17 Oct 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Mudbelly - Single Review: Baby U No Good

07 Jun 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Last weekend I was fortunate enough to both survive the ravages of Canterbury’s wild weather and experience the force of nature which is Mudbelly, with the latter more than making up for going out in the driving rain to get to the gig. This means I am in the somewhat unusual position of having heard this song played in concert prior to coming across the recorded version, and it is interesting to hear just how different it is in this setting. Of course, part of that is due to only singer Bex and drummer John still being in the band from those who played on this, but Mudbelly in concert are a blues-based beast who take no prisoners and are slightly more restrained in the studio.

What strikes one from the off is the riff, which involves chords being slid into, combined with the production, which deliberately keeps the guitar sparse and somewhat dated. The song commences with just guitar and no other instrumentation, and one is taken back into the Sixties, and when the second guitar comes in, one still does not imagine this is a modern song: it is only when it comes to the chorus where it becomes much more of a rocker.

The song is rooted in blues, brought alive by the incredible vocals of Bex who has a breadth and depth to her voice that is so often missing from performers of today, living and breathing the words she sings, packed full of emotion and power. There is loads of space within the arrangement, so much so that even with multiple guitars being overlaid one never feels it is too oppressive and over the top. The riff is simple, feeling as if it comes out of the early electric blues scene from the likes of Lightnin’ Hopkins, a stark reminder of times gone by, with the warmth of the vocals taking it in a different direction. She has been compared to Amy Winehouse, but while I do see that, I feel she is more of a Maggie Bell/Janis Joplin style of singer, and although here she is somewhat restrained, when it comes to the chorus, she shows what she can do with her voice, powering through.

It is a classic number, totally out of keeping with what many would expect to hear from a modern band, and all the better for it. The production is sympathetic to the style, and the result is something which will make lovers of classic, blues-based rock (me!) simply smile as we keep putting it on repeat.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Mudbelly

Mudbelly. It's a name.

We are a dirty blues band from Christchurch. If we were ever invited to define ourselves in the Oxford Dictionary: Power-rockin, ball-bustin, whisky-whackin ninjas of blues laden rock would be in our top three.

Fronted by Bex, swaggering rock banshee who won her voice in a poker game with the devil, together with Michael (guitar), Marcus (bass) and John (drums), the sound....just sounds right.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Mudbelly

Releases

Mudbelly
Year: 2020
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Jenny Mitchell - Single Review: Trouble Finds A Girl with Tami Neilson
14 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
The Auckland Folk Festival earlier this year was an embarrassment of riches, with so many great Kiwi artists playing multiple sets, and I spent the weekend trying to soak in as much as possible. There is no doubt that one of the highlights was Jenny Mitchell, who with her sisters Nicola and Maegan, provided warm and emotional country music in a style which seemed very much at odds with her age.
Read More...
Bianca Rae - Single Review: Flower
14 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
There are times when the music world is very small indeed, which is why earlier this year I found myself at The Portland Public House in Auckland to see a singer-songwriter, having been put in contact by a fellow reviewer who is in the UK. Even though Bianca Rae was the support, and everything was running late, she refused to let anything get to her, and I thoroughly enjoyed her set.
Read More...
Blue River Baby - Single Review: Green Cones
14 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Following on from the single Pay, which I reviewed a few months back, Blue River Baby (BRBB) are back with the second single from their second album, which is due next year. We find them moving much more into a dub style, with Ree Thomson’s wonderfully clear vocals very much the centre of attention.
Read More...
Downfall of Humanity - EP Review: Deceit
10 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
It is not often that a band can say they have had the same line-up for more than 10 years, but Auckland metal act Downfall of Humanity can claim just that. Daniel Carleton (lead vocals), Alex Carleton (guitars, backing vocals), Bryce Patten (guitars, backing vocals), Ben Pegman (bass) and Ben Bakker (drums) have a reputation for always delivering the goods, and I count myself lucky to have caught them a few times in the last year.
Read More...
The Rocky Bay Midnights - Album Review: Songs About People We Know
10 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
The Rocky Bay Midnights are a Waiheke Island-based group who first started some three years ago when Meredith Wilkie (vocals, percussion) and Kyla Dyresen (keyboard/piano) were both independently looking for musicians, to work with, and decided to form a band together. It took quite a while for them to settle on the current line-up of Simon McDowell (drums), Dione Denize (bass) and Julion Wright (guitar, saxophone) and now they have just released their debut album.
Read More...
Iveta & Simone - Single Review: Obsessed
07 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Although Iveta & Simone have been around for a few years, this single is the first time I have come across them. When it commenced, I felt we were in for some sort of electronic dance music, but I soon realized that in many ways they remind me much more of the Eighties band Yazoo.
Read More...
Shihad - Album Review: Old Gods
07 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
There is no doubt that Shihad are the Kiwi rock band who should have broken America 20 years ago, and if it wasn’t for a series of unfortunate events such as the attack on the Twin Towers, which caused the band to change their name (Shihad being too close to Jihad, but while Pacifier may have seemed a good idea on paper, it wasn’t and they eventually switched back), or accidently upsetting virtually every record label at a showcase gig, then they would have been. The first time I saw Shihad was at Western Springs opening for AC/DC, and there is no doubt that the guys were blown away by the reaction, as it seemed that although everyone was there for the main event, they were all diehard Shihad fans as well, singing along to every song.
Read More...
Vera Ellen - Album Review: It's Your Birthday
07 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Vera Ellen (Girl Friday, Maple Syrup) is back in Wellington after some time in Los Angeles, where she wrote most of the material which can now be found on her debut for Flying Nun Records. Written over the space of a few years, the album captures a time in Vera’s early Twenties where she was going through extremes of emotions.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • LOVE NWANTITI (AH AH AH)
    CKay
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • MEET ME AT OUR SPOT
    THE ANXIETY, WILLOW And Tyler Cole
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem