6 Jul 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Molly Devine - Single Review: Because I Love You

21 Jun 2021 // A review by Danica Bryant

Molly Devine estimates her latest track, Because I Love You, has seen at least seven versions prior to its release last week, having been written over five years ago. It is the second in a series of self-produced works Devine plans to share throughout 2021, setting up an incredibly emotional soundscape for her music.

Devine immediately creates an incredible ambient landscape in Because I Love You, featuring sounds of the natural environment like rushing wind and running and dripping water. Simple yet powerful instrumental choices, including pianos which range from subtle and light to pounding and intense, make listening to this song a commanding and at times almost overwhelming experience. String instruments throughout add a level of drama and romance to the song which allows the simple, slow melody its chance to soar. The titular lyric’s melody is particularly strong thanks to Devine’s affected vocal performance, which lifts every line to intense heights.

It is hard to summarise Because I Love You, as it is less of a song and more of an experience. Its lyrics are brief but its music extensive, its music is uncomplicated and yet as elaborate as it could possibly be. The track is best when the listener fully gives themselves over to the sound. Devine made the right decision in allowing Because I Love You its five years to grow, as in this state, it is a beautiful ode to love, shining in every aspect. Without a doubt, Molly Devine is a passionate writer, who uses her otherworldly powers with this latest single to create utter magic.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

Releases

There are no releases to display for Molly Devine.

Other Reviews By Danica Bryant

Molly Devine - Single Review: Shades of Blue
30 Jun 2022 // by Danica Bryant
Molly Devine’s sweeping waiata Shades of Blue, created in collaboration with guitarist James Bulter, is an emotive piano-led ballad carried by her strong, deep vocal. Like previous release Because I Love You, Shades of Blue takes Devine away from her earlier dance-pop works into experimental territory.
Read More...
Josie Moon - Album Review: Paint Me How You Need Me
09 Jun 2022 // by Danica Bryant
Independent Wellington artist Josie Moon’s debut album Paint Me How You Need Me is a highly conceptual, artistic alt-pop exploration, questioning identity, and the search to be perfect for others. With a voice full of childlike innocence and yet deepfelt cynicism, Moon establishes herself as an unmissable artist emerging on the scene.
Read More...
Ariana Tikao - Single Review: Fly You Home
27 May 2022 // by Danica Bryant
Ariana Tikao’s Fly You Home is a beautiful track devoted to “indigenous solidarity” across the nation. Produced by Brooke Singer and Ben Lemi of French for Rabbits, the track is dreamy and gentle, offering a true sense of tranquility amongst the stress and sound of current times.
Read More...
Boy Virgo - EP Review: VILLAIN
16 May 2022 // by Danica Bryant
Despite hyperpop’s impressive rise in pop culture over the past few years, there’s a surprising lack of Kiwi artists in the genre. Boy Virgo is here to remedy that.
Read More...
Gig Review: James Hunter and the Gatherers @ San Fran, Wellington - 7/05/2022
08 May 2022 // by Danica Bryant
San Fran is absolutely bustling with people on Saturday night, all buzzing to see the unique line-up. With only two weeks' notice of the event, the turnout is astounding, proving the crowd's devotion.
Read More...
InDuna - Single Review: Love and Affection
28 Apr 2022 // by Danica Bryant
South African artist InDuna teams up with Jah Tung and Kasa on the Tiny Triumph produced track Love and Affection. It’s a thrilling Afropop release encouraging a woman to keep pursuing true feelings and relationships, demanding her not to “call murder on love and affection”.
Read More...
Brown Sugar Factory - EP Review: Halina't Sumayaw
27 Apr 2022 // by Danica Bryant
Brown Sugar Factory’s latest EP Halina't Sumayaw is an incomparable blend of funk, house, pop and dancehall, boasting the diverse musical backgrounds of producer Reid Ulberg and singer-songwriter Roberto Jatulan.Opening to silky vocal adlibs and gentle rain, Til Next Saturday pulses under smooth guitar and incredible harmonies.
Read More...
Fin Rah Zel - Single Review: Negativity No More
21 Apr 2022 // by Danica Bryant
If you’re looking for a quintessentially Kiwi kickstart to your day, Negativity No More is the perfect toe-tapping new release from New Plymouth surf-pop band Fin Rah Zel. It’s a barbecue jam about “having the courage to let go of the negative influences in our lives,” and a showcase of musicianship so strong, it sounds entirely effortless.
Read More...
View All Articles By Danica Bryant

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • JIMMY COOKS
    Drake feat. 21 Savage
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem