20 Jan 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Turkey The Bird - Album Review: Turkey The Bird

07 Jun 2021 // A review by Chris Chick
The self-professed ‘Simon & Garfunkel’ of Aotearoa bring their first album to the listening ears of all New Zealanders and let us not beat around the bush, this is a corker of epic proportions. From the steadfast sound of the banjo piercing your ears delightful receptacles, to some rather incredibly smooth harmonies backed up by some rasping bass lines. The way they all fit together is like a well thought out sonnet written in German, you know it’s going to be on point and people are going to listen.


The first 3 songs are such a fantastic way to start any album, just a mix of frantic harmonies (Art and Design) and a much mellow journey of wonderful guitar and harmonies together for Counting Stars which really gets the self-retrospection chair ready for a little swinging back and forth.

My favourite song of the album is Everybody Needs A Little Sunshine. I had the privilege of reviewing this song at the beginning of the year and instantly never regretted hearing it. Though all the songs on this album are strong, it is the upbeat nature and ridiculously funny video they made for this song that will always have a special place on my Spotify playlist.

The number 7 song Cave Rave has a very Santana meets the folk scene feel to it and not surprisingly I dig all of the three minutes and twenty seven seconds, it gets to play through my speakers. I am just constantly impressed by how the banjo can be constantly used through this album but still sound fresh and not get boring.

Strangers In My Doorway provides that tear jerker moment of introspection that brings yet another piece to the proverbial Turkey the Bird pie that can be scoffed up with no issue of intestinal problems on the horizon. I like how they finish the song with a wonderful mix of harmonies, this tells me that these guys are always thinking about new ways of doing things rather than following typical formulas.

Oh I did chuckle at the last song, I will let you in with its name later, but for now when I recognized it as a 1980’s classic, I was a little sceptical at first. Then the beat picked up and with a cheesy grin on my face I started joining in with the well-known lyrics of Girls Just Wanna Have Fun by Cyndi Lauper. In true Turkey the Bird fashion, they give it a real make over with a folk twist very much to my liking.

I am not going to lie, as it is impossible for me to do that in the first place, this is my new favourite band of 2021. I love everything about them, their melodies, their harmonies, their cross over of music genres, and of course that wonderful banjo. This definitely gets a Chris Chick thumbs up 4 stars out of 5 from me, and I am extremely excited to see what they have planned for the future, and will be checking out their live gig at some point.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Turkey The Bird

Turkey The Bird is New Zealand's answer to 'Simon & Garfunkel' if '&' was a musician too.
Catchy folk songs with stunning rich melodies and effortless smooth lyrics. Songs that tell uplifting stories about love and life.



Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Turkey The Bird

Releases

Turkey The Bird
Year: 2021
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Chris Chick

Kokomo - Album Review: A Little Something From The Attic
01 Jan 2022 // by Chris Chick
16 Blues songs to review was my mission if I chose to accept it, well naturally I did, otherwise you would not be reading this, but let me just tell you something, was I excited? Oh you can bet your bottom dollar I was.
Read More...
Mini Simmons - Single Review: Railroad For Two
01 Nov 2021 // by Chris Chick
I had the privilege of listening to another cracking song by Mini Simmons. Their latest release Railroad For Two hit my ears and I am happy to say, my heart was warmed by such a melodic and poignant song that is perfect for any setting where peace and calm are the order of the day.
Read More...
Oceanspace - Single Review: Silver City Rain
01 Sep 2021 // by Chris Chick
Now and again a song comes around that makes you stop and think "well that certainly surprised me". This is in no way a negative connotation, I would hate to think that my initial perspective was one of which, when I was given the task to review this song, I was already looking to the one-star rating.
Read More...
Salt Rock - Single Review: Six Appeal
30 Jul 2021 // by Chris Chick
Any song that has a sultry baseline and some trumpets are always going to grab my listening ear and have me easily fall in love with, that is just how I roll. Salt Rock are a funk-dub group based in Christchurch made up of seven pals doing their thing to the wonderful New Zealand music scene.
Read More...
False Heights - Single Review: Caught Up
21 Jul 2021 // by Chris Chick
The Taupo based pop duo False Heights have released their new single Caught Up and it is a corker. From the get go, the song takes me from the mid-winter blues (as I write this review) to the yearning of a wonderful sun filled summer on its way.
Read More...
Banana Mundo - EP Review: Hola
29 Apr 2021 // by Chris Chick
You just know with a name like Banana Mundo that you are in for a good time, as my old man once said to me "Chris, I am short and so is life, we are here for a good time, not a long time". It's a shame he did not have this EP at hand to use it in his timely philosophical saying.
Read More...
MARY. - Single Review: Day To Day
12 Mar 2021 // by Chris Chick
MARY. is the ‘dreamy’ alter ego of the songs creator Stef T, a robust and staunch woman making her way in what can be perceived as a very male orientated world in many aspects.
Read More...
Revulva - Single Review: Sniffly Lady
25 Feb 2021 // by Chris Chick
I had the privilege and honour to review the debut single from Revulva, Sniffly Lady, a song all about the grand boogie on a Saturday night. No matter how old or young you are, the intense anticipation of getting out and amongst the people for a boogie, especially in this day and age, is the great equalizer to the capitalistic machine we all find ourselves under.
Read More...
View All Articles By Chris Chick

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DOWN UNDER
    Luude feat. Colin Hay
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • FINGERS CROSSED
    Lauren Spencer-Smith
  • ABCDEFU
    GAYLE
  • MR REGGAE
    L.A.B.
  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem