18 Jan 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Capital Theatre - Single/Video Review: People

24 Jun 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Earlier this year I was lucky enough to catch Capital Theatre in concert, and their catchy, layered, art rock approach to music certainly struck a chord. Since then, I have eagerly been awaiting the release of the album, but until that comes to fruition, we will instead just have to play this single, People. They are currently working as a trio, although that may change in the future, and comprise Paul Reid (drums, ex-Rubicon, Loves Ugly Children), Adam Stevenson (vocals, piano, keyboards, guitar) and Roy Oliver (guitar). What strikes one immediately is the quality of the production, as the sound is huge, multi-dimensional and so punchy and clear indeed. Mind you, one would expect nothing else from Mike Clink, who has previously produced albums such as Appetite for Destruction and Rust Never Sleeps. But while he has got the sound, it would be nothing without the band and the song, and this delivers from start to finish.

I have been racking my brain to come up with a proper comparison, and all I can say is that there are elements of Coldplay, Muse, and U2 coming together with melodic rockers such as The Babys. It starts with an infectious fractured and distorted guitar riff, which is soon joined by pounding drums, and more guitars underneath the lead which are joined by the piano. The song keeps morphing and changing throughout, with phrases and licks brought in, discarded, and returned to again. I have been playing this on repeat in an attempt to be able to find the words but know I have come up terribly short. Lyrically, the song is inspired by Shakespeare’s famous quote from “As You Like It,” saying, “All the world’s a stage, And all the men and women merely players.” Musically it is packed full of layers, and so many important elements. Adam’s vocals are at the forefront, and his piano is incredibly important, as are the small keyboard flourishes, while Roy’s guitar is at times strident and others riffing hard and then at the back is Paul who keeps changing his attack throughout. This is not a standard verse/chorus/verse number but is something that does not attempt to fit the norm and takes on another approach altogether, full of stops and starts as the band switches from the gentle and melodic to something that is far more sweeping and grandiose. All of this in just 3 ½ minutes.

The song feels immense, and it is only right that there is a well-constructed and thought-out video to go with it. This shows the band playing on a platform in an art gallery, where the pictures come to life and while initially the characters are doing their own thing they all eventually stop and watch the band. BTW – love the make-up guys, makes me think fondly back to bands like Discipline. This is a stunning rocking number that contains elements of progressive rock, art rock, and melodic rock, all wrapped around huge riffs, wonderful performances, and great vocals. Definitely one to discover.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

Releases

There are no releases to display for Capital Theatre.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Blindfolded and Led To The Woods @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 15/01/2022
16 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I have been looking forward to tonight for ages, as Auckland went into lockdown in August with all gigs being cancelled until just before Christmas, and even then, that was with limited attendance. This means that tonight was going to be my first gig in five months, and given that I covered more than 30 in the first part of the year, that was some cold turkey.
Read More...
Fool's Lagoon - Single Review: Bizarre
13 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Bizarre is the debut single from Auckland-based quintet Fool’s Lagoon. Mark, Connor, Joe, Matt and Joshua have created a bright and summery indie pop jangler which is heavily guitar-based yet is somehow light and airy throughout.
Read More...
Powder Chutes - EP Review: Sweet Noise Pollution
11 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There is always that little hint of concern when reading a press release for a new EP and realise it contains a quote from yours truly for the single which was taken from it. How would they take it this time around if I panned this release?
Read More...
Tall Folk - Album Review: Wiser
11 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
2021 was a wonderful musical adventure for me as I threw myself into the NZ music scene, and towards the end of the year I realised that with nearly 200 reviews of local music I really should work out my Top 10 singles, EP’s, albums and gigs (check out https://www.muzic.
Read More...
Pass The Peas - EP Review: Pop
06 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This three-track EP is the latest release from Poneke-based quintet Pass The Peas, who describe their music as Wasabi spicy Rock n' Roll, whatever that means. To my ears it means they play mid-paced alternative pop rock with a strong concentration on the gravelly and emotional vocals of Kurt with loads of space within the arrangements, which are well-produced.
Read More...
Black Sands - Single Review: Apocalypse of Eden
22 Dec 2021 // by Kev Rowland
To my mind this single is long overdue, as I have been lucky enough to catch these guys play live a few times this year and they always put on an amazing show. Comprising Cameron Owens (guitars), Ruaidri Keens (guitars), Matt Hammond (bass) and James Trimmer (drums) they are one of those very rare breeds, a hard-hitting metal act with no need for a singer.
Read More...
Kev's Top 10's - 2021
20 Dec 2021 // by Kev Rowland
2021 has been a strange year, of that there has been no doubt whatsoever, but although everyone in Auckland is champing at the bit to be let out into the real world, it is probably best to remind ourselves that until we went into lockdown in August we were the envy of the world with festivals, plenty of beer, and the country being totally open (apart from the borders). At that time, I had been to more than 30 gigs, and was on course to hit 50 for the year, never thinking for a minute that August would be the last time I saw a band play live.
Read More...
Samantha Josephine - Album Review: The Finished Touch
19 Dec 2021 // by Kev Rowland
This is a direct continuation of the work displayed by Samantha on the Fly Bird Fly EP which came out a few months ago, except this time around she has managed to secure the services of drummers Mars Slater Vitai and Olive Konai, who between them share the duties on this 16-track 39-minute-long album. They fit in well with the ethos and spirit of Samantha, not attempting to bring in any finesse of polish, but instead keeping to the very lo-fi and naïve approach demonstrated by the singer/guitarist.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DOWN UNDER
    Luude feat. Colin Hay
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • FINGERS CROSSED
    Lauren Spencer-Smith
  • ABCDEFU
    GAYLE
  • MR REGGAE
    L.A.B.
  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem