19 Jun 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Merk - Gig Review: Merk @ Cassette 9, Auckland - 15/05/2021

18 May 2021 // A review by Lou Clement

Merk is Mark Perkins and he played alongside four accompanying musicians for this his first headline tour, celebrating the recent release of his second album Infinite Youth.

The first date of his tour was at Auckland’s Cassette 9, nestled above Vulcan Lane on a busy Saturday night. The sold out venue hosted a beered-up crowd who were welcomed by Merk, and he chatted with the crowd throughout the night.

Merk brings both wonderful musicianship and an affable frontman presence. His arrangements, lyrics and influences seem to flow into an original (mostly) upbeat delicate indie genre which is familiar and yet compelling listening.

My favourite tracks of the night were My Love, Laps Around The Sun and Happiness. The latter includes the lyrics "all my friends are sadder than they were last year", and I think there was a little nod across the audience to that sentiment. I enjoyed the banter including referring to COVID as the ‘c word’ and an ever so slightly sultry striptease, with jackets being removed in synchrony. Also, when someone called out "you’re awesome", Merk called back "you’re awesome too"... nice, eh?

Merk's performance was authentic and captivating - just excellent music. I'm so glad you’re here Merk, and not wandering the globe, not just yet anyway.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

Releases

Infinite Youth
Year: 2021
Type: Album
Swordfish
Year: 2017
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Lou Clement

OddJive - Album Review: Hell Yeah Nah
31 May 2021 // by Lou Clement
Multi-genre mining act OddJive released their second album in May 2021, and the release is accompanied by vibrant, beautiful artwork by Alex Hoare. Titled Hell Yeah Nah, it is birthed by the five members of the band and promoted as a work created with the ongoing support of friends and family.
Read More...
Gig Review: Dr.Reknaw @ Anthology Lounge, Auckland - 16/04/2021
19 Apr 2021 // by Lou Clement
Epic eight-piece, Dr.Reknaw, took to the stage at Anthology Lounge on a wet Friday evening for their only Auckland gig.
Read More...
Dr.Reknaw - Album Review: Rektified
14 Apr 2021 // by Lou Clement
Dr.Reknaw are an eight-piece psychedelic group who happily straddle genres: funk, soul, hip-hop and dub.
Read More...
Something Zesty - Album Review: Funk’t Up
06 Mar 2021 // by Lou Clement
Something Zesty is a musical project from solo-artist Iain Chamberlain and Funk’t Up, released in early 2021, is his debut album. It offers a mix of easy going funk riffs and enjoyable guitar-infused tracks overlaid with urban vocals.
Read More...
Single Review: Cherry Blind
16 Dec 2020 // by Lou Clement
Cherry Blind's new single; a pace, energy and a dash of screamo. I recently attended a punk-weekender: two days of what seemed like seven minute sets, where there were really only fans and no bystanders and bands that moved from one song to the next as quickly as the flip of a pancake.
Read More...
Gig Review: Avantdale Bowling Club @ Hollywood Avondale, Auckland - 23/10/2020
25 Oct 2020 // by Lou Clement
Multi-genre bending Avantdale Bowling Club played to a sold out crowd, breaking in, what seemed like the first long weekend in a very long time, at them Hollywood Avondale. Their most recent release, earlier in 2020 was LIVE, it does what it says on the tin.
Read More...
Gig Review: Racing @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 31/07/2020
02 Aug 2020 // by Lou Clement
Racing took to the stage on the penultimate date of their Flashback tour. The four-date stop off comes ahead of their highly-anticipated second album release.
Read More...
Yumi Zouma - Album Review: Truth or Consequences
30 Mar 2020 // by Lou Clement
Yumi Zouma are a four-piece band who formed in New Zealand and have seen international success with their brand of dreamy beach pop – effortlessly upbeat and post-party feels. It’s music that I can always put on my playlist repeat loop.
Read More...
View All Articles By Lou Clement

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GOOD 4 U
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • DEJA VU
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • BODY (REMIX)
    Russ Millions x Tion Wayne
  • TRAITOR
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • FAVORITE CRIME
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • SAVE YOUR TEARS (REMIX)
    The Weeknd And Ariana Grande
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem