25 Sep 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Dead Favours - Gig Review: Dead Favours @ Darkroom, Christchurch - 04/06/2021

07 Jun 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

For the second time in less than a week it was back into the centre of Christchurch and St. Asaph Street, but whereas last time it was to the 12 Bar, this week it was next door, to Darkroom. It is not hard to see why it has that name, with everything painted in dark colours, including the ceiling, and it had really interesting decor. What really struck me though, was just how small the venue was, and there is no doubt it has the tiniest permanent stage I have ever seen. But this place is a bastion of the live scene, one of the few places left in Christchurch which has bands playing real music as opposed to the DJ’s who are much favoured on The Terrace.

First up tonight was No Broadcast, a trio who have been around in one form or another since 2004, based around guitarist and singer Joshua Braden. They kicked off with The Shore, which commenced with Joshua using loads of effects from his pedalboard as he created a soundscape, and it wasn’t until after the first verse that drums and bass came in, providing a strong dramatic counterpoint. I was immediately struck by how influenced these guys were by the likes of Radiohead, Porcupine Tree and Simple Minds, creating a huge sound inside an inventive style.

Terrified saw them move more in a New Order direction, the strong rhythms from the drums allowing the bass to provide a quite different melody to the guitar, all building together. For much of the set there was little interaction with the audience, which seems to be something of a theme with many bands these days, but they made up for it with songs which were quite commercial in an Eighties Indie/progressive style. They were adept at creating a wall of sound, with the bass and drums providing strong cut through. Waste was a single a few years back, and this saw them up the energy to good effect, becoming far more Blur in approach, and the second half of the set was far more aggressive, which came across very well indeed.

I was determined not to miss anything from Dead Favours’ set, so stood right at the front, something I have not done at a gig for quite a while as it is probably the worst place to be when taking notes but given that their latest album is so very special indeed, I did not want to miss anything at all. Consequently, the notes I have are somewhat illegible, and I was having such a great time I did not write that much in any case! Drummer Charlie Smith sets the pace and controls things from the back, guitarist Kyle Wetton provides the musical muscle, and then there is Jared Wrennall (guitar, vocals) and newly installed Alex Elvis (bass). Both these guys are used to taking centre stage, and while Alex may only be providing harmony vocals in this band, he is used to being a focal point so gives his all, which of course makes Jared also take it to a different level.

Right from the start this felt like a party, with all the guys determined to have a good time at the end of their mini tour, with the audience in exactly the same frame of mind, and right from You and I they were in the groove and kicking up a storm. They put the latest single, Move On, as only the second song in the set and this monster was even more powerful live than on the album. That they followed it up with Dig shows just how confident these guys are to have songs like that so early in the set.

The stage was not big enough for the band, so both Jared and Alex took turns standing on speakers at the front of the stage, and it was fortunate indeed that when Alex accidentally kicked over Jared’s beer when stepping back that it mostly went down the front of Jared’s pedalboard as opposed to right over it (the beer was soon replaced). The feeling was almost feral, a band out to show just what they are capable of, with a commercial sounding hard rock with a strong bottom end and a real groove. This was just so much fun, with everybody having a smile on their face, although some of that turned to groans when Kyle said his G string had been slipping since the first song and was causing him no end of problems.

We had all of Side A of the new album (Side B out later this year), and the material fitted in well with the more established songs in what was a well-paced and structured set. Jared was having a blast, and given he was the only person playing with a cordless he could disappear into the crowd at will, with Alex joining him at one point and they had a boogie in front of the stage. With a huge hard rock sound combined with wonderful harmonies (which include effortless falsetto at the right time) and great hook-laden songs, it surely cannot be long before these guys are playing much larger venues, as opposed to being the undercard for the likes of Villainy. Even at the end of the set the audience were still baying for more, which the band were happy to oblige. Somehow everyone lifted their energy levels even more for Sake Bomb, and by the end of Riffing and Yelling, it was just intense.

When Charlie came off the stage we had a chat, and we both agreed it hadn’t been a bad performance. However, both of us had huge smiles on our faces and from the viewpoint of both band and audience it had been a truly epic show. There was a huge cheer when Jared announced they would be back in a few months with more new songs, and anyone who enjoys great music will need to be at their shows. Awesome.


Photo Credit: Kev Rowland

 

About Dead Favours

Combining a mix of huge fuzzy and sometimes quirky riffs, groove-laden drums, beautiful falsetto vocals mixed with arena commanding screams and a level of songwriting that some say has been missing from rock for some time, Dead Favours have been quick to grab the attention of the New Zealand music scene and are going from strength to strength in a very short time.

Since their formation in early 2016, the band have released a string of singles, the most notable to date being Dig (produced by Shihad’s Tom Larkin), a riff-centric banger that quickly grabbed the attention of both audiences and radio programmers alike, spending an impressive 27 weeks in the charts. The success of this debut single lead to a nationwide tour alongside the already popular Skinny Hobos, Decades and Bakers Eddy which saw the band increase momentum and pick up an army of new fans all around the country.

The band quickly followed with the singles High Flying and Better The Weather (produced again by Tom Larkin) which has seen the band go on to be invited to perform at festivals such as Jim Beam Homegrown, Demon Energy Rock The Park and share the stage with international acts Royal Blood and Rise Against which was received with rave reviews;

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Dead Favours

Releases

Riffing & Yelling Side A
Year: 2021
Type: Album
Misbehaviour
Year: 2019
Type: Album
The Dead EP
Year: 2018
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Power The Light - Single Review: Snowing
23 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Power The Light is Max Roskilly, an 18-year-old musician who is based in Auckland , and has been self-releasing music for the last four years already, including the album Blueprints a while back. This is his second single in recent months, following on from Skys where he showed an interest more in krautrock than in is normal indie-jazz style.
Read More...
Single Review: Glass Throne
23 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Glass Throne are an Auckland-based power trio comprising Justin Robinson (lead vocals, bass, guitar), Owen McKibbin (guitar, organ, backing vocals) and Daniel Cutfield (drums, percussion, backing vocals). I have managed to catch them play live a few times over the last year, and what always strikes me is just how different they are to the rest of the local scene, coming through as a mix of classic Seventies hard rock, progressive and modern alt rock.
Read More...
On Tick - Single Review: Nothing New
21 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
On Tick is the brainchild of brothers Brendan (vocals and drums) and Aidan O'Loughlin (vocals, guitar), and was formed from the ashes of their previous musical outfit, Evil Tomato, who began as a band in 2012. They came across 5-string bassist Matt Hammond when they heard the demoes for Black Sands, which he not only produced but played on, and he joined forces to work with them on the album and to allow them to play in the Ding Dong Battle of the Bands.
Read More...
Ravenhall - EP Review: The Coming Storm
21 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Ravenhall were formed by guitarist Joe Ravenhall and singer Chris Brebner in 2015. They were both already veterans of the Auckland scene, and wanted to perform music which concentrated on the power of acoustic guitar, wonderful vocals, plus some gentle electronic backing, and that is certainly what we have here.
Read More...
Album Review: Black Alpine
19 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
The very first time I looked at the cover of this album I was reminded of Deep Purple’s In Rock, as even though that was a stylised version of Mount Rushmore, there we had dudes with long hair playing Seventies hard rock and that is the same here. I mean, we even have aviator sunglasses!
Read More...
Secrets Of The Sun - Album Review: Obon
19 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Obon is the debut album from alternative metal band Secrets of the Sun, a quartet based in Wellington. It has been a while in the making, in that the first single, Suffer With The Moon, was actually released a year ago while Wretched Tracks came out in February: both are included here.
Read More...
Written By Wolves - EP Review: Secrets - The Collab Project
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Since I started writing for New Zealand’s #1 music site, https://www.muzic.
Read More...
Alien Weaponry - Album Review: Tangaroa
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
There is no doubt whatsoever that Alien Weaponry have captured the imagination not only of the New Zealand public, but metalheads worldwide, with their combination of groove and thrash metal mixing with their Maori heritage to create something very special indeed. There really is no other band quite like them, although I do sometimes find myself thinking of the impact of Sepultura and their Roots album, but one does need to remember that was Sepultura’s sixth album, some 12 years after their first release.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • PEPEHA
    Six60
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
  • FAIR TRADE
    Drake feat. Travis Scott
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem