4 Aug 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Mudbelly - Single Review: Baby U No Good

07 Jun 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Last weekend I was fortunate enough to both survive the ravages of Canterbury’s wild weather and experience the force of nature which is Mudbelly, with the latter more than making up for going out in the driving rain to get to the gig. This means I am in the somewhat unusual position of having heard this song played in concert prior to coming across the recorded version, and it is interesting to hear just how different it is in this setting. Of course, part of that is due to only singer Bex and drummer John still being in the band from those who played on this, but Mudbelly in concert are a blues-based beast who take no prisoners and are slightly more restrained in the studio.

What strikes one from the off is the riff, which involves chords being slid into, combined with the production, which deliberately keeps the guitar sparse and somewhat dated. The song commences with just guitar and no other instrumentation, and one is taken back into the Sixties, and when the second guitar comes in, one still does not imagine this is a modern song: it is only when it comes to the chorus where it becomes much more of a rocker.

The song is rooted in blues, brought alive by the incredible vocals of Bex who has a breadth and depth to her voice that is so often missing from performers of today, living and breathing the words she sings, packed full of emotion and power. There is loads of space within the arrangement, so much so that even with multiple guitars being overlaid one never feels it is too oppressive and over the top. The riff is simple, feeling as if it comes out of the early electric blues scene from the likes of Lightnin’ Hopkins, a stark reminder of times gone by, with the warmth of the vocals taking it in a different direction. She has been compared to Amy Winehouse, but while I do see that, I feel she is more of a Maggie Bell/Janis Joplin style of singer, and although here she is somewhat restrained, when it comes to the chorus, she shows what she can do with her voice, powering through.

It is a classic number, totally out of keeping with what many would expect to hear from a modern band, and all the better for it. The production is sympathetic to the style, and the result is something which will make lovers of classic, blues-based rock (me!) simply smile as we keep putting it on repeat.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Mudbelly

Mudbelly. It's a name.

We are a dirty blues band from Christchurch. If we were ever invited to define ourselves in the Oxford Dictionary: Power-rockin, ball-bustin, whisky-whackin ninjas of blues laden rock would be in our top three.

Fronted by Bex, swaggering rock banshee who won her voice in a poker game with the devil, together with Michael (guitar), Marcus (bass) and John (drums), the sound....just sounds right.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Mudbelly

Releases

Mudbelly
Year: 2020
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Marianne Leigh - Single Review: Sweet Goodbyes
03 Aug 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Marianne Leigh may only be 18 years of age, but she has already won Smokefree Rockquest, has been on TV and Radio NZ, is a three-time finalist of the Play It Strange songwriting competitions as well as being mentored by Bic Runga, so perhaps it should be no surprise that her new single Sweet Goodbyes is like a breath of fresh air in a market that often over-produces young singers. This is indie-pop, and is annoyingly catchy and infectious, so much so that I have been finding myself walking along absentmindedly humming the tune.
Read More...
Simp Vader - Single Review: All The Time
03 Aug 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Simp Vader are a South Auckland alternative rock band, heavily influenced by the Shoegaze movement, who were formed by Rory Maddren (vocals, guitar) and Josh Banning-Taylor (lead guitar) towards the end of 2020. With the arrival of Branden Pritchard (drums) and Scott Parker (bass, backing vocals) they have been working on recording their debut EP this year, and this is the first track to be released.
Read More...
The Sam Loveridge Band - Single Review: Run Into You
02 Aug 2021 // by Kev Rowland
It has been a couple of years since I last came across Sam Loveridge and his excellent album, Clarity, and in the intervening time he has turned himself into a full band. At the time of that album release, AAA label boss TeMatera Smith could not stop talking about it, so it is no surprise at all that the new single, Run Into You, was recorded at Red Room Studio by Jamie Crerar, mastered by Chris Chetland at Kog, and again released by AAA.
Read More...
Capital Theatre - Single/Video Review: Fire
02 Aug 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Capital Theatre are back with the most recent single, Fire, from the forthcoming album (which is due out in October), following on from the incredible People, which has been on constant repeat at my place. Given just how much I have been playing that, I did have some concerns that Fire may not live up to the same level, but these were soon blown away.
Read More...
Sidewinder - Single Review: Walk of Ishi
01 Aug 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Sidewinder are back with their third single Walk of Ishi, which follows on from the powerful Mississippi Fire, which came out a few months ago. Again, what we have here is stoner rock, with very strong links to QOTSA, which are based around the vocals of Jason Curtis.
Read More...
Gig Review: Capital Theatre @ Botany Commons, Auckland - 31/07/2021
01 Aug 2021 // by Kev Rowland
I was fortunate enough to catch Capital Theatre earlier this year at The Tuning Fork, and hearing that they were playing Botany, which is not too far from me, meant a trip to a pub venue situated in a shopping complex, not the sort of place I normally visit. Still, it is always good to come to a place which has a nice permanent stage and lighting and walking in I could see the CT drumkit on stage, along with multiple guitars and Marshall amps – the guys certainly know how to make an impression even when they are not performing.
Read More...
Gig Review: Dianne Swann @ Mt Eden Village Hall, Auckland - 30/07/2021
31 Jul 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Friday night had me out to yet another “new” (to me) venue, namely the village hall in Mount Eden. I stood in the doorway and was stunned by what I saw, as the hall had been filled with long tables covered in black cloth, all with tealight candles.
Read More...
Skank Bandit - Album Review: Blood, Sweat and Beers
29 Jul 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Blood, Sweat and Beers is the second album by Skank Bandit, a quartet who describe their music as an explosive combination of reggae, rock, ska, funk, metal, and punk, and to be honest they have hit the nail right on the head. When people think of punk, particularly British punk, they tend to focus on the out and out aggression of Sex Pistols and the like and tend to forget that some of the bands had far broader tastes and influences, and such was the case of The Clash.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • BEGGIN'
    Måneskin
  • GOOD 4 U
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • AIN'T S**T
    Doja Cat
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem