12 May 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Stealphish - Single Review: Auri

04 May 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Here we have the latest single from Cafe Fistfight guitarist Josh Barker in his alter ego as Stealphish. The only other person involved on this recording is his wife Nicole who provides piano for the first 35 seconds of the nearly 7-minute-long song. It was her noodling which was the original inspiration for the piece, with Josh developing the rest of the instrumentation. This single, Auri, has a very slow build, yet the scene is set at the very beginning by the piano and crashing waves, demonstrating there is far more to Josh than just the 7-string metallic attack most of us associate with him. Water and rain are brought back at various times during the quieter moments of the song, which for a large part is built on piano, with guitar only slowing making an entrance yet not really becoming the prominent force until halfway through the song.

Even then it is only with the guitar being gently picked, and it isn’t until nearly 4 minutes in that he finally lets loose with a ripping solo, also ensuring the rest of the instrumentation is also now over the top. The drums are programmed, but he has set up some nice patterns, although as always it would have been nicer if a human to hit the kit. He changes tack again as the song continues to develop, bringing in elements of symphonic metal and Meshuggah, which is all very different indeed to how the song began. Yet, there is still some piano there right at the very end, showing that although the song has changed dramatically it is still staying close to its original form.

The upside-down symbol on the cover is a reference to the alchemy sign of water, continuing that theme, and this song certainly flows through its many different passages and styles. Most solo multi-instrumentalists tend to concentrate heavily on their main instrument of choice, whether it is keyboards or guitar (which generally are the leads), yet Josh shows there is far more to his musical palette than being a shredder. The first half of the song could almost be an Ambient/New Age track in its own right, yet the dynamic contrast of the second half makes the first seem even more vibrant. Yet another solid release from Stealphish, I am really looking forward to the next one already.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Stealphish

Stealphish is the solo music project created by guitarist and producer Josh Barker.

Josh plays lead guitar for the band Cafe Fistfight who regularly play shows around Auckland and although he writes his own parts, the majority of the music in CFF comes from the mind of talented front man Chris Moutter. So Stealphish was created in early 2020 as an outlet for Josh's love of composing and arranging original music.

It's early Days for Stealphish as only a couple songs have been made so far. The sound of the music can be described as "dream prog" as it has emotional orchestral and classical piano often building to powerful lead guitar and modern djent elements.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Stealphish

Releases

There are no releases to display for Stealphish.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Beastwars with Earth Tongue and Demons of Noon @ Powerstation, Auckland - 08/05/2021
09 May 2021 // by Kev Rowland
I was a little concerned when I made my way to the Powerstation just 15 minutes before the doors were due to open, as there was no-one else there! A quick check of the billboard confirmed I was in the right place on the right date, but possibly this was somewhat indicative of the poor weather combined with so many great gigs on tonight.
Read More...
Emily Rice - EP Review: Auhua
06 May 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Over the last few months Emily Rice has been building up to the release of this EP, and of the six songs included on Auaha (which means to shape, create, form, fashion), four have already been released as singles, and I have reviewed three of them myself, so the EP feels already very much like an old friend, but for anyone yet to come across Emily and her work then this is a wonderful place to start. I first came across Emily and her husband in the wonderful folk duo Aro, but here her music is far more dance oriented as she brings in lots of different styles such as soft jazz, RnB, dub, and even a little touch of folk, but always with her wonderful vocals front and centre.
Read More...
Living State - Single Review: One Sided
04 May 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Whenever I hear anyone bemoaning the state of music on the radio, I tell them to get out to places like Ding Dong and actually live and breathe what is really going on in the scene, not what some people just want to tell you. Last Saturday I was there at yet another gig, and while I was having a chat with one of the musicians a guy came up and joined in.
Read More...
Dan Sharp - EP Review: Water Went Away
03 May 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Proud Coromandel boy Dan Sharp is back with his latest EP, Water Went Away, and I can only concur with Corinne’s review of his last EP, Slack Tide, in that we really need an album! This collection of five songs loosely follows through the various stages of a breakup and the significant life changes that happen as part of that such as moving to a new house, moving town, being unable to access certain things, wondering what was going to happen next etc.
Read More...
Gig Review: Pencarrow @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 01/05/2021
02 May 2021 // by Kev Rowland
I have lost count of how many times I have been to Ding Dong in the last year, I think it is somewhere between “lots” and “loads”, so consequently it is starting to feel very much like a place where every barman knows my name (and what I drink). I have been looking forward to catching Pencarrow since I came across their debut album Growth In The Absence of Light which was released last year.
Read More...
Gig Review: BOTB Winners Tour with Big Tasty & guests @ Anthology Lounge, Auckland - 30/04/2021
01 May 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Back off to the Anthology Lounge for a 4-band bill, which I was really looking forward to. It was going to be the first time I had seen Cafe Fistfight in a while, I had heard good things about The Minnehahas (and I know drummer Neo from White Noise Mafia), I had reviewed the album by The RVMES while this was the last night of the tour for BOTB winners Big Tasty so it was all set for a great session.
Read More...
JoshDannMusic - Single Review: Just For A Moment
29 Apr 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Josh Dann is a Hamilton-based multi-instrumentalist whose musical journey started at the age of eleven when he was inspired to pick up an instrument when he heard someone playing a clarinet. Since then, he has also taken up other instruments such as saxophone, piano and bass, and his latest single finds him playing all instruments apart from drums, which are provided by Luke Rodgers.
Read More...
Age of Destitute - Single Review: Voiceless
26 Apr 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Age of Destitute are a new band formed by Rezwan Ashraf (vocals, lead guitar) and Sammy Iqbal (rhythm guitar, bass). The duo are both originally from Bangladesh, and only met by chance here in New Zealand, and were soon jamming and trying out different ideas.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
  • BODY
    Russ Millions And Tion Wayne
  • YOUR POWER
    Billie Eilish
  • HEARTBREAK ANNIVERSARY
    Giveon
  • LEAVE THE DOOR OPEN
    Silk Sonic
  • ASTRONAUT IN THE OCEAN
    Masked Wolf
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem