10 Aug 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Black Gravel City - Single Review: Internal Fix

24 Jun 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Internal Fix is the debut release from Auckland-based trio Black Gravel City, who describe themselves as metal/rock/metal which in terms of this song definitely makes sense. Formed just a year ago, the band comprise Hemi Sachin (drums, formerly Broken Season, Lakius, Order of Mammal), Kerry Cooper (guitars, vocals, formerly Djen, Order of Mammal, various cover bands) and Caz (bass and backing vocals, past groups Tegan, Sairalei, Madame Youth, Lakius). So although this band is new, it can be seen that the guys have been around the same scene for quite some time, with everyone having played with at least one other in the past.

This song is written from the viewpoint of someone undergoing heart surgery, and both commences and ends with the beeping of a monitor. Musically it starts with crunching riffs, double kick drums and vocals that are gruff and solid and one thinks that this is going to be a Sepultura-style metal number, but then we get to the bridge and suddenly we are in rock territory which has been influenced by the likes of Linkin Park, and there are even some keyboards. Here the vocals are far more melodic, with harmonies, and it is almost as if the leather-clad tattooed metallic monsters from the verse have been turned into something quite different indeed, almost as if they are ready for their Instagram moment.

When they are heavy, they have a solid groove, with hints of Meshuggah and Lamb of God, and one cannot help but get into the swing of it, but the way they turn it into something else works in a way which is difficult to comprehend. The song is four minutes in length and is metal/rock/metal/rock/metal, with those breakpoints being incredibly important in creating powerful dynamics and contrast. This contrast is certainly why this song stands out as much as it does, and it is strange to think that this is their debut release, as it is polished and so full of energy. Given that they are based in Tamaki Makaurau I can only hope that I get the opportunity to catch these guys at a gig soon as this is powering, dramatic and exciting.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Oliver Birch - Album Review: Burning Daylight
05 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This is the debut album from Auckland musician, Oliver Birch, although older versions of many of the songs contained within have already been made available as singles. When the album started with the lengthy keyboard chords and feedback intro I thought it would fall into krautrock, but instead it quickly changed into a psychedelic experimental art rock number with emotionally charged vocals and an outright refusal to conform to any expectations.
Read More...
Album Review: Black Velvet Butterfly
03 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Black Velvet Butterfly are a one-man band from Auckland featuring James Castady-Kristament. I was intrigued to be sent this as when I looked on their Bandcamp page it said, “It may just well be the coolest thing you’ve heard in the Goth scene since Type O Negative.
Read More...
Bill Angus and the Mighty Ways - Album Review: All Night Before the World Began
01 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Bill had a musical career in England before deciding to do something different, and returned to his roots when he started working in New Zealand. This is his third album.
Read More...
Gig Review: Antagonist A.D. @ Galatos, Auckland - 30/07/2022
31 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Once more into the breach dear friends, as I made my way into the city for the third night in a row. I knew this was going to be the most dramatic gig of the week and was one I had been looking forward to for months.
Read More...
Gig Review: Reb Fountain @ Town Hall, Auckland - 29/07/2022
30 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Back into central Auckland for the second consecutive evening, this time to see an artist for whom I have great admiration for the first time, and whose latest album, Iris, was rightfully in my Top Ten of 2021. Until last month it had been years since I had been in Auckland Town Hall for a gig, but here I was again, this time for one of the series of Auckland Elemental events, and I could see lighting gantries across much of the venue so knew we were in for quite some night.
Read More...
Gig Review: Capital Theatre @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 28/07/2022
28 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Down to the Tuning Fork on a school night, whatever next?! Mind you, it was for a special occasion as Capital Theatre were back in town and it has been way too long since I last saw them play (thanks Covid).
Read More...
Infinity Ritual - EP Review: Infinity Ritual
28 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut EP from New Plymouth trio Adam Colless (guitars, vocals), Jason Karam (bass, vocals, mellotron) and Mark Thomas (drums and percussion). The four songs, 23 minutes in length, show a band who are bringing together groove metal with stoner, displaying plenty of bottom end with rich distortion.
Read More...
Sea Mouse - EP Review: Evil Heart
27 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There is a time in many music lover’s lives when they finally fall into the caress of the blues. Everyone has their own genre they prefer, but the best blues is that which really calls to the listener on an emotional level, and for me that means two very different strands, and my favourite depends on what I am feeling like on any particular day.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DOJA
    Central Cee
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • I LIKE YOU (A HAPPIER SONG)
    Post Malone And Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem