5 Aug 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Turkey The Bird - Album Review: Turkey The Bird

07 Jun 2021 // A review by Chris Chick
The self-professed ‘Simon & Garfunkel’ of Aotearoa bring their first album to the listening ears of all New Zealanders and let us not beat around the bush, this is a corker of epic proportions. From the steadfast sound of the banjo piercing your ears delightful receptacles, to some rather incredibly smooth harmonies backed up by some rasping bass lines. The way they all fit together is like a well thought out sonnet written in German, you know it’s going to be on point and people are going to listen.


The first 3 songs are such a fantastic way to start any album, just a mix of frantic harmonies (Art and Design) and a much mellow journey of wonderful guitar and harmonies together for Counting Stars which really gets the self-retrospection chair ready for a little swinging back and forth.

My favourite song of the album is Everybody Needs A Little Sunshine. I had the privilege of reviewing this song at the beginning of the year and instantly never regretted hearing it. Though all the songs on this album are strong, it is the upbeat nature and ridiculously funny video they made for this song that will always have a special place on my Spotify playlist.

The number 7 song Cave Rave has a very Santana meets the folk scene feel to it and not surprisingly I dig all of the three minutes and twenty seven seconds, it gets to play through my speakers. I am just constantly impressed by how the banjo can be constantly used through this album but still sound fresh and not get boring.

Strangers In My Doorway provides that tear jerker moment of introspection that brings yet another piece to the proverbial Turkey the Bird pie that can be scoffed up with no issue of intestinal problems on the horizon. I like how they finish the song with a wonderful mix of harmonies, this tells me that these guys are always thinking about new ways of doing things rather than following typical formulas.

Oh I did chuckle at the last song, I will let you in with its name later, but for now when I recognized it as a 1980’s classic, I was a little sceptical at first. Then the beat picked up and with a cheesy grin on my face I started joining in with the well-known lyrics of Girls Just Wanna Have Fun by Cyndi Lauper. In true Turkey the Bird fashion, they give it a real make over with a folk twist very much to my liking.

I am not going to lie, as it is impossible for me to do that in the first place, this is my new favourite band of 2021. I love everything about them, their melodies, their harmonies, their cross over of music genres, and of course that wonderful banjo. This definitely gets a Chris Chick thumbs up 4 stars out of 5 from me, and I am extremely excited to see what they have planned for the future, and will be checking out their live gig at some point.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Turkey The Bird

Turkey The Bird is New Zealand's answer to 'Simon & Garfunkel' if '&' was a musician too.
Catchy folk songs with stunning rich melodies and effortless smooth lyrics. Songs that tell uplifting stories about love and life.



Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Turkey The Bird

Releases

Turkey The Bird
Year: 2021
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Chris Chick

Salt Rock - Single Review: Six Appeal
30 Jul 2021 // by Chris Chick
Any song that has a sultry baseline and some trumpets are always going to grab my listening ear and have me easily fall in love with, that is just how I roll. Salt Rock are a funk-dub group based in Christchurch made up of seven pals doing their thing to the wonderful New Zealand music scene.
Read More...
False Heights - Single Review: Caught Up
21 Jul 2021 // by Chris Chick
The Taupo based pop duo False Heights have released their new single Caught Up and it is a corker. From the get go, the song takes me from the mid-winter blues (as I write this review) to the yearning of a wonderful sun filled summer on its way.
Read More...
Banana Mundo - EP Review: Hola
29 Apr 2021 // by Chris Chick
You just know with a name like Banana Mundo that you are in for a good time, as my old man once said to me "Chris, I am short and so is life, we are here for a good time, not a long time". It's a shame he did not have this EP at hand to use it in his timely philosophical saying.
Read More...
MARY. - Single Review: Day To Day
12 Mar 2021 // by Chris Chick
MARY. is the ‘dreamy’ alter ego of the songs creator Stef T, a robust and staunch woman making her way in what can be perceived as a very male orientated world in many aspects.
Read More...
Revulva - Single Review: Sniffly Lady
25 Feb 2021 // by Chris Chick
I had the privilege and honour to review the debut single from Revulva, Sniffly Lady, a song all about the grand boogie on a Saturday night. No matter how old or young you are, the intense anticipation of getting out and amongst the people for a boogie, especially in this day and age, is the great equalizer to the capitalistic machine we all find ourselves under.
Read More...
Bad Llamas - EP Review: Wunderlane
31 Jan 2021 // by Chris Chick
The new 6 track EP Wunderlane by Bad Llamas is a breath of fresh air when it comes to NZ music. Situated down in the depths of Christchurch, this is the band's second EP release after their debut 2019 EP What Even is Bad Llamas.
Read More...
Paul The Kid - Single Review: Palm Trees & Ciggies
08 Dec 2020 // by Chris Chick
If you were wondering what you Summer song was going to be for this year, the year of the 'what the hell just happened' Palm Trees and Ciggies could well be your winner to take you through to the next Winter. Any song that drops a humdinger of a ska/reggae beat is a sure fire way to get noticed by this reviewer, especially as the temperature starts to warm up and the stock of cold ones increases in the fridge.
Read More...
Miles Calder - Single Review: Take Me Back To How It Was
19 Oct 2020 // by Chris Chick
I think I just found the band that I really want to jam with; Miles Calder's new song Take Me Back To How It Was is a sound that really does what it says on the tin, it takes you back to the way it was. This late 60's and 70's psychedelic number really softens the soul and enables one to really re-live by gone days that many of us did not even have the opportunity to experience.
Read More...
View All Articles By Chris Chick

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • BEGGIN'
    Måneskin
  • GOOD 4 U
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • AIN'T S**T
    Doja Cat
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem