19 Jun 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Mad Cow - Single Review: Alone

15 May 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Mad Cow are a Taranaki band who formed way back in the 1990’s and have been going one way or another ever since, releasing their debut EP in 2000 and following it up just 10 years later with the next one. Then in 2013 guitarist Joe Smither returned to Aotearoa after living for a while in Melbourne and made contact again with original singer Jon Churchill (who also provides bass) which resulted in the third EP, Disturbing The Peace. Between 2016 and 2018 they recorded material for their self-titled debut album, which came out in 2019, and earlier this year they re-released Anzac Day from that album as a single.

Now they are finally back with a new recording, with the line-up completed by drummer Greg Allen, and very fresh and interesting it is too. This is alternative rock which has also been heavily influenced by the likes of classic Blur. The rhythm section is tight, providing a platform for multiple guitars, which then vie for dominance against the vocals. The most immediate takeaway is the heavy use of slide guitar, a style which is rarely used in this style of music, but it cuts through the jangle of the instruments in a very effective manner indeed, with loads of sustain. I can only presume that when they gig, they either have additional musicians join them or they use backing tracks as it is the layering of additional guitars which really allows this to cut through. The single has been arranged so that the levels for the slide and vocals are very similar and they battle with each other in a very enjoyable way through the piece.

The pace of Alone is much more restrained that one would expect for this style of music, far more considered, and it is this which often makes one think of 80’s independent artists such as The Smiths. The use of double tracking of Jon’s vocals is also highly effective, and one also comes away impressed with the production, and it was somewhat surprising to realise this was recorded and mixed by the band themselves at their home studio Pigpen Studios before being mastered by Mike at Manuka Studios Auckland. Mad Cow may not have been the most prolific band in their existence, but on the basis of this I certainly look forward to hearing more from them in the future.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Mad Cow

Formed in Taranaki in the mid 90's, Mad Cow has been producing original Indie-Rock music for over 20 years.

Having come full circle with the return of their original singer in 2012 the band released a 3rd EP entitled Disturbing the Peace in 2015 and a full length self titled album in 2019 .

Alone is the latest single released by Mad Cow, released in 2021.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Mad Cow

Releases

Mad Cow
Year: 2019
Type: Album
Disturbing the Peace
Year: 2015
Type: EP
Take a Breath
Year: 2010
Type: EP
See
Year: 1999
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

LearningToDive - Single Review: You Said It Best
17 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Learningtodive is one of a series of projects from Bravo Bonez, a musician and producer currently based in Wellington, New Zealand. He released his first single under this name back in November last year, since when he has followed it up with more singles and his debut album Norwegian Pop, which came out in April.
Read More...
Gig Review: Blitz Metal Fest @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 12/06/2021
13 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Well, today was a first for me, coming to Ding Dong in the daylight! This was because it was time for Metal Blitz, a 13-band event being held which was planned to run for 10 hours but we all thought was probably going to take longer.
Read More...
Gatekeepers - Single Review: Always a Rebel, Never a Rogue
09 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Gatekeepers may be a new name to most of you, but this New Plymouth quartet have managed to secure the opening slot in Hamilton for the Devilskin and Kora show, so they have already started to gain some attention and based on this single one can hear why. The band was only formed earlier this year by guitarist/singer Jeremy Donoghue, rhythm guitarist Sean Phillips and bassist Mat Pipe, since when they have been writing and recording tracks before sending them to the UK to be mixed by Adam Wain.
Read More...
Investigator - Single Review: Lake of Eyes
09 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Adrian Drew and his band of merry men are back with the third single from their forthcoming album and given what I have heard to date I am really looking forward to that when it comes out. While Adrian provides guitar and vocals, the band is now firmly settled with David Crowhen (bass) Undercut, Craig van Kan (drums), The Couch, and lead guitarist Adam Morton-Mason, These Fine Galleons.
Read More...
Mudbelly - Single Review: Baby U No Good
07 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Last weekend I was fortunate enough to both survive the ravages of Canterbury’s wild weather and experience the force of nature which is Mudbelly, with the latter more than making up for going out in the driving rain to get to the gig. This means I am in the somewhat unusual position of having heard this song played in concert prior to coming across the recorded version, and it is interesting to hear just how different it is in this setting.
Read More...
DRXNES - Single Review: Junkie
07 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Prior to hearing this single I had heard only positive things about Whanganui band DRXNES and having now played this I can see exactly why. This is a highly polished, highly produced number which sounds as if it has come out of a top American band and studio as opposed to little old Aotearoa.
Read More...
Gig Review: Dead Favours @ Darkroom, Christchurch - 04/06/2021
07 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
For the second time in less than a week it was back into the centre of Christchurch and St. Asaph Street, but whereas last time it was to the 12 Bar, this week it was next door, to Darkroom.
Read More...
Gig Review: Mudbelly @ 12 Bar, Christchurch - 29/05/2021
30 May 2021 // by Kev Rowland
In the middle of a red alert weather warning, I trekked from Oxford into Christchurch to attend Mudbelly’s album launch. It has been a while since I last went to a gig down here, but I have been to some real killers in the past (Sepultura, Death Angel and Blindfolded And Led To The Woods at Canterbury University’s The Foundry will long stick in my mind), so was looking forward to this.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GOOD 4 U
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • DEJA VU
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • BODY (REMIX)
    Russ Millions x Tion Wayne
  • TRAITOR
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • FAVORITE CRIME
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • SAVE YOUR TEARS (REMIX)
    The Weeknd And Ariana Grande
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem