30 Jan 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
  • Articles »
  • Reviews »
  • Albi & The Wolves - Gig Review: Rock The Folk @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 18/06/2021

Albi & The Wolves - Gig Review: Rock The Folk @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 18/06/2021

20 Jun 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

So, it was back to the lovely little venue which is The Tuning Fork. It is somewhere I always enjoy going to, as not only is the food and beer very good indeed, but there is a good sound and everyone can see. For those who do not know Auckland, it is situated right next door to Spark Arena and has loads of signed memorabilia around the walls which is always worth checking out as well. More than 250 tickets had been sold for tonight, so it was going to have a nice buzz to it and having seen Albi & the Wolves a few times over the years I know they are always a great live band who react to the crowd. Tonight the gig had been put on by Albi and Sam Bartells, and they had not been able to decide who should actually play last, so they came onto the stage and tossed a coin. Albi won, so they would play at the end, but before Sam could come back with his band, there was the small matter of Mema Wilda.

Mema came on stage with Sam Stretch, and they promptly both sat down, Mema on a chair with an acoustic guitar and Sam on a stool with an electric bass. It is really unusual to see artists seated, and it made me smile as even before they played a note I knew this was going to be good as here we had two people who knew it was all about the music as opposed to anything else. There were only seven songs, but I could have sat and listened to then all night. Mema has a wonderful voice, and her sense of sheer enjoyment and fun was infectious and brought everyone in. They started with Blue, and for this number Sam was using his bass to provide deep and dark effects which were almost Floydian at times which worked well with the picked guitar and vocals. Sam kept changing his approach through the different numbers, sometimes playing quite flat and straight, while on some others he switched to acoustic, always working with Mema to provide the perfect support and accompaniment. Heaven had Mema dispose of the guitar and just provide vocals, and the results was something which in many ways had quite a commercial sound, with her voice full of depth and breadth. All her material felt considered, often packed full of emotion, and the listeners were brought very much into her world. That they finished with a cover of Leonard Cohen’s You Want It Darker pretty much summed up the set for me. I very much look forward to catching them again, as this felt very special indeed.

The changeover was very quick indeed, and soon Sam was onstage with his band, which tonight featured Stallone D’Souza (keyboards), Shimna Higgins (fiddle, vocals), Mitch French (drums) and Maia Huia (bass, vocals). I heard someone saying this was the first time this line-up had played together, but certainly no-one would have guessed that as they were very tight indeed, and yet again here was a group having fun onstage. Right from the off and Our Love May Go Away they were determined to make their presence felt, from the dated keyboard sounds to the over-the-top violin and then at the heart of it was the power of the songs and Sam’s great vocals. The sound was rich and full, delicate, and powerful, as they mixed folk and Americana. Queen of Hurt was a number which really stood out, with Sam switching to electric guitar instead of acoustic. It also includes bars where Shimna was picking the violin instead of bowing, and this gave a very different feeling to the song as it turned into a real rocker. Mema came back onstage for Where We’ll Go, a wonderful duet which apparently is being released next week, and their voices blended incredibly well.

Sam’s voice is normally the central feature of the songs, and at times he is quite reminiscent of Jay Turner, but he also includes plenty of falsetto alongside the passion and dynamics. The arrangements are also incredibly important, with the drums often staying in the background, so when they come in, they make a real statement. All Sam’s songs feel genuine and lived in, based on his own experiences, and full of honesty. It was somewhat surprising to hear them undertake a cover of an Albi & The Wolves song, namely Closing Time, but it shows just how much this was a joint adventure by the co-headlines and they were determined to have fun.

Another quick changeover and Albi & The Wolves took to the stage. There really is no excuse for not seeing Chris Dent (vocals, guitar), violinist/vocalist Pascal Roggen and double bassist Micheal Young play, as they must be one of the most hard-working live bands around. I think it was 7 years ago when I first came across them, and have never been disappointed, and with the crowd warmed up after the bands that had gone before them it was obvious, we were on for a real treat. They kicked off with Giants In The Sky, with Shimna coming back to join them and provide a twin fiddle attack. I have probably seen Fairport Convention in concert more than any other band, and that approach took me right back to those days, with both players interweaving the sounds and threads to create an incredibly special beginning indeed. It was to be a night of guests, as banjo player Nat Torkington (You, Me, Everybody) then joined, and while he was not there for the complete set, his presence when he was onstage added an additional layer which was very welcome indeed. He is best-known for bluegrass, and he added a definite touch of American to the rocking Canyon, where Pascal showed again he is a real force of nature. Chris is often trapped by the stomp box so is unable to move away as much as he would like, while Micheal plays an instrument not really made for switching places onstage, but Pascal more than makes up for it, bending from the waist as he throws himself into his music with a smile on his face which is simply infectious.

Their third song in was Alone No More, a Sam Bartells number, as each played tribute to the other which showed just how aligned they are musically. The trio are incredibly relaxed when playing, something which only comes from so many hours spent in each other’s company. One Eye Open was incredibly up-tempo, blasting along and the audience were really with them, while Pascal sang All I Am as he had written the verse (and again it reminded me of FC, as I could imagine Chris Leslie doing this one). All too soon it was coming to the end of the set, and the boys (with Nat) launched into I Will Not Be Broken. This classic anthem took on another level with Nat adding banjo and the crowd adding vocals, as we all shouted the chorus and stamped our feet. That is of course the lead track from their 2015 EP, and then they ended the set with the last song from that release, Another Brick In The Wall, which is played in a very different style to what Floyd ever imagined.

That should have been it, but the crowd were shouting for more, so Sam and Chris got their bands onstage for a raucous run through of Kings of Leon’s Sex On Fire and were finally done. I am already off to see Albi & The Wolves at a house gig next month, which will be insane, and look forward to catching the others again soon as well. Another great night at The Tuning Fork.

 

Photo Credits:
Photo 1: Kev Rowland

Photos 2 & 3: Chris Zwaagdyk @ ZED Pics

 

About Albi & The Wolves

This is folk music, but not as you know it. Pulling inspiration from a wide spectrum of genres, from swing to bluegrass, soul, R&B, rock and world music, Albi and The Wolves offer a decadent serving of double bass, banjo, and fiddle accompanied by Albi's smooth vocal stylings. These elements come together to create both a potent foot stomping rhythm and a captivating music and stage presence never experienced before.

With this love and respect of music in all its forms, Albi and The Wolves not only offer vibrant and refreshing original songs which burst open the seams of traditional folk music, but they also inject their signature sound into modern classics from artists as diverse as Micheal Jackson, and Pink Floyd.

Since the band's formation in 2014, they have excelled in New Zealand's live music scene, pulling in large crowds with their unique performance style, making it irresistible to dance.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Albi & The Wolves

Releases

One Eye Open
Year: 2016
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

The Sam Loveridge Band - Album Review: Recovery
27 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Some albums are intense, some are incredibly hard work and only open up (sometimes, if at all) after a great many plays, and others will never be destined for mainstream radio play as there is nothing there to attract the masses. Then there are albums like this one, where all you need to do is check out the cover to have an idea of what it is going to be like inside.
Read More...
Melanie - EP Review: ABCD
25 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Since releasing their debut EP back in 2018, Auckland pop/punk outfit Melanie have been making quite a name for themselves in the old-fashioned way of doing things, namely playing anywhere and everywhere, and having total belief in themselves and their music. When I first saw them, I was impressed that here was an unsigned band who had invested in having their debut album pressed in vinyl and had a few different t-shirts available as well as some other merch including stickers.
Read More...
Gig Review: Checaine & After Forever @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 22/01/2022
23 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
As normal I got in early to the venue, then soon left again to have a beer up the road with the guys from Checaine. I was mightily impressed as they had brought a bus up from Hamilton with a load of fans onboard – one way of guaranteeing playing in a strange town in front of a friendly crowd.
Read More...
Gig Review: Blindfolded and Led To The Woods @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 15/01/2022
16 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I have been looking forward to tonight for ages, as Auckland went into lockdown in August with all gigs being cancelled until just before Christmas, and even then, that was with limited attendance. This means that tonight was going to be my first gig in five months, and given that I covered more than 30 in the first part of the year, that was some cold turkey.
Read More...
Fool's Lagoon - Single Review: Bizarre
13 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Bizarre is the debut single from Auckland-based quintet Fool’s Lagoon. Mark, Connor, Joe, Matt and Joshua have created a bright and summery indie pop jangler which is heavily guitar-based yet is somehow light and airy throughout.
Read More...
Powder Chutes - EP Review: Sweet Noise Pollution
11 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There is always that little hint of concern when reading a press release for a new EP and realise it contains a quote from yours truly for the single which was taken from it. How would they take it this time around if I panned this release?
Read More...
Tall Folk - Album Review: Wiser
11 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
2021 was a wonderful musical adventure for me as I threw myself into the NZ music scene, and towards the end of the year I realised that with nearly 200 reviews of local music I really should work out my Top 10 singles, EP’s, albums and gigs (check out https://www.muzic.
Read More...
Pass The Peas - EP Review: Pop
06 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This three-track EP is the latest release from Poneke-based quintet Pass The Peas, who describe their music as Wasabi spicy Rock n' Roll, whatever that means. To my ears it means they play mid-paced alternative pop rock with a strong concentration on the gravelly and emotional vocals of Kurt with loads of space within the arrangements, which are well-produced.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DOWN UNDER
    Luude feat. Colin Hay
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • MR REGGAE
    L.A.B.
  • ABCDEFU
    GAYLE
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • WE DON'T TALK ABOUT BRUNO
    Various
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem