18 Aug 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Emily Rice - EP Review: Auhua

06 May 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Over the last few months Emily Rice has been building up to the release of this EP, and of the six songs included on Auaha (which means to shape, create, form, fashion), four have already been released as singles, and I have reviewed three of them myself, so the EP feels already very much like an old friend, but for anyone yet to come across Emily and her work then this is a wonderful place to start. I first came across Emily and her husband in the wonderful folk duo Aro, but here her music is far more dance oriented as she brings in lots of different styles such as soft jazz, RnB, dub, and even a little touch of folk, but always with her wonderful vocals front and centre. Emily has a beautiful clean style that is never forced, always pure and clean, so no matter what is happening with the instrumentation it is always grounded.

For someone like myself who tends to avoid many of the musical styles she is utilising, as to be honest I am simply not a fan of those genres, the result is quite a revelation. It is the way she combines these elements with her voice that makes them so compelling, so that the worn-out piano on Playing Darts becomes a thing of beauty, with delicate horns assisting in making it special, while she harmonises with herself, layering her clear and emotional vocals on top. This is slow and comforting, wrapping the listener in a blanket that is quite removed from the more overtly dance-driven Careless.

It is the last two songs on the EP which for me are the standout numbers. Red and Blue contains the  multi-layered vocals I have come to expect with Emily, but here there is also a complex arrangement with real instruments, plus finger clicks. This all makes it feel less electronic than the others, and although it is still firmly in the soft jazz/RnB style, as always it is her wonderful vocals that takes this through. I can imagine this being sung by her and Charles, just with an acoustic guitar for accompaniment, but here it has been made much richer with some delicate basslines and some gentle chords from the electric guitar. Kanohi ki te Kanohi is the last song, and can be translated as “face to face, or in person”. Here she brings together all the different elements of the EP, plus Te Reo, and with her multi-layered harmonies it is almost as if she is taking the style of Aro as a basis and moving it in a very different direction indeed.

The six songs are all worth discovering individually, but as an EP this set should be in the collection of every lover of wonderful vocals and songs, whatever the style.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Emily Rice

Emily Rice is a multi-instrumentalist and songwriter from Tamaki Makaurau. Twice finalist of songwriter of the year while studying at pop music school, Emily has gone on to release three EP’s of music since 2012, live and perform across Europe, collaborate with countless fellow musicians and is one half of a two time Silver Scrolls finalist bilingual duo Aro.

Emily’s songs have evolved with each new project, moving through different styles and always integrating vocal looping, sprinkles of jazz and a touch of saxophone.

Her new sound is best described as chill DnB/RnB-pop and she’s releasing her new EP Auaha; a compilation of songs she wrote during Aotearoa’s level 4 lockdown in April 2020 in early 2021.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Emily Rice

Releases

Auaha
Year: 2021
Type: EP
Dusk
Year: 2019
Type: EP
A Little Salt
Year: 2016
Type: EP
Find Me Here
Year: 2015
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Scapegoat - Album Review: Reality and the Hanging Tree
12 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Rene Black can often be found out and about on the Auckland scene, either playing in the premier NZ Sabbath tribute band After Forever, or just supporting other bands and enjoying the vibe. We regularly bump into each other at our favourite dive, Ding Dong Lounge, but whereas that is a relatively new place for me, Rene has been on the circuit for years as he was also drummer and founding member of both His Masters Voice and {Cripple Mr.
Read More...
Caitlin - EP Review: States
12 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut EP from young Christchurch-based indie-pop musician Caitlin (Caitlin Bradley) who is currently studying at Ara Music Arts in the city. She took the songs to Ryan Chin (Fisherman), and together with Will McGillivray (Goodwill), Thomas Isbister, and Shaun Malloch they worked to capture her innocent vocals and songs in a manner which brings together lots of different styles.
Read More...
Corduroy. - Single Review: Ozone
11 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Ozone is the latest single from Wellington-based band Corduroy., and is taken from their forthcoming EP, Halftime Oranges.
Read More...
Mim Jensen - Single Review: Germaphobe
11 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This is the debut single from Otautahi artist Mim Jensen, and a load of fun it is too. It commences with jangly guitar and Mim’s vocals, and soon we are taken into commercial indie rock which has definite nods back to the likes of Fur Patrol.
Read More...
Moone - Single Review: I Am Who I Am
10 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There are some people who come into this world and put the rest of us to shame as to what they achieve, and undoubtedly one of those was Eva McGauley, who at the age of 15 was diagnosed with terminal cancer, to which she succumbed a little more than 3 years later. Eva was involved with the Wellington Rape Crisis Organisation, was an intern with the Green Party, ran her own charity 'Eva's Wish' raising more than $70,000 to help sexual abused survivors, was involved in the '200 Women Who will change the way you see the world' book and exhibition and was nominated for Youth Wellingtonian of the year award, among others.
Read More...
Oliver Birch - Album Review: Burning Daylight
05 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This is the debut album from Auckland musician, Oliver Birch, although older versions of many of the songs contained within have already been made available as singles. When the album started with the lengthy keyboard chords and feedback intro I thought it would fall into krautrock, but instead it quickly changed into a psychedelic experimental art rock number with emotionally charged vocals and an outright refusal to conform to any expectations.
Read More...
Album Review: Black Velvet Butterfly
03 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Black Velvet Butterfly are a one-man band from Auckland featuring James Castady-Kristament. I was intrigued to be sent this as when I looked on their Bandcamp page it said, “It may just well be the coolest thing you’ve heard in the Goth scene since Type O Negative.
Read More...
Bill Angus and the Mighty Ways - Album Review: All Night Before the World Began
01 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Bill had a musical career in England before deciding to do something different, and returned to his roots when he started working in New Zealand. This is his third album.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • DOJA
    Central Cee
  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • I LIKE YOU (A HAPPIER SONG)
    Post Malone And Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem