13 Jun 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Dead Favours - Gig Review: Dead Favours @ Valhalla, Wellington - 03/06/2021

06 Jun 2021 // A review by Tony McDonald

In the sweaty snake pit that is Valhalla I was ordering a Fireball when two feet appeared next to me at the bar. Looking up I discover it’s the one and only Jared from Dead Favours. Surprised? No, this was his second visit to the bar, wirelessly strumming his guitar. Cool or what? The first time was when he ordered and downed what looked like a Tequila shot. Nice!

But let’s go back to the beginning of the night when Seismic State took to the stage. I have known these guys for a few years and know they put on a great show; however, I hadn’t seen the new singer Rogina before. With a blonde dreads and stunning Nordic vocals (if that’s incorrect, I apologise), Rogina fit straight into the band and looked like she had been performing with them for many years.

The general feel of the band at times reminded me of 80’s band All About Eve, with angelic vocals and rock undertones, especially on their songs Two Homes and Windowless. The last classic song Genius was also reminiscent of the 80’s band but a major difference is that almost every song had an awesome guitar solo. Be sure to follow them on Facebook. Overall, Seismic State put on a great performance that got the crowd warmed very nicely indeed and ready for the next band, Voodoo Bloo.

Voodoo Bloo are no strangers to Valhalla having played their multiple times. However tonight seemed different. There was a passion and energy that has lifted them up a gear and the audience were really getting into it. Front man Rory was very interactive with the crowd and the wall of noise was mesmerising. They played singles MMA, Her Name Was Human and Ha Ha Ok Ok, from their debut album Jacobus (available here), but it was their new material that was intriguing. It had catchy melodies that seemed less punk than the last few songs and seemed a little more mainstream, but still heavy. They have been compared to Queens of the Stone Age crossed with Arctic Monkeys, and I can see why.

The whole band simply oozed energy, especially Daniel on the guitar with flowing locks that danced to their own tune. The drummer Jackson also had some unique styles and fills that stood out, especially for someone that looks so young. Be sure to follow them on Facebook.

Having warmed up the crowd some more, Dead Favours entered the stage to a roar from the punters. Having a new bassist in the form of Alex Elvis from Skinny Hobos, I was interested to hear their new material from their latest album Riffing & Yelling. This album will be released in two parts, the first part being released in May, which can be found here.

The sound from this trusted four piece us epic and blows you away. Punchy drums from Charlie, epic riffs from Kyle Wetton and screaming vocal melodies by Jared ensured that you could not sit down during DF’s performance. The new stuff certainly seemed very polished and slightly more mainstream than the older material, think Foo Fighters and you are on the right track. Maybe also a little influence from Six60’s Chris Mac who produced the latest album. They played the new mini LP in its entirety and the songs really had more room to breathe when played live, not that this takes anything away from the recorded material.

A lovely gesture of singing happy birthday to someone in the crowd showed the great relationship they have with their fans. These guys certainly made use of the stage, jumping up onto the speakers and getting a great crowd interaction going. Move On was my pick of the songs on the evening and I can’t wait to see them again live. Make sure to get out and see them at the earliest opportunity and support by following on Facebook.

 

About Dead Favours

Combining a mix of huge fuzzy and sometimes quirky riffs, groove-laden drums, beautiful falsetto vocals mixed with arena commanding screams and a level of songwriting that some say has been missing from rock for some time, Dead Favours have been quick to grab the attention of the New Zealand music scene and are going from strength to strength in a very short time.

Since their formation in early 2016, the band have released a string of singles, the most notable to date being Dig (produced by Shihad’s Tom Larkin), a riff-centric banger that quickly grabbed the attention of both audiences and radio programmers alike, spending an impressive 27 weeks in the charts. The success of this debut single lead to a nationwide tour alongside the already popular Skinny Hobos, Decades and Bakers Eddy which saw the band increase momentum and pick up an army of new fans all around the country.

The band quickly followed with the singles High Flying and Better The Weather (produced again by Tom Larkin) which has seen the band go on to be invited to perform at festivals such as Jim Beam Homegrown, Demon Energy Rock The Park and share the stage with international acts Royal Blood and Rise Against which was received with rave reviews;

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Dead Favours

Releases

Riffing & Yelling Side A
Year: 2021
Type: Album
Misbehaviour
Year: 2019
Type: Album
The Dead EP
Year: 2018
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Tony McDonald

Gig Review: Elemeno P @ San Fan, Wellington - 25/02/2021
27 Feb 2021 // by Tony McDonald
New Zealand’s very own Blink 182, Elemeno P, with support from Fruit Juice Parade and Valentina hit San Fran, on a fantastic warm Wellington evening. It was packed out; beers were flowing, and the sticky smell of the low-ceilinged venue was absolutely buzzing.
Read More...
Gig Review: Devilskin with Shepherds Reign @ San Fran, Wellington - 08/10/2020
11 Oct 2020 // by Tony McDonald
Even during a period of uncertainty in New Zealand with Covid-19, Devilskin and support act Shepherds Reign managed to fill San Francisco Bath House in Wellington. In fact, I have not seen a queue outside on the street for quite some time.
Read More...
Album Review: MudBelly
20 May 2020 // by Tony McDonald
I'm glad we are on lockdown, as its time to really put my speakers to the test and turn them up loud (but not too loud, my health & safety hat is on).MudBelly (what a great name) are fairly new, but this debut album will ensure that they are going to be well-known from now on!
Read More...
Apollo SteamTrain - Single Review: Phone Box of Life
02 Mar 2020 // by Tony McDonald
This upbeat Summer rock song really took me by surprise, and in a very good way.The latest single from Apollo SteamTrain takes the listener on a journey back to the 80’s.
Read More...
EP Review: Jumping The Fucking Shark
31 Dec 2019 // by Tony McDonald
Happy New Year everyone, hope you all had a great Christmas. To start the new year off with a bang I had the pleasure of reviewing the debut self-titled EP from Jumping the Fucking Shark.
Read More...
Gig Review: Devilskin @ Hunter Lounge, Wellington - 24/10/2019
27 Oct 2019 // by Tony McDonald
24th October @ The Hunter Lounge in Wellington and Black Smoke Trigger emerge to a packed out venue. Flashing lights, smoke, the smell of alcohol and a vocal crowd were there to greet them.
Read More...
Holloway Holiday - Single Review: Here Comes Glitterboy
06 Sep 2019 // by Tony McDonald
When something this powerful, upbeat and energetic comes along you have to stand up and take notice. Holloway Holiday have released a fantastic new single called Here Comes Glitterboy, and it comes complete with funky digital sounds and a mix of real and electronic drums which work amazingly well together.
Read More...
Dead Beat Boys - EP Review: Very Live
14 Jul 2019 // by Tony McDonald
This five-song live punk EP from the Dead Beat Boys is packed with plenty of talent and energy. I was expecting to hear the crowd clapping and screaming, but there is none of that on this EP which was surprising.
Read More...
View All Articles By Tony McDonald

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GOOD 4 U
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • DEJA VU
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • BODY (REMIX)
    Russ Millions x Tion Wayne
  • TRAITOR
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • FAVORITE CRIME
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • SAVE YOUR TEARS (REMIX)
    The Weeknd And Ariana Grande
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem