4 Aug 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Lorenzo Hazelwood - Single Review: Same Mistake

28 May 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Lorenzo Hazlewood is probably best known as front man for Auckland hard rock band Close To The Bone, but he also released some solo singles last year in slightly different fashion, and now he has returned with his first for 2021, Same Mistake. This is reminiscent in some ways of classic ballad-style grunge like good Alice In Chains or Soundgarden, with his vocals very much to the fore. They often sit on a layer of different guitars, yet it is somewhat strange to realise that at the heart of this song is an acoustic, with loads of electric then put over the top. These enhance the song, yet do not remove the soul, and one can imagine Lorenzo performing this totally solo in a very different fashion to the way it appears here.  

The same goes with his vocals, as he has multi-tracked them at places in a similar fashion to that utilised by Chad Kroeger and Ryan Peake, yet there are others where it is singular and the contrast between the styles really makes one pay attention. This song again contains a great deal of space, with the music swirling in and out, and the dynamics are incredibly important as the music continues to move and the listener is never really sure where they are going to be taken on the journey.

The vocals really work in this style of music, providing a harsher edge which allows the song to have a far rawer feel than if the vocals were cleaner, hitting a contrast with the stark melody line from the guitar. The pace is slow, never rushed, but also not lethargic as we all gently go for the stroll as opposed to being rushed from place to place, and it is something to be savoured in the way that life itself is a journey and not a destination. The production is superb, and the way the music swells and dies is almost tidal, like a living being, and when the song finishes the listener feels somewhat bereft as if something vital has been taken away and the only way to fill the space is to put it on again.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Lorenzo Hazelwood

Lorenzo Hazelwood is a 22 year old musician from Auckland. Although he is most known for being the vocalist of local Auckland heavy rock Band Close To The Bone, he spends his time away from the band composing music on his own. Playing every instrument for his solo project, mostly as a way to be more productive. It's darker and more intimate than CTTB's roaring live sound. "It's a little more personal" - LH.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Lorenzo Hazelwood

Releases

There are no releases to display for Lorenzo Hazelwood.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Marianne Leigh - Single Review: Sweet Goodbyes
03 Aug 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Marianne Leigh may only be 18 years of age, but she has already won Smokefree Rockquest, has been on TV and Radio NZ, is a three-time finalist of the Play It Strange songwriting competitions as well as being mentored by Bic Runga, so perhaps it should be no surprise that her new single Sweet Goodbyes is like a breath of fresh air in a market that often over-produces young singers. This is indie-pop, and is annoyingly catchy and infectious, so much so that I have been finding myself walking along absentmindedly humming the tune.
Read More...
Simp Vader - Single Review: All The Time
03 Aug 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Simp Vader are a South Auckland alternative rock band, heavily influenced by the Shoegaze movement, who were formed by Rory Maddren (vocals, guitar) and Josh Banning-Taylor (lead guitar) towards the end of 2020. With the arrival of Branden Pritchard (drums) and Scott Parker (bass, backing vocals) they have been working on recording their debut EP this year, and this is the first track to be released.
Read More...
The Sam Loveridge Band - Single Review: Run Into You
02 Aug 2021 // by Kev Rowland
It has been a couple of years since I last came across Sam Loveridge and his excellent album, Clarity, and in the intervening time he has turned himself into a full band. At the time of that album release, AAA label boss TeMatera Smith could not stop talking about it, so it is no surprise at all that the new single, Run Into You, was recorded at Red Room Studio by Jamie Crerar, mastered by Chris Chetland at Kog, and again released by AAA.
Read More...
Capital Theatre - Single/Video Review: Fire
02 Aug 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Capital Theatre are back with the most recent single, Fire, from the forthcoming album (which is due out in October), following on from the incredible People, which has been on constant repeat at my place. Given just how much I have been playing that, I did have some concerns that Fire may not live up to the same level, but these were soon blown away.
Read More...
Sidewinder - Single Review: Walk of Ishi
01 Aug 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Sidewinder are back with their third single Walk of Ishi, which follows on from the powerful Mississippi Fire, which came out a few months ago. Again, what we have here is stoner rock, with very strong links to QOTSA, which are based around the vocals of Jason Curtis.
Read More...
Gig Review: Capital Theatre @ Botany Commons, Auckland - 31/07/2021
01 Aug 2021 // by Kev Rowland
I was fortunate enough to catch Capital Theatre earlier this year at The Tuning Fork, and hearing that they were playing Botany, which is not too far from me, meant a trip to a pub venue situated in a shopping complex, not the sort of place I normally visit. Still, it is always good to come to a place which has a nice permanent stage and lighting and walking in I could see the CT drumkit on stage, along with multiple guitars and Marshall amps – the guys certainly know how to make an impression even when they are not performing.
Read More...
Gig Review: Dianne Swann @ Mt Eden Village Hall, Auckland - 30/07/2021
31 Jul 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Friday night had me out to yet another “new” (to me) venue, namely the village hall in Mount Eden. I stood in the doorway and was stunned by what I saw, as the hall had been filled with long tables covered in black cloth, all with tealight candles.
Read More...
Skank Bandit - Album Review: Blood, Sweat and Beers
29 Jul 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Blood, Sweat and Beers is the second album by Skank Bandit, a quartet who describe their music as an explosive combination of reggae, rock, ska, funk, metal, and punk, and to be honest they have hit the nail right on the head. When people think of punk, particularly British punk, they tend to focus on the out and out aggression of Sex Pistols and the like and tend to forget that some of the bands had far broader tastes and influences, and such was the case of The Clash.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • BEGGIN'
    Måneskin
  • GOOD 4 U
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • AIN'T S**T
    Doja Cat
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem