way they turn it into something else works in a way which is difficult to comprehend. The song is four minutes in length and is metal/rock/metal/rock/metal, with those breakpoints being incredibly important in creating powerful dynamics and contrast. This contrast is certainly why this song stands out as much as it does, and it is strange to think that this is their debut release, as it is polished and so full of energy. Given that they are based in Tamaki Makaurau I can only hope that I get the opportunity to catch these guys at a gig soon as this is powering, dramatic and exciting.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

The Sam Loveridge Band - Album Review: Recovery
27 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Some albums are intense, some are incredibly hard work and only open up (sometimes, if at all) after a great many plays, and others will never be destined for mainstream radio play as there is nothing there to attract the masses. Then there are albums like this one, where all you need to do is check out the cover to have an idea of what it is going to be like inside.
Read More...
Melanie - EP Review: ABCD
25 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Since releasing their debut EP back in 2018, Auckland pop/punk outfit Melanie have been making quite a name for themselves in the old-fashioned way of doing things, namely playing anywhere and everywhere, and having total belief in themselves and their music. When I first saw them, I was impressed that here was an unsigned band who had invested in having their debut album pressed in vinyl and had a few different t-shirts available as well as some other merch including stickers.
Read More...
Gig Review: Checaine & After Forever @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 22/01/2022
23 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
As normal I got in early to the venue, then soon left again to have a beer up the road with the guys from Checaine. I was mightily impressed as they had brought a bus up from Hamilton with a load of fans onboard – one way of guaranteeing playing in a strange town in front of a friendly crowd.
Read More...
Gig Review: Blindfolded and Led To The Woods @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 15/01/2022
16 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I have been looking forward to tonight for ages, as Auckland went into lockdown in August with all gigs being cancelled until just before Christmas, and even then, that was with limited attendance. This means that tonight was going to be my first gig in five months, and given that I covered more than 30 in the first part of the year, that was some cold turkey.
Read More...
Fool's Lagoon - Single Review: Bizarre
13 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Bizarre is the debut single from Auckland-based quintet Fool’s Lagoon. Mark, Connor, Joe, Matt and Joshua have created a bright and summery indie pop jangler which is heavily guitar-based yet is somehow light and airy throughout.
Read More...
Powder Chutes - EP Review: Sweet Noise Pollution
11 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There is always that little hint of concern when reading a press release for a new EP and realise it contains a quote from yours truly for the single which was taken from it. How would they take it this time around if I panned this release?
Read More...
Tall Folk - Album Review: Wiser
11 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
2021 was a wonderful musical adventure for me as I threw myself into the NZ music scene, and towards the end of the year I realised that with nearly 200 reviews of local music I really should work out my Top 10 singles, EP’s, albums and gigs (check out https://www.muzic.
Read More...
Pass The Peas - EP Review: Pop
06 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This three-track EP is the latest release from Poneke-based quintet Pass The Peas, who describe their music as Wasabi spicy Rock n' Roll, whatever that means. To my ears it means they play mid-paced alternative pop rock with a strong concentration on the gravelly and emotional vocals of Kurt with loads of space within the arrangements, which are well-produced.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DOWN UNDER
    Luude feat. Colin Hay
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • MR REGGAE
    L.A.B.
  • ABCDEFU
    GAYLE
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • WE DON'T TALK ABOUT BRUNO
    Various
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem