4 Aug 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

DRXNES - Single Review: Junkie

07 Jun 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Prior to hearing this single I had heard only positive things about Whanganui band DRXNES and having now played this I can see exactly why. This is a highly polished, highly produced number which sounds as if it has come out of a top American band and studio as opposed to little old Aotearoa. There are a huge amount of influences inside a song which is only 4 ½ minutes long, from the likes of Linkin Park to Limp Bizkit, Tool to Slipknot, and so much more. Even played at a low volume one understands this is an incredibly powerful, heavy and loud number, with the atmospheric heartbeat Floydian intro giving no indication whatsoever of what is going to happen.

They soon crunch into the groove, with the drums providing the cut through needed, as the guitars and bass are often playing as one, like a well-honed machine, creating a bouncing groove that is impossible not to move along to. There is a real wall of sound being created, but what makes this stand out are the multiple sections the band has put into just one small piece of music, with one piece near the end sounding as if they have been playing close attention to recent Sepultura, with guitars going down and dirty. But there are other sections when instead of being sung, the vocals come across far more as if it is Fred Durst from 20 years ago.

The contrast of styles and tempo within Junkie means the listener never gets bored, as while it is always intense there are different levels within that. This is a song which really moves and changes, so that one is never sure where it is going go, as just when it appears to be settled in, it takes flight and changes again. The guitars are always part of the whole, sometimes shifting and providing different melodic interchanges, but always very connected with the song as opposed to being something which is unnecessarily showy, and it certainly makes one think this is a well-oiled machine.

One can imagine that this is massive when played live, as here it has been polished within an inch of its life, while never losing the passion and energy, yet at a gig this will intentionally blow people away. To get the best result, put it on and crank it up loud, real loud.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About DRXNES

DRXNES are a Wanganui-based metal band formed in 2015. Loved for their stadium-ready anthems and high-energy performances, they have become a critical fixture in New Zealand's live music scene. With two national tours to their name in 2018 and 2019, they have also opened for international and national touring artists including Stray From The Path, Skinny Hobos, Intervals, Counterparts, Earth Tongue and Blindspott. DRXNES are currently working on new music and touring schedules for 2020.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for DRXNES

Releases

There are no releases to display for DRXNES.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Marianne Leigh - Single Review: Sweet Goodbyes
03 Aug 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Marianne Leigh may only be 18 years of age, but she has already won Smokefree Rockquest, has been on TV and Radio NZ, is a three-time finalist of the Play It Strange songwriting competitions as well as being mentored by Bic Runga, so perhaps it should be no surprise that her new single Sweet Goodbyes is like a breath of fresh air in a market that often over-produces young singers. This is indie-pop, and is annoyingly catchy and infectious, so much so that I have been finding myself walking along absentmindedly humming the tune.
Read More...
Simp Vader - Single Review: All The Time
03 Aug 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Simp Vader are a South Auckland alternative rock band, heavily influenced by the Shoegaze movement, who were formed by Rory Maddren (vocals, guitar) and Josh Banning-Taylor (lead guitar) towards the end of 2020. With the arrival of Branden Pritchard (drums) and Scott Parker (bass, backing vocals) they have been working on recording their debut EP this year, and this is the first track to be released.
Read More...
The Sam Loveridge Band - Single Review: Run Into You
02 Aug 2021 // by Kev Rowland
It has been a couple of years since I last came across Sam Loveridge and his excellent album, Clarity, and in the intervening time he has turned himself into a full band. At the time of that album release, AAA label boss TeMatera Smith could not stop talking about it, so it is no surprise at all that the new single, Run Into You, was recorded at Red Room Studio by Jamie Crerar, mastered by Chris Chetland at Kog, and again released by AAA.
Read More...
Capital Theatre - Single/Video Review: Fire
02 Aug 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Capital Theatre are back with the most recent single, Fire, from the forthcoming album (which is due out in October), following on from the incredible People, which has been on constant repeat at my place. Given just how much I have been playing that, I did have some concerns that Fire may not live up to the same level, but these were soon blown away.
Read More...
Sidewinder - Single Review: Walk of Ishi
01 Aug 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Sidewinder are back with their third single Walk of Ishi, which follows on from the powerful Mississippi Fire, which came out a few months ago. Again, what we have here is stoner rock, with very strong links to QOTSA, which are based around the vocals of Jason Curtis.
Read More...
Gig Review: Capital Theatre @ Botany Commons, Auckland - 31/07/2021
01 Aug 2021 // by Kev Rowland
I was fortunate enough to catch Capital Theatre earlier this year at The Tuning Fork, and hearing that they were playing Botany, which is not too far from me, meant a trip to a pub venue situated in a shopping complex, not the sort of place I normally visit. Still, it is always good to come to a place which has a nice permanent stage and lighting and walking in I could see the CT drumkit on stage, along with multiple guitars and Marshall amps – the guys certainly know how to make an impression even when they are not performing.
Read More...
Gig Review: Dianne Swann @ Mt Eden Village Hall, Auckland - 30/07/2021
31 Jul 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Friday night had me out to yet another “new” (to me) venue, namely the village hall in Mount Eden. I stood in the doorway and was stunned by what I saw, as the hall had been filled with long tables covered in black cloth, all with tealight candles.
Read More...
Skank Bandit - Album Review: Blood, Sweat and Beers
29 Jul 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Blood, Sweat and Beers is the second album by Skank Bandit, a quartet who describe their music as an explosive combination of reggae, rock, ska, funk, metal, and punk, and to be honest they have hit the nail right on the head. When people think of punk, particularly British punk, they tend to focus on the out and out aggression of Sex Pistols and the like and tend to forget that some of the bands had far broader tastes and influences, and such was the case of The Clash.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • BEGGIN'
    Måneskin
  • GOOD 4 U
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • AIN'T S**T
    Doja Cat
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem