25 Oct 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Stealphish - Single Review: Auri

04 May 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Here we have the latest single from Cafe Fistfight guitarist Josh Barker in his alter ego as Stealphish. The only other person involved on this recording is his wife Nicole who provides piano for the first 35 seconds of the nearly 7-minute-long song. It was her noodling which was the original inspiration for the piece, with Josh developing the rest of the instrumentation. This single, Auri, has a very slow build, yet the scene is set at the very beginning by the piano and crashing waves, demonstrating there is far more to Josh than just the 7-string metallic attack most of us associate with him. Water and rain are brought back at various times during the quieter moments of the song, which for a large part is built on piano, with guitar only slowing making an entrance yet not really becoming the prominent force until halfway through the song.

Even then it is only with the guitar being gently picked, and it isn’t until nearly 4 minutes in that he finally lets loose with a ripping solo, also ensuring the rest of the instrumentation is also now over the top. The drums are programmed, but he has set up some nice patterns, although as always it would have been nicer if a human to hit the kit. He changes tack again as the song continues to develop, bringing in elements of symphonic metal and Meshuggah, which is all very different indeed to how the song began. Yet, there is still some piano there right at the very end, showing that although the song has changed dramatically it is still staying close to its original form.

The upside-down symbol on the cover is a reference to the alchemy sign of water, continuing that theme, and this song certainly flows through its many different passages and styles. Most solo multi-instrumentalists tend to concentrate heavily on their main instrument of choice, whether it is keyboards or guitar (which generally are the leads), yet Josh shows there is far more to his musical palette than being a shredder. The first half of the song could almost be an Ambient/New Age track in its own right, yet the dynamic contrast of the second half makes the first seem even more vibrant. Yet another solid release from Stealphish, I am really looking forward to the next one already.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Stealphish

Stealphish is the solo music project created by guitarist and producer Josh Barker.

Josh plays lead guitar for the band Cafe Fistfight who regularly play shows around Auckland and although he writes his own parts, the majority of the music in CFF comes from the mind of talented front man Chris Moutter. So Stealphish was created in early 2020 as an outlet for Josh's love of composing and arranging original music.

It's early Days for Stealphish as only a couple songs have been made so far. The sound of the music can be described as "dream prog" as it has emotional orchestral and classical piano often building to powerful lead guitar and modern djent elements.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Stealphish

Releases

There are no releases to display for Stealphish.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Claemus - Album Review: Daydream
21 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
When I heard that Hutt Valley band Claemus had released their debut album I was immediately intrigued, as I came across the single Hedonist a few months ago, and given the number of influences and styles they had managed to ram into 5 minutes what could they do with a full album? These guys have managed to secure support slots with bands as diverse as P.
Read More...
Kevin Posey - EP Review: The Story of Francis
21 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Oklahoma native Kevin Posey lives in Auckland these days, and throughout his musical career he has investigated different types and styles of music, and for this EP he has moved into yet another area, as what we have here is classical music that has been inspired by Halloween and psychological thrillers. Some, such as Fog Forest No.
Read More...
Jolandi Ford - Single Review: I'm Ready
21 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
This is Jolandi Ford’s third single since moving to Aotearoa from her native South Africa, and right from the first note one can why she has already been making a dent in international Country music charts. Although her voice is lighter in some ways, with a nice twang, her approach is quite reminiscent to the more rock-based approach of the likes of Shania Twain.
Read More...
Eurenza - EP Review: Good Luck... You're Gonna Need It
19 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Eurenza were originally formed seven years ago as Timeless, but eventually decided to go with a more uncommon name, and now have delivered their first five-track EP. Interestingly, much of this was recorded some time ago in preparation for an album, but they instead decided to go with the strongest tracks instead and cut it back.
Read More...
Sam Bartells - Single Review: Bring You Down
17 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Sam Bartells is back with his new single Bring You Down, which finds him taking quite a different approach to Where We'll Go, which also featured Mema Wilda. Whereas he normally sits quite happily within alt country, here we see him using that as a base and then moving in a much rockier direction.
Read More...
Jenny Mitchell - Single Review: Trouble Finds A Girl with Tami Neilson
14 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
The Auckland Folk Festival earlier this year was an embarrassment of riches, with so many great Kiwi artists playing multiple sets, and I spent the weekend trying to soak in as much as possible. There is no doubt that one of the highlights was Jenny Mitchell, who with her sisters Nicola and Maegan, provided warm and emotional country music in a style which seemed very much at odds with her age.
Read More...
Bianca Rae - Single Review: Flower
14 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
There are times when the music world is very small indeed, which is why earlier this year I found myself at The Portland Public House in Auckland to see a singer-songwriter, having been put in contact by a fellow reviewer who is in the UK. Even though Bianca Rae was the support, and everything was running late, she refused to let anything get to her, and I thoroughly enjoyed her set.
Read More...
Blue River Baby - Single Review: Green Cones
14 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Following on from the single Pay, which I reviewed a few months back, Blue River Baby (BRBB) are back with the second single from their second album, which is due next year. We find them moving much more into a dub style, with Ree Thomson’s wonderfully clear vocals very much the centre of attention.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • LOVE NWANTITI (AH AH AH)
    CKay
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • MEET ME AT OUR SPOT
    THE ANXIETY, WILLOW And Tyler Cole
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem