18 Jan 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

LearningToDive - Single Review: You Said It Best

17 Jun 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Learningtodive is one of a series of projects from Bravo Bonez, a musician and producer currently based in Wellington, New Zealand. He released his first single under this name back in November last year, since when he has followed it up with more singles and his debut album Norwegian Pop, which came out in April.

Although I have not heard the album, I have heard a few of the other singles, and I am somewhat surprised to see that even though the album is only a couple of months old, this song does not feature on it. I wonder if that is because musically this does not fit, as whereas the other material I have heard of his is more electronic, this feels far more mature and is based mostly around an acoustic guitar and has a far more band feel. It has more in common with Americana and mature thoughtful rock and sophisticated pop than the Soft Cell, Yazoo and Heaven 17 influences I heard on Falling Leaves, and Bravo references both Prefab Sprout and Wilco as major influences for this and one can hear those coming through.

It was co-produced by Greg Haver (Manic Street Preachers, Mel C) and Bravo Bonez, engineered and mixed by Clint Murphy (Enter Shikari, 50 Cent), with drums by Greg Haver and additional guitars by Andy Taylor. The double-tracked vocals, the gentle harmonies, the sounds of children playing in a school yard, some female vocals, and the totally unhurried approach leads to a single of some stature. The song tells the story of someone who wishes for family life, and luckily for him his ex-girlfriend has just broken up with her live-in lover and welcomes him back with open arms. It is not nearly as twee as it sounds, and I am surprised to realise that I can hear Fish in some of this, although in his less abrupt and acidic ways.

It feels like a comfortable armchair, and the more the listener pays attention the more there is to enjoy, snuggling into the smell of old leather as memories and warmth come flooding through. If this didn’t musically fit on the album then the only thing for Bravo to do now is to release a complete set of material in this manner as it is perfect listening for the evening, delicate but with hidden passion and inner strength.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About LearningToDive

LearningToDive is a New Zealand based artist with musical themes' surrounding the genres of post-punk, 80’s, alt-rock and pop. LearningToDive is an artistic identity of recently re-established musician, producer, vocalist and composer Bravo Bonez. Stylistically different from his usual music, LTD focuses on the more serious aspects of Bravos life and his perceptions of the world.

LearningToDive has spent the last 20 year following the path of mammon, spending half of his life working between the cities of London and Wellington (New Zealand). Now permanently settled in the capital of NZ due to Covid-19, LearningToDive is spending his time re-connecting with his musical passion through a variety of musical projects, as well as helping to developing and encourage local musicians through owning and running his own music studio called @puresoundstudios.

The release of High & Dry on the 20th of November was LearningToDive's first release under this musical identity, with his debut EP ready to share for early April, 2021. He plans to start touring NZ, playing his music live while performing with the violin, bass and guitar as well as singing. Watch this space for much more to come.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for LearningToDive

Releases

There are no releases to display for LearningToDive.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Blindfolded and Led To The Woods @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 15/01/2022
16 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I have been looking forward to tonight for ages, as Auckland went into lockdown in August with all gigs being cancelled until just before Christmas, and even then, that was with limited attendance. This means that tonight was going to be my first gig in five months, and given that I covered more than 30 in the first part of the year, that was some cold turkey.
Read More...
Fool's Lagoon - Single Review: Bizarre
13 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Bizarre is the debut single from Auckland-based quintet Fool’s Lagoon. Mark, Connor, Joe, Matt and Joshua have created a bright and summery indie pop jangler which is heavily guitar-based yet is somehow light and airy throughout.
Read More...
Powder Chutes - EP Review: Sweet Noise Pollution
11 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There is always that little hint of concern when reading a press release for a new EP and realise it contains a quote from yours truly for the single which was taken from it. How would they take it this time around if I panned this release?
Read More...
Tall Folk - Album Review: Wiser
11 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
2021 was a wonderful musical adventure for me as I threw myself into the NZ music scene, and towards the end of the year I realised that with nearly 200 reviews of local music I really should work out my Top 10 singles, EP’s, albums and gigs (check out https://www.muzic.
Read More...
Pass The Peas - EP Review: Pop
06 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This three-track EP is the latest release from Poneke-based quintet Pass The Peas, who describe their music as Wasabi spicy Rock n' Roll, whatever that means. To my ears it means they play mid-paced alternative pop rock with a strong concentration on the gravelly and emotional vocals of Kurt with loads of space within the arrangements, which are well-produced.
Read More...
Black Sands - Single Review: Apocalypse of Eden
22 Dec 2021 // by Kev Rowland
To my mind this single is long overdue, as I have been lucky enough to catch these guys play live a few times this year and they always put on an amazing show. Comprising Cameron Owens (guitars), Ruaidri Keens (guitars), Matt Hammond (bass) and James Trimmer (drums) they are one of those very rare breeds, a hard-hitting metal act with no need for a singer.
Read More...
Kev's Top 10's - 2021
20 Dec 2021 // by Kev Rowland
2021 has been a strange year, of that there has been no doubt whatsoever, but although everyone in Auckland is champing at the bit to be let out into the real world, it is probably best to remind ourselves that until we went into lockdown in August we were the envy of the world with festivals, plenty of beer, and the country being totally open (apart from the borders). At that time, I had been to more than 30 gigs, and was on course to hit 50 for the year, never thinking for a minute that August would be the last time I saw a band play live.
Read More...
Samantha Josephine - Album Review: The Finished Touch
19 Dec 2021 // by Kev Rowland
This is a direct continuation of the work displayed by Samantha on the Fly Bird Fly EP which came out a few months ago, except this time around she has managed to secure the services of drummers Mars Slater Vitai and Olive Konai, who between them share the duties on this 16-track 39-minute-long album. They fit in well with the ethos and spirit of Samantha, not attempting to bring in any finesse of polish, but instead keeping to the very lo-fi and naïve approach demonstrated by the singer/guitarist.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DOWN UNDER
    Luude feat. Colin Hay
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • FINGERS CROSSED
    Lauren Spencer-Smith
  • ABCDEFU
    GAYLE
  • MR REGGAE
    L.A.B.
  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem