18 Aug 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Ryan Farrell - Single Review: Teenage Dreamer

22 May 2021 // A review by Ben Ruegg

I love it when these sorts of things happen. 

At just 18, the new track Teenage Dreamer from Ryan Farrell is another example of a young artist who had a vision for their sound and delivers on it. Maybe my assessment is wrong, but I hear 80's alternative rock from the British scene. Like The Smiths or Simple Minds (I make it clear that they are Scottish). The guitars drive enough from either side with melodic phrases and hooks that push the vocals forward. It’s catchy, relatable and brilliantly sung. Ryan’s voice sounds incredible and refreshing and the arrangement of the track, it’s vintage sound that still has a modern element to it only compliment his skills as a songwriter and an artist. 

A truly remarkable track from someone I want to hear more from. 

I love it when these sorts of things happen. Get behind NZ music. There is so much incredible stuff out there just waiting to be discovered.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Ryan Farrell

Ryan Farrell was born in London and moved to New Zealand in late 2014. He's played music all his life, following in the footsteps of his dad, Robert Farrell who worked as a professional musician in the 80's and 90's with top musicians and producers. Ryan writes pop music inspired by David Bowie, U2, New Order and Pulp.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Ryan Farrell

Releases

There are no releases to display for Ryan Farrell.

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Big Sima - Album Review: Stereotypes of a Polynesian Misunderstood
04 Jul 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Currently one of the most active NZ Hip-Hop artists on the live circuit, The Underground King AKA Big Sima is no stranger to the big stage. During his come-up, he has played support for everyone from Busta Rhymes to Bone Thugs 'n Harmony, Guru (Gangstarr), Mobb Deep and Cypress Hill.
Read More...
Y$O - Single Review: So Sexy
03 Jul 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Y$O returns with a new funky and R&B-infused track So Sexy.From the moment the track starts, I can feel that there is a lot of influence from N.
Read More...
Single/Video Review: Makaveli-C Feat. SNRXG - Brothers
04 Jun 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
The new video from Makaveli-C Feat. SNRXG takes Hip-Hop and puts some New Zealand flavour in it.
Read More...
Paul The Kid - Single Review: Close My Eyes
01 Jun 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Paul The Kid is an extremely diverse artist, combining an eclectic mix of contemporary genres with prominent themes of hip-hop, dance and reggae to create absolute bangers. Paul is most at home performing live and his shows generate an eccentric energy that invites the audience to get involved in the party.
Read More...
EP Review: Yung Ludd - Two Tone
13 May 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Born and raised in Lyttelton, Yung Ludd is the rap alias of musician Connor Strati. Having spent some time in Auckland in his twenties, he was exposed to a lot of the underground Hip-Hop scene there which proved to be very influential on his sound.
Read More...
Will McClean - Single Review: Ego Prison
28 Apr 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
I'm getting to hear more Will McClean... yes please!
Read More...
Hans. - EP Review: Kimyuntak
20 Apr 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Hailing from Auckland, New Zealand, Hans. is an exciting Korean artist that has been dubbed by VICE Magazine as "One of the rising stars of New Zealand Hip Hop.
Read More...
Eliezer - Album Review: Diary Entries Vol 1
20 Apr 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
This is a great album. Even at 30 mins long, the overall feel and vibe of it is fantastic.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • DOJA
    Central Cee
  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • I LIKE YOU (A HAPPIER SONG)
    Post Malone And Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem