27 Jan 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Mad Cow - Single Review: Alone

15 May 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Mad Cow are a Taranaki band who formed way back in the 1990’s and have been going one way or another ever since, releasing their debut EP in 2000 and following it up just 10 years later with the next one. Then in 2013 guitarist Joe Smither returned to Aotearoa after living for a while in Melbourne and made contact again with original singer Jon Churchill (who also provides bass) which resulted in the third EP, Disturbing The Peace. Between 2016 and 2018 they recorded material for their self-titled debut album, which came out in 2019, and earlier this year they re-released Anzac Day from that album as a single.

Now they are finally back with a new recording, with the line-up completed by drummer Greg Allen, and very fresh and interesting it is too. This is alternative rock which has also been heavily influenced by the likes of classic Blur. The rhythm section is tight, providing a platform for multiple guitars, which then vie for dominance against the vocals. The most immediate takeaway is the heavy use of slide guitar, a style which is rarely used in this style of music, but it cuts through the jangle of the instruments in a very effective manner indeed, with loads of sustain. I can only presume that when they gig, they either have additional musicians join them or they use backing tracks as it is the layering of additional guitars which really allows this to cut through. The single has been arranged so that the levels for the slide and vocals are very similar and they battle with each other in a very enjoyable way through the piece.

The pace of Alone is much more restrained that one would expect for this style of music, far more considered, and it is this which often makes one think of 80’s independent artists such as The Smiths. The use of double tracking of Jon’s vocals is also highly effective, and one also comes away impressed with the production, and it was somewhat surprising to realise this was recorded and mixed by the band themselves at their home studio Pigpen Studios before being mastered by Mike at Manuka Studios Auckland. Mad Cow may not have been the most prolific band in their existence, but on the basis of this I certainly look forward to hearing more from them in the future.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Mad Cow

Formed in Taranaki in the mid 90's, Mad Cow has been producing original Indie-Rock music for over 20 years.

Having come full circle with the return of their original singer in 2012 the band released a 3rd EP entitled Disturbing the Peace in 2015 and a full length self titled album in 2019 .

Alone is the latest single released by Mad Cow, released in 2021.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Mad Cow

Releases

Mad Cow
Year: 2019
Type: Album
Disturbing the Peace
Year: 2015
Type: EP
Take a Breath
Year: 2010
Type: EP
See
Year: 1999
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Melanie - EP Review: ABCD
25 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Since releasing their debut EP back in 2018, Auckland pop/punk outfit Melanie have been making quite a name for themselves in the old-fashioned way of doing things, namely playing anywhere and everywhere, and having total belief in themselves and their music. When I first saw them, I was impressed that here was an unsigned band who had invested in having their debut album pressed in vinyl and had a few different t-shirts available as well as some other merch including stickers.
Read More...
Gig Review: Checaine & After Forever @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 22/01/2022
23 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
As normal I got in early to the venue, then soon left again to have a beer up the road with the guys from Checaine. I was mightily impressed as they had brought a bus up from Hamilton with a load of fans onboard – one way of guaranteeing playing in a strange town in front of a friendly crowd.
Read More...
Gig Review: Blindfolded and Led To The Woods @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 15/01/2022
16 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I have been looking forward to tonight for ages, as Auckland went into lockdown in August with all gigs being cancelled until just before Christmas, and even then, that was with limited attendance. This means that tonight was going to be my first gig in five months, and given that I covered more than 30 in the first part of the year, that was some cold turkey.
Read More...
Fool's Lagoon - Single Review: Bizarre
13 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Bizarre is the debut single from Auckland-based quintet Fool’s Lagoon. Mark, Connor, Joe, Matt and Joshua have created a bright and summery indie pop jangler which is heavily guitar-based yet is somehow light and airy throughout.
Read More...
Powder Chutes - EP Review: Sweet Noise Pollution
11 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There is always that little hint of concern when reading a press release for a new EP and realise it contains a quote from yours truly for the single which was taken from it. How would they take it this time around if I panned this release?
Read More...
Tall Folk - Album Review: Wiser
11 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
2021 was a wonderful musical adventure for me as I threw myself into the NZ music scene, and towards the end of the year I realised that with nearly 200 reviews of local music I really should work out my Top 10 singles, EP’s, albums and gigs (check out https://www.muzic.
Read More...
Pass The Peas - EP Review: Pop
06 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This three-track EP is the latest release from Poneke-based quintet Pass The Peas, who describe their music as Wasabi spicy Rock n' Roll, whatever that means. To my ears it means they play mid-paced alternative pop rock with a strong concentration on the gravelly and emotional vocals of Kurt with loads of space within the arrangements, which are well-produced.
Read More...
Black Sands - Single Review: Apocalypse of Eden
22 Dec 2021 // by Kev Rowland
To my mind this single is long overdue, as I have been lucky enough to catch these guys play live a few times this year and they always put on an amazing show. Comprising Cameron Owens (guitars), Ruaidri Keens (guitars), Matt Hammond (bass) and James Trimmer (drums) they are one of those very rare breeds, a hard-hitting metal act with no need for a singer.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DOWN UNDER
    Luude feat. Colin Hay
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • MR REGGAE
    L.A.B.
  • ABCDEFU
    GAYLE
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • FINGERS CROSSED
    Lauren Spencer-Smith
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem