25 Oct 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Living State - Single Review: One Sided

04 May 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Whenever I hear anyone bemoaning the state of music on the radio, I tell them to get out to places like Ding Dong and actually live and breathe what is really going on in the scene, not what some people just want to tell you. Last Saturday I was there at yet another gig, and while I was having a chat with one of the musicians a guy came up and joined in. I soon got to know that his name was Lex, and that he was bassist in a band called Living State, who had released a single titled One Sided, and did I have any idea how he could get more people to hear about the band and their music? I of course told him he needed to have the band on the #1 NZ music site, and if he sent me the single, I would review it. This is a conversation I have actually had many times, and more often than not, nothing ever happens. Imagine my surprise when the next day I had an email from Lex, with a link to their brand-new artist page on the site, plus a link to a google drive which contains various versions of the single, their video, a proper press release and so much more.

The next day I was sorting some things out on the computer so decided to put the single on in the background, but very quickly it became my focal point, and I switched to the video to see what that was like, and then sat back going “Wow!”. The music is provided by Peter (guitar), Cam (drums) and Lex (bass), and together they provide a very heavy bottom end dominated sound which is also incredibly commercial, System of a Down mixed with Tool, Nickelback, and The Darkness to create something that is dark and menacing, but also inviting us to the party. Then at the front there is singer Marissa who may seem gentle and quiet when the song starts, but it is all a front as she can really let rip when given the opportunity, but at least on the single stays somewhat controlled, like Amy Lee, but I am sure that live it is quite different indeed.

This is one of the most annoyingly catchy and vibrant debut hard rock singles I think I have ever come across, from a band even I had never heard of until a few days ago. I can play it on repeat and simply not tire of it and get something new from it each time. Marissa has double tracked her vocals at points, just single at others, while keyboards provide a slight harmony here and there while the guys just hit the riffs really hard. There is a clean version for radio, and also the one which we will sing in concert, and all l need to do now is get out and see these guys play! They are at Ding Dong on Saturday, but I already need to be in 2 gigs at once so can’t see me getting there in time, but I am going to try! Commercial hard rock with plenty of hooks, solid musicianship, and great vocals, this is killer. Oh, and the video is great as well, and it even has a storyline!

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Living State

A four-piece band heavy rock band based in Auckland. Formed in 2018, their sound is a heady mix of Breaking Benjamin, Chevelle, System of a Down & Tool juxtaposed with vocals influenced by Red Hot Chilli Peppers and Evanescence. Expect the unexpected.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Living State

Releases

There are no releases to display for Living State.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Claemus - Album Review: Daydream
21 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
When I heard that Hutt Valley band Claemus had released their debut album I was immediately intrigued, as I came across the single Hedonist a few months ago, and given the number of influences and styles they had managed to ram into 5 minutes what could they do with a full album? These guys have managed to secure support slots with bands as diverse as P.
Read More...
Kevin Posey - EP Review: The Story of Francis
21 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Oklahoma native Kevin Posey lives in Auckland these days, and throughout his musical career he has investigated different types and styles of music, and for this EP he has moved into yet another area, as what we have here is classical music that has been inspired by Halloween and psychological thrillers. Some, such as Fog Forest No.
Read More...
Jolandi Ford - Single Review: I'm Ready
21 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
This is Jolandi Ford’s third single since moving to Aotearoa from her native South Africa, and right from the first note one can why she has already been making a dent in international Country music charts. Although her voice is lighter in some ways, with a nice twang, her approach is quite reminiscent to the more rock-based approach of the likes of Shania Twain.
Read More...
Eurenza - EP Review: Good Luck... You're Gonna Need It
19 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Eurenza were originally formed seven years ago as Timeless, but eventually decided to go with a more uncommon name, and now have delivered their first five-track EP. Interestingly, much of this was recorded some time ago in preparation for an album, but they instead decided to go with the strongest tracks instead and cut it back.
Read More...
Sam Bartells - Single Review: Bring You Down
17 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Sam Bartells is back with his new single Bring You Down, which finds him taking quite a different approach to Where We'll Go, which also featured Mema Wilda. Whereas he normally sits quite happily within alt country, here we see him using that as a base and then moving in a much rockier direction.
Read More...
Jenny Mitchell - Single Review: Trouble Finds A Girl with Tami Neilson
14 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
The Auckland Folk Festival earlier this year was an embarrassment of riches, with so many great Kiwi artists playing multiple sets, and I spent the weekend trying to soak in as much as possible. There is no doubt that one of the highlights was Jenny Mitchell, who with her sisters Nicola and Maegan, provided warm and emotional country music in a style which seemed very much at odds with her age.
Read More...
Bianca Rae - Single Review: Flower
14 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
There are times when the music world is very small indeed, which is why earlier this year I found myself at The Portland Public House in Auckland to see a singer-songwriter, having been put in contact by a fellow reviewer who is in the UK. Even though Bianca Rae was the support, and everything was running late, she refused to let anything get to her, and I thoroughly enjoyed her set.
Read More...
Blue River Baby - Single Review: Green Cones
14 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Following on from the single Pay, which I reviewed a few months back, Blue River Baby (BRBB) are back with the second single from their second album, which is due next year. We find them moving much more into a dub style, with Ree Thomson’s wonderfully clear vocals very much the centre of attention.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • LOVE NWANTITI (AH AH AH)
    CKay
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • MEET ME AT OUR SPOT
    THE ANXIETY, WILLOW And Tyler Cole
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem