13 Jun 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Dead Favours - Gig Review: Dead Favours @ Darkroom, Christchurch - 04/06/2021

07 Jun 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

For the second time in less than a week it was back into the centre of Christchurch and St. Asaph Street, but whereas last time it was to the 12 Bar, this week it was next door, to Darkroom. It is not hard to see why it has that name, with everything painted in dark colours, including the ceiling, and it had really interesting decor. What really struck me though, was just how small the venue was, and there is no doubt it has the tiniest permanent stage I have ever seen. But this place is a bastion of the live scene, one of the few places left in Christchurch which has bands playing real music as opposed to the DJ’s who are much favoured on The Terrace.

First up tonight was No Broadcast, a trio who have been around in one form or another since 2004, based around guitarist and singer Joshua Braden. They kicked off with The Shore, which commenced with Joshua using loads of effects from his pedalboard as he created a soundscape, and it wasn’t until after the first verse that drums and bass came in, providing a strong dramatic counterpoint. I was immediately struck by how influenced these guys were by the likes of Radiohead, Porcupine Tree and Simple Minds, creating a huge sound inside an inventive style.

Terrified saw them move more in a New Order direction, the strong rhythms from the drums allowing the bass to provide a quite different melody to the guitar, all building together. For much of the set there was little interaction with the audience, which seems to be something of a theme with many bands these days, but they made up for it with songs which were quite commercial in an Eighties Indie/progressive style. They were adept at creating a wall of sound, with the bass and drums providing strong cut through. Waste was a single a few years back, and this saw them up the energy to good effect, becoming far more Blur in approach, and the second half of the set was far more aggressive, which came across very well indeed.

I was determined not to miss anything from Dead Favours’ set, so stood right at the front, something I have not done at a gig for quite a while as it is probably the worst place to be when taking notes but given that their latest album is so very special indeed, I did not want to miss anything at all. Consequently, the notes I have are somewhat illegible, and I was having such a great time I did not write that much in any case! Drummer Charlie Smith sets the pace and controls things from the back, guitarist Kyle Wetton provides the musical muscle, and then there is Jared Wrennall (guitar, vocals) and newly installed Alex Elvis (bass). Both these guys are used to taking centre stage, and while Alex may only be providing harmony vocals in this band, he is used to being a focal point so gives his all, which of course makes Jared also take it to a different level.

Right from the start this felt like a party, with all the guys determined to have a good time at the end of their mini tour, with the audience in exactly the same frame of mind, and right from You and I they were in the groove and kicking up a storm. They put the latest single, Move On, as only the second song in the set and this monster was even more powerful live than on the album. That they followed it up with Dig shows just how confident these guys are to have songs like that so early in the set.

The stage was not big enough for the band, so both Jared and Alex took turns standing on speakers at the front of the stage, and it was fortunate indeed that when Alex accidentally kicked over Jared’s beer when stepping back that it mostly went down the front of Jared’s pedalboard as opposed to right over it (the beer was soon replaced). The feeling was almost feral, a band out to show just what they are capable of, with a commercial sounding hard rock with a strong bottom end and a real groove. This was just so much fun, with everybody having a smile on their face, although some of that turned to groans when Kyle said his G string had been slipping since the first song and was causing him no end of problems.

We had all of Side A of the new album (Side B out later this year), and the material fitted in well with the more established songs in what was a well-paced and structured set. Jared was having a blast, and given he was the only person playing with a cordless he could disappear into the crowd at will, with Alex joining him at one point and they had a boogie in front of the stage. With a huge hard rock sound combined with wonderful harmonies (which include effortless falsetto at the right time) and great hook-laden songs, it surely cannot be long before these guys are playing much larger venues, as opposed to being the undercard for the likes of Villainy. Even at the end of the set the audience were still baying for more, which the band were happy to oblige. Somehow everyone lifted their energy levels even more for Sake Bomb, and by the end of Riffing and Yelling, it was just intense.

When Charlie came off the stage we had a chat, and we both agreed it hadn’t been a bad performance. However, both of us had huge smiles on our faces and from the viewpoint of both band and audience it had been a truly epic show. There was a huge cheer when Jared announced they would be back in a few months with more new songs, and anyone who enjoys great music will need to be at their shows. Awesome.


Photo Credit: Kev Rowland

 

About Dead Favours

Combining a mix of huge fuzzy and sometimes quirky riffs, groove-laden drums, beautiful falsetto vocals mixed with arena commanding screams and a level of songwriting that some say has been missing from rock for some time, Dead Favours have been quick to grab the attention of the New Zealand music scene and are going from strength to strength in a very short time.

Since their formation in early 2016, the band have released a string of singles, the most notable to date being Dig (produced by Shihad’s Tom Larkin), a riff-centric banger that quickly grabbed the attention of both audiences and radio programmers alike, spending an impressive 27 weeks in the charts. The success of this debut single lead to a nationwide tour alongside the already popular Skinny Hobos, Decades and Bakers Eddy which saw the band increase momentum and pick up an army of new fans all around the country.

The band quickly followed with the singles High Flying and Better The Weather (produced again by Tom Larkin) which has seen the band go on to be invited to perform at festivals such as Jim Beam Homegrown, Demon Energy Rock The Park and share the stage with international acts Royal Blood and Rise Against which was received with rave reviews;

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Dead Favours

Releases

Riffing & Yelling Side A
Year: 2021
Type: Album
Misbehaviour
Year: 2019
Type: Album
The Dead EP
Year: 2018
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Blitz Metal Fest @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 12/06/2021
13 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Well, today was a first for me, coming to Ding Dong in the daylight! This was because it was time for Metal Blitz, a 13-band event being held which was planned to run for 10 hours but we all thought was probably going to take longer.
Read More...
Gatekeepers - Single Review: Always a Rebel, Never a Rogue
09 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Gatekeepers may be a new name to most of you, but this New Plymouth quartet have managed to secure the opening slot in Hamilton for the Devilskin and Kora show, so they have already started to gain some attention and based on this single one can hear why. The band was only formed earlier this year by guitarist/singer Jeremy Donoghue, rhythm guitarist Sean Phillips and bassist Mat Pipe, since when they have been writing and recording tracks before sending them to the UK to be mixed by Adam Wain.
Read More...
Investigator - Single Review: Lake of Eyes
09 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Adrian Drew and his band of merry men are back with the third single from their forthcoming album and given what I have heard to date I am really looking forward to that when it comes out. While Adrian provides guitar and vocals, the band is now firmly settled with David Crowhen (bass) Undercut, Craig van Kan (drums), The Couch, and lead guitarist Adam Morton-Mason, These Fine Galleons.
Read More...
Mudbelly - Single Review: Baby U No Good
07 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Last weekend I was fortunate enough to both survive the ravages of Canterbury’s wild weather and experience the force of nature which is Mudbelly, with the latter more than making up for going out in the driving rain to get to the gig. This means I am in the somewhat unusual position of having heard this song played in concert prior to coming across the recorded version, and it is interesting to hear just how different it is in this setting.
Read More...
DRXNES - Single Review: Junkie
07 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Prior to hearing this single I had heard only positive things about Whanganui band DRXNES and having now played this I can see exactly why. This is a highly polished, highly produced number which sounds as if it has come out of a top American band and studio as opposed to little old Aotearoa.
Read More...
Gig Review: Mudbelly @ 12 Bar, Christchurch - 29/05/2021
30 May 2021 // by Kev Rowland
In the middle of a red alert weather warning, I trekked from Oxford into Christchurch to attend Mudbelly’s album launch. It has been a while since I last went to a gig down here, but I have been to some real killers in the past (Sepultura, Death Angel and Blindfolded And Led To The Woods at Canterbury University’s The Foundry will long stick in my mind), so was looking forward to this.
Read More...
Lorenzo Hazelwood - Single Review: Same Mistake
28 May 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Lorenzo Hazlewood is probably best known as front man for Auckland hard rock band Close To The Bone, but he also released some solo singles last year in slightly different fashion, and now he has returned with his first for 2021, Same Mistake. This is reminiscent in some ways of classic ballad-style grunge like good Alice In Chains or Soundgarden, with his vocals very much to the fore.
Read More...
Dead Favours - Album Review: Riffing & Yelling
28 May 2021 // by Kev Rowland
A few weeks ago Dead Favours released the single Move On and now they have released Side A of Riffing & Yelling, six songs determined to grab hold of your brain and never let go. When I reviewed the single, I attempted to describe it as possibly Kyuss mixed with Foo Fighters, My Chemical Romance, and The Darkness and here we have 22 minutes which makes me think that comparison still mostly holds true.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GOOD 4 U
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • DEJA VU
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • BODY (REMIX)
    Russ Millions x Tion Wayne
  • TRAITOR
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • FAVORITE CRIME
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • SAVE YOUR TEARS (REMIX)
    The Weeknd And Ariana Grande
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem