17 Jun 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

DRXNES - Single Review: Junkie

07 Jun 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Prior to hearing this single I had heard only positive things about Whanganui band DRXNES and having now played this I can see exactly why. This is a highly polished, highly produced number which sounds as if it has come out of a top American band and studio as opposed to little old Aotearoa. There are a huge amount of influences inside a song which is only 4 ½ minutes long, from the likes of Linkin Park to Limp Bizkit, Tool to Slipknot, and so much more. Even played at a low volume one understands this is an incredibly powerful, heavy and loud number, with the atmospheric heartbeat Floydian intro giving no indication whatsoever of what is going to happen.

They soon crunch into the groove, with the drums providing the cut through needed, as the guitars and bass are often playing as one, like a well-honed machine, creating a bouncing groove that is impossible not to move along to. There is a real wall of sound being created, but what makes this stand out are the multiple sections the band has put into just one small piece of music, with one piece near the end sounding as if they have been playing close attention to recent Sepultura, with guitars going down and dirty. But there are other sections when instead of being sung, the vocals come across far more as if it is Fred Durst from 20 years ago.

The contrast of styles and tempo within Junkie means the listener never gets bored, as while it is always intense there are different levels within that. This is a song which really moves and changes, so that one is never sure where it is going go, as just when it appears to be settled in, it takes flight and changes again. The guitars are always part of the whole, sometimes shifting and providing different melodic interchanges, but always very connected with the song as opposed to being something which is unnecessarily showy, and it certainly makes one think this is a well-oiled machine.

One can imagine that this is massive when played live, as here it has been polished within an inch of its life, while never losing the passion and energy, yet at a gig this will intentionally blow people away. To get the best result, put it on and crank it up loud, real loud.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About DRXNES

DRXNES are a Wanganui-based metal band formed in 2015. Loved for their stadium-ready anthems and high-energy performances, they have become a critical fixture in New Zealand's live music scene. With two national tours to their name in 2018 and 2019, they have also opened for international and national touring artists including Stray From The Path, Skinny Hobos, Intervals, Counterparts, Earth Tongue and Blindspott. DRXNES are currently working on new music and touring schedules for 2020.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for DRXNES

Releases

There are no releases to display for DRXNES.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Blitz Metal Fest @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 12/06/2021
13 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Well, today was a first for me, coming to Ding Dong in the daylight! This was because it was time for Metal Blitz, a 13-band event being held which was planned to run for 10 hours but we all thought was probably going to take longer.
Read More...
Gatekeepers - Single Review: Always a Rebel, Never a Rogue
09 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Gatekeepers may be a new name to most of you, but this New Plymouth quartet have managed to secure the opening slot in Hamilton for the Devilskin and Kora show, so they have already started to gain some attention and based on this single one can hear why. The band was only formed earlier this year by guitarist/singer Jeremy Donoghue, rhythm guitarist Sean Phillips and bassist Mat Pipe, since when they have been writing and recording tracks before sending them to the UK to be mixed by Adam Wain.
Read More...
Investigator - Single Review: Lake of Eyes
09 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Adrian Drew and his band of merry men are back with the third single from their forthcoming album and given what I have heard to date I am really looking forward to that when it comes out. While Adrian provides guitar and vocals, the band is now firmly settled with David Crowhen (bass) Undercut, Craig van Kan (drums), The Couch, and lead guitarist Adam Morton-Mason, These Fine Galleons.
Read More...
Mudbelly - Single Review: Baby U No Good
07 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Last weekend I was fortunate enough to both survive the ravages of Canterbury’s wild weather and experience the force of nature which is Mudbelly, with the latter more than making up for going out in the driving rain to get to the gig. This means I am in the somewhat unusual position of having heard this song played in concert prior to coming across the recorded version, and it is interesting to hear just how different it is in this setting.
Read More...
Gig Review: Dead Favours @ Darkroom, Christchurch - 04/06/2021
07 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
For the second time in less than a week it was back into the centre of Christchurch and St. Asaph Street, but whereas last time it was to the 12 Bar, this week it was next door, to Darkroom.
Read More...
Gig Review: Mudbelly @ 12 Bar, Christchurch - 29/05/2021
30 May 2021 // by Kev Rowland
In the middle of a red alert weather warning, I trekked from Oxford into Christchurch to attend Mudbelly’s album launch. It has been a while since I last went to a gig down here, but I have been to some real killers in the past (Sepultura, Death Angel and Blindfolded And Led To The Woods at Canterbury University’s The Foundry will long stick in my mind), so was looking forward to this.
Read More...
Lorenzo Hazelwood - Single Review: Same Mistake
28 May 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Lorenzo Hazlewood is probably best known as front man for Auckland hard rock band Close To The Bone, but he also released some solo singles last year in slightly different fashion, and now he has returned with his first for 2021, Same Mistake. This is reminiscent in some ways of classic ballad-style grunge like good Alice In Chains or Soundgarden, with his vocals very much to the fore.
Read More...
Dead Favours - Album Review: Riffing & Yelling
28 May 2021 // by Kev Rowland
A few weeks ago Dead Favours released the single Move On and now they have released Side A of Riffing & Yelling, six songs determined to grab hold of your brain and never let go. When I reviewed the single, I attempted to describe it as possibly Kyuss mixed with Foo Fighters, My Chemical Romance, and The Darkness and here we have 22 minutes which makes me think that comparison still mostly holds true.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GOOD 4 U
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • DEJA VU
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • BODY (REMIX)
    Russ Millions x Tion Wayne
  • TRAITOR
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • FAVORITE CRIME
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • SAVE YOUR TEARS (REMIX)
    The Weeknd And Ariana Grande
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem