26 Sep 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Mudbelly - Single Review: Baby U No Good

07 Jun 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Last weekend I was fortunate enough to both survive the ravages of Canterbury’s wild weather and experience the force of nature which is Mudbelly, with the latter more than making up for going out in the driving rain to get to the gig. This means I am in the somewhat unusual position of having heard this song played in concert prior to coming across the recorded version, and it is interesting to hear just how different it is in this setting. Of course, part of that is due to only singer Bex and drummer John still being in the band from those who played on this, but Mudbelly in concert are a blues-based beast who take no prisoners and are slightly more restrained in the studio.

What strikes one from the off is the riff, which involves chords being slid into, combined with the production, which deliberately keeps the guitar sparse and somewhat dated. The song commences with just guitar and no other instrumentation, and one is taken back into the Sixties, and when the second guitar comes in, one still does not imagine this is a modern song: it is only when it comes to the chorus where it becomes much more of a rocker.

The song is rooted in blues, brought alive by the incredible vocals of Bex who has a breadth and depth to her voice that is so often missing from performers of today, living and breathing the words she sings, packed full of emotion and power. There is loads of space within the arrangement, so much so that even with multiple guitars being overlaid one never feels it is too oppressive and over the top. The riff is simple, feeling as if it comes out of the early electric blues scene from the likes of Lightnin’ Hopkins, a stark reminder of times gone by, with the warmth of the vocals taking it in a different direction. She has been compared to Amy Winehouse, but while I do see that, I feel she is more of a Maggie Bell/Janis Joplin style of singer, and although here she is somewhat restrained, when it comes to the chorus, she shows what she can do with her voice, powering through.

It is a classic number, totally out of keeping with what many would expect to hear from a modern band, and all the better for it. The production is sympathetic to the style, and the result is something which will make lovers of classic, blues-based rock (me!) simply smile as we keep putting it on repeat.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Mudbelly

Mudbelly. It's a name.

We are a dirty blues band from Christchurch. If we were ever invited to define ourselves in the Oxford Dictionary: Power-rockin, ball-bustin, whisky-whackin ninjas of blues laden rock would be in our top three.

Fronted by Bex, swaggering rock banshee who won her voice in a poker game with the devil, together with Michael (guitar), Marcus (bass) and John (drums), the sound....just sounds right.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Mudbelly

Releases

Mudbelly
Year: 2020
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Power The Light - Single Review: Snowing
23 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Power The Light is Max Roskilly, an 18-year-old musician who is based in Auckland , and has been self-releasing music for the last four years already, including the album Blueprints a while back. This is his second single in recent months, following on from Skys where he showed an interest more in krautrock than in is normal indie-jazz style.
Read More...
Single Review: Glass Throne
23 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Glass Throne are an Auckland-based power trio comprising Justin Robinson (lead vocals, bass, guitar), Owen McKibbin (guitar, organ, backing vocals) and Daniel Cutfield (drums, percussion, backing vocals). I have managed to catch them play live a few times over the last year, and what always strikes me is just how different they are to the rest of the local scene, coming through as a mix of classic Seventies hard rock, progressive and modern alt rock.
Read More...
On Tick - Single Review: Nothing New
21 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
On Tick is the brainchild of brothers Brendan (vocals and drums) and Aidan O'Loughlin (vocals, guitar), and was formed from the ashes of their previous musical outfit, Evil Tomato, who began as a band in 2012. They came across 5-string bassist Matt Hammond when they heard the demoes for Black Sands, which he not only produced but played on, and he joined forces to work with them on the album and to allow them to play in the Ding Dong Battle of the Bands.
Read More...
Ravenhall - EP Review: The Coming Storm
21 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Ravenhall were formed by guitarist Joe Ravenhall and singer Chris Brebner in 2015. They were both already veterans of the Auckland scene, and wanted to perform music which concentrated on the power of acoustic guitar, wonderful vocals, plus some gentle electronic backing, and that is certainly what we have here.
Read More...
Album Review: Black Alpine
19 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
The very first time I looked at the cover of this album I was reminded of Deep Purple’s In Rock, as even though that was a stylised version of Mount Rushmore, there we had dudes with long hair playing Seventies hard rock and that is the same here. I mean, we even have aviator sunglasses!
Read More...
Secrets Of The Sun - Album Review: Obon
19 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Obon is the debut album from alternative metal band Secrets of the Sun, a quartet based in Wellington. It has been a while in the making, in that the first single, Suffer With The Moon, was actually released a year ago while Wretched Tracks came out in February: both are included here.
Read More...
Written By Wolves - EP Review: Secrets - The Collab Project
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Since I started writing for New Zealand’s #1 music site, https://www.muzic.
Read More...
Alien Weaponry - Album Review: Tangaroa
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
There is no doubt whatsoever that Alien Weaponry have captured the imagination not only of the New Zealand public, but metalheads worldwide, with their combination of groove and thrash metal mixing with their Maori heritage to create something very special indeed. There really is no other band quite like them, although I do sometimes find myself thinking of the impact of Sepultura and their Roots album, but one does need to remember that was Sepultura’s sixth album, some 12 years after their first release.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • PEPEHA
    Six60
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • THAT'S WHAT I WANT
    Lil Nas X
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem