15 Jun 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
  • Articles »
  • Reviews »
  • Barnaby Weir - Gig Review: Laughton Kora and Barnaby Weir @ Auckland Museum, Auckland - 10/05/2021

Barnaby Weir - Gig Review: Laughton Kora and Barnaby Weir @ Auckland Museum, Auckland - 10/05/2021

12 May 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Up until tonight, I am sure the most unusual venue I attended for a gig was the Canadian Embassy in London, when they put on a media showcase for a Canadian rock act. I remember then looking at the walls and candelabra, trying not to spill my wine on the posh carpet, wondering what I was doing there. But tonight’s gig was being held at Auckland Museum, in the Grand Foyer no less: the neo-classical central entrance hall is made of terrazzo and looking at the sheer splendour of the columns and galleries it is quite stunning (it was possible to look down on the singers from those galleries if you wished to).
Like every Aucklander I have been to the Museum countless times but being here for a music event made it feel even more beautiful, and I had the feeling that it was like being in a cathedral with the high ceiling and decorations. There was no stage tonight, just some microphones and speakers set up in front of the main doors, with the statue of Discobolus just behind, so no-one could forget this was an incredible place to hear some music. Cushions and a few chairs were made available, and it really was seating room only for what was to be a very special sell out event indeed.

Barnaby Weir (Fly My Pretties, The Black Seeds) surely needs no introduction, but Laughton Kora was not going to let that stop him as he spoke of the impact Barnaby had on New Zealand music and thanked him for all he had done. With that Barnaby went to the microphone, just him and a 12-string guitar.
He commented on the reverb, saying there was as much as a four-second delay, and then he kicked into Old Friend and we were off. If anyone had asked me beforehand what the perfect music would be to play at an event like this, I would have said a solo voice and acoustic, but a 12-string made it all so much better. The natural echo from the hard surfaces combined with what was coming from the strings to create a thing of beauty, with his Americana style of singer-songwriter making a huge impression. Barnaby was not using a pick, and his fingers provided a gentler style than is often expected, while his voice was sonorous and rich. There was a huge amount of passion in his voice, and the crowd really reacted to everything he was doing, and he to them as he decided on the set list as he went along. He told us all that he knew what the first song was going to be, and that was it, and through the course of the set he even played three unreleased numbers in The Other You, A Sobering Idea, and Let The Sunshine Through.

Barnaby is a real storyteller, able to command the audience just with his voice and guitar. At times he was quite balladic, but always with an edge, and through the set he moved through multiple different styles while there were also distinct sections within the songs themselves. It really was beautiful, as he took all the listeners with him on a journey. The 12-string was like a rippling brook, bright and light, with his voice adding to the colours and feelings as the music swept along. At times he was reminiscent of Anthony Phillips, at others he had the aggression in his playing of Roy Harper, and I was transported by the sounds I was hearing, the way the music came at me from all angles as it bounced around to create that natural reverb. All too soon he was playing Catch The Light and the set was finished. It felt like a spell had been broken and we were back to reality: simply wonderful.

There was a very short break, and then Barnaby introduced Laughton, saying they had known each other for more than 15 years. Laughton came to fame as part of the Kora family who formed a band of the same name, touring all over the world, but he has done much more than “just” that and tonight he was showing us a different way to be a solo performer. With his electric guitar strapped on, he was pulling samples to provide himself with a full band for him to noodle against, and soon we had  a funky reggae groove going. As soon as he started singing there was a big reaction from the crowd. He was more in your face than Barnaby, incredibly relaxed, and it was obvious he was just going to have a load of fun tonight and the same went for the crowd who were very vocal in their support. He continued to trigger samples through the set, playing it almost as if he were a keyboard player, with every musical pattern being set differently so he was not using a backing track as such, rather he was creating it as we went along, a soundscape to play against.

There were a few times when his guitar got a little lost within the overall effect, and while the band effect was impressive, for some reason it just did not sit well for me in the overall setting as it just did not jell. But that is very much an opinion of one, as the crowd were far more raucous and engaged with Laughton than with Barnaby. He is an incredibly polished performer who knew exactly what the audience wanted from him, and provided that with a soulful and passionate performance which even saw him throwing in some falsetto when the time was right. We also had some covers during the set, and it must be said that his slowed down arrangement of Bang Bang (My Baby Shot Me Down) was simply inspired.

There was just time for Laughton and Barnaby to join forces for a few numbers, and their medley of Sunny and In The Air Tonight, with their voices blending together, was simply magical.  In many ways it was the perfect end to a wonderful evening of music in an amazing setting.

There is another sell-out event at the museum at the end of the month, with Reb FountainLou'ana and Georgia Lines sharing the stage. I surely cannot be the only one who thinks these events should continue throughout the year not just in May, as tonight was very special indeed for all those lucky enough to attend.

Photos thanks to Chris Z from Zed Pics 
For more photos from the night, have a look here, here and here.

 

About Barnaby Weir

Lead singer of The Black Seeds and band leader of Fly My Pretties), Barnaby Weir also produces electronic music as {Flash Harry and in 2011 released his debut solo album Tarot Card Rock.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Barnaby Weir

Releases

Tarot Card Rock
Year: 2011
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Blitz Metal Fest @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 12/06/2021
13 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Well, today was a first for me, coming to Ding Dong in the daylight! This was because it was time for Metal Blitz, a 13-band event being held which was planned to run for 10 hours but we all thought was probably going to take longer.
Read More...
Gatekeepers - Single Review: Always a Rebel, Never a Rogue
09 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Gatekeepers may be a new name to most of you, but this New Plymouth quartet have managed to secure the opening slot in Hamilton for the Devilskin and Kora show, so they have already started to gain some attention and based on this single one can hear why. The band was only formed earlier this year by guitarist/singer Jeremy Donoghue, rhythm guitarist Sean Phillips and bassist Mat Pipe, since when they have been writing and recording tracks before sending them to the UK to be mixed by Adam Wain.
Read More...
Investigator - Single Review: Lake of Eyes
09 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Adrian Drew and his band of merry men are back with the third single from their forthcoming album and given what I have heard to date I am really looking forward to that when it comes out. While Adrian provides guitar and vocals, the band is now firmly settled with David Crowhen (bass) Undercut, Craig van Kan (drums), The Couch, and lead guitarist Adam Morton-Mason, These Fine Galleons.
Read More...
Mudbelly - Single Review: Baby U No Good
07 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Last weekend I was fortunate enough to both survive the ravages of Canterbury’s wild weather and experience the force of nature which is Mudbelly, with the latter more than making up for going out in the driving rain to get to the gig. This means I am in the somewhat unusual position of having heard this song played in concert prior to coming across the recorded version, and it is interesting to hear just how different it is in this setting.
Read More...
DRXNES - Single Review: Junkie
07 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Prior to hearing this single I had heard only positive things about Whanganui band DRXNES and having now played this I can see exactly why. This is a highly polished, highly produced number which sounds as if it has come out of a top American band and studio as opposed to little old Aotearoa.
Read More...
Gig Review: Dead Favours @ Darkroom, Christchurch - 04/06/2021
07 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
For the second time in less than a week it was back into the centre of Christchurch and St. Asaph Street, but whereas last time it was to the 12 Bar, this week it was next door, to Darkroom.
Read More...
Gig Review: Mudbelly @ 12 Bar, Christchurch - 29/05/2021
30 May 2021 // by Kev Rowland
In the middle of a red alert weather warning, I trekked from Oxford into Christchurch to attend Mudbelly’s album launch. It has been a while since I last went to a gig down here, but I have been to some real killers in the past (Sepultura, Death Angel and Blindfolded And Led To The Woods at Canterbury University’s The Foundry will long stick in my mind), so was looking forward to this.
Read More...
Lorenzo Hazelwood - Single Review: Same Mistake
28 May 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Lorenzo Hazlewood is probably best known as front man for Auckland hard rock band Close To The Bone, but he also released some solo singles last year in slightly different fashion, and now he has returned with his first for 2021, Same Mistake. This is reminiscent in some ways of classic ballad-style grunge like good Alice In Chains or Soundgarden, with his vocals very much to the fore.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GOOD 4 U
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • DEJA VU
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • BODY (REMIX)
    Russ Millions x Tion Wayne
  • TRAITOR
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • FAVORITE CRIME
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • SAVE YOUR TEARS (REMIX)
    The Weeknd And Ariana Grande
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem