7 Jul 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Capital Theatre - Single/Video Review: People

24 Jun 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Earlier this year I was lucky enough to catch Capital Theatre in concert, and their catchy, layered, art rock approach to music certainly struck a chord. Since then, I have eagerly been awaiting the release of the album, but until that comes to fruition, we will instead just have to play this single, People. They are currently working as a trio, although that may change in the future, and comprise Paul Reid (drums, ex-Rubicon, Loves Ugly Children), Adam Stevenson (vocals, piano, keyboards, guitar) and Roy Oliver (guitar). What strikes one immediately is the quality of the production, as the sound is huge, multi-dimensional and so punchy and clear indeed. Mind you, one would expect nothing else from Mike Clink, who has previously produced albums such as Appetite for Destruction and Rust Never Sleeps. But while he has got the sound, it would be nothing without the band and the song, and this delivers from start to finish.

I have been racking my brain to come up with a proper comparison, and all I can say is that there are elements of Coldplay, Muse, and U2 coming together with melodic rockers such as The Babys. It starts with an infectious fractured and distorted guitar riff, which is soon joined by pounding drums, and more guitars underneath the lead which are joined by the piano. The song keeps morphing and changing throughout, with phrases and licks brought in, discarded, and returned to again. I have been playing this on repeat in an attempt to be able to find the words but know I have come up terribly short. Lyrically, the song is inspired by Shakespeare’s famous quote from “As You Like It,” saying, “All the world’s a stage, And all the men and women merely players.” Musically it is packed full of layers, and so many important elements. Adam’s vocals are at the forefront, and his piano is incredibly important, as are the small keyboard flourishes, while Roy’s guitar is at times strident and others riffing hard and then at the back is Paul who keeps changing his attack throughout. This is not a standard verse/chorus/verse number but is something that does not attempt to fit the norm and takes on another approach altogether, full of stops and starts as the band switches from the gentle and melodic to something that is far more sweeping and grandiose. All of this in just 3 ½ minutes.

The song feels immense, and it is only right that there is a well-constructed and thought-out video to go with it. This shows the band playing on a platform in an art gallery, where the pictures come to life and while initially the characters are doing their own thing they all eventually stop and watch the band. BTW – love the make-up guys, makes me think fondly back to bands like Discipline. This is a stunning rocking number that contains elements of progressive rock, art rock, and melodic rock, all wrapped around huge riffs, wonderful performances, and great vocals. Definitely one to discover.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

Releases

A Hero's Journey
Year: 2022
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Sonic Delusion - Single/Video Review: Fingertips
06 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Earlier this year I was fortunate enough to come across the incredible album When Turkeys Fly by Turkey The Bird which meant I was determined to see them when they came to Auckland and had an amazing evening. One member of that trio is André Manella, who has also been touring as Sonic Delusion, and over the last eight years he has played more than 800 shows and released five albums.
Read More...
Gig Review: T-Bone @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 03/07/2022
03 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Down to Tuning Fork for an early start with doors opening at 5:30 and the whole thing expected to be over by 9:30! I was so glad that Al from Hoop sent me the running times in the morning otherwise I would have missed their set altogether as well as possibly missing the beginning of T-Bone!
Read More...
EP Review: Ange.Mac + Shaun Garea
03 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
What we have here is the debut collaboration from Ange.Mac and Shaun Garea.
Read More...
Gig Review: Pale Flag @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 01/07/2022
02 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Tonight, I was supposed to be at The Tuning Fork for Ekko Park and Jordan Luck but the dreaded Covid had cast its spell and the gig was cancelled earlier in the week. I did a quick check to see what was on at Dead Witch and discovered there was a four-band bill and knowing three of them I could see it was going to be a good night so decided to head that way.
Read More...
Ayla Wesley - Single Review: Say To Me
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Normally, when I am reviewing singles for MNZ the turnaround time we work to is 7 days and it is not unusual for me to work on far tighter deadlines than that, but Ayla was incredibly well organised with the promotion for her second single, and I have been playing this for the last 3 weeks at least. In that time it has become a real earworm, and I have even found myself singing it as I walk around (not a pleasant experience for anyone in the vicinity, let me assure you).
Read More...
Ed Waaka - Single Review: E Kura
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It did not take long for me to fall in love with this song, probably the first 30 seconds I guess, as there is something about it which grabs hold the listener, puts them in a safe place, and lets the singer bare their soul. Soul, yes, this is full of it in a musical sense as well as an emotional one, and when I discovered he was singing about the upcoming birth of his first daughter, whether he would be a good father, and the need to reconnect to his Maori heritage it made a great deal of sense.
Read More...
Danica Bryant - Single Review: Crush
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the lead single from Danica Bryant’s forthcoming EP, Ego Death, and if this is fully representative, then that is something to look out for. For a young artist she has already had considerable success, mentoring with Bic Runga while also gaining a support slot for Elton John on his ‘Farewell Yellow Brick Road’ tour, and while she has already tasted success on the NZ Hot Singles Chart, I am sure this is going to head the same way.
Read More...
Tia Ward - EP Review: Me and Me Too
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This is the debut EP from Hawkes Bay singer Tia Ward, following on from two singles which were released ahead of time, Under Wraps and Paint Dry, both of which are included here. The first thing which the listener notices are her vocals, which are both understated yet firmly to the fore.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • JIMMY COOKS
    Drake feat. 21 Savage
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem