16 Aug 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Molly Devine - Single Review: Because I Love You

21 Jun 2021 // A review by Danica Bryant

Molly Devine estimates her latest track, Because I Love You, has seen at least seven versions prior to its release last week, having been written over five years ago. It is the second in a series of self-produced works Devine plans to share throughout 2021, setting up an incredibly emotional soundscape for her music.

Devine immediately creates an incredible ambient landscape in Because I Love You, featuring sounds of the natural environment like rushing wind and running and dripping water. Simple yet powerful instrumental choices, including pianos which range from subtle and light to pounding and intense, make listening to this song a commanding and at times almost overwhelming experience. String instruments throughout add a level of drama and romance to the song which allows the simple, slow melody its chance to soar. The titular lyric’s melody is particularly strong thanks to Devine’s affected vocal performance, which lifts every line to intense heights.

It is hard to summarise Because I Love You, as it is less of a song and more of an experience. Its lyrics are brief but its music extensive, its music is uncomplicated and yet as elaborate as it could possibly be. The track is best when the listener fully gives themselves over to the sound. Devine made the right decision in allowing Because I Love You its five years to grow, as in this state, it is a beautiful ode to love, shining in every aspect. Without a doubt, Molly Devine is a passionate writer, who uses her otherworldly powers with this latest single to create utter magic.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

Releases

There are no releases to display for Molly Devine.

Other Reviews By Danica Bryant

Sylvee - Single Review: Slow
14 Aug 2022 // by Danica Bryant
Sylvee’s latest single Slow is an impassioned love song dedicated to supporting someone beloved through struggles with their mental health. Featuring the artist’s signature soft, introspective vocals and honeyed melodies, it’s a dreamy release soothing listeners in the toughest of times.
Read More...
Wallace - Album Review: And Other Colours
09 Aug 2022 // by Danica Bryant
Having spent her past few years across the ditch, Wallace now returns to her hometown in Wellington just in time for the release of her delightful new album, And Other Colours. It’s an exciting future soul affair, bathed in bright, simple lyricism and the voice of a charismatic rising star.
Read More...
Gig Review: Dee and the Sweet Somethings @ Meow, Wellington - 13/07/2022
14 Jul 2022 // by Danica Bryant
The crowd is electric at Wellington’s Meow this Wednesday evening, now the home of Dee and the Sweet Somethings, Walker and Clara van Wel for one marvellous night. Looking out into the sea of people reveals a particularly eclectic bunch, of all ages, genders and fashion styles - it’s all slicked back hair, bright scarves, leather boots, full suits and colourful beanies, a visual display of how many diverse people adore tonight’s acts.
Read More...
Blake - Single Review: You Don't Decide
07 Jul 2022 // by Danica Bryant
Hailing from Queenstown, soulful pop artist Blake’s new single You Don’t Decide is a breath of fresh air amongst today’s highly produced and often overly busy commercial material. Yet another splendid product of Covid lockdowns, it’s a whispered discovery of self-assertion, which reaches to the depths of human experience and compacts its realisations in a beautiful yet clearly comprehensible way.
Read More...
Molly Devine - Single Review: Shades of Blue
30 Jun 2022 // by Danica Bryant
Molly Devine’s sweeping waiata Shades of Blue, created in collaboration with guitarist James Bulter, is an emotive piano-led ballad carried by her strong, deep vocal. Like previous release Because I Love You, Shades of Blue takes Devine away from her earlier dance-pop works into experimental territory.
Read More...
Josie Moon - Album Review: Paint Me How You Need Me
09 Jun 2022 // by Danica Bryant
Independent Wellington artist Josie Moon’s debut album Paint Me How You Need Me is a highly conceptual, artistic alt-pop exploration, questioning identity, and the search to be perfect for others. With a voice full of childlike innocence and yet deepfelt cynicism, Moon establishes herself as an unmissable artist emerging on the scene.
Read More...
Ariana Tikao - Single Review: Fly You Home
27 May 2022 // by Danica Bryant
Ariana Tikao’s Fly You Home is a beautiful track devoted to “indigenous solidarity” across the nation. Produced by Brooke Singer and Ben Lemi of French for Rabbits, the track is dreamy and gentle, offering a true sense of tranquility amongst the stress and sound of current times.
Read More...
Boy Virgo - EP Review: VILLAIN
16 May 2022 // by Danica Bryant
Despite hyperpop’s impressive rise in pop culture over the past few years, there’s a surprising lack of Kiwi artists in the genre. Boy Virgo is here to remedy that.
Read More...
View All Articles By Danica Bryant

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • DOJA
    Central Cee
  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • I LIKE YOU (A HAPPIER SONG)
    Post Malone And Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem