12 May 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Dan Sharp - EP Review: Water Went Away

03 May 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Proud Coromandel boy Dan Sharp is back with his latest EP, Water Went Away, and I can only concur with Corinne’s review of his last EP, Slack Tide, in that we really need an album! This collection of five songs loosely follows through the various stages of a breakup and the significant life changes that happen as part of that such as moving to a new house, moving town, being unable to access certain things, wondering what was going to happen next etc. Two of the songs were recorded at Roundhead Studios the week before lockdown, while the other three were recorded at home during lockdown itself.

He is a dramatic singer-songwriter with a warm voice which really brings the listener into his tales, and while there are other instruments utilised, it is his vocals and acoustic guitar which really brings this home. His songs remind me particularly of Ed Sheeran in that they are understated, yet after only a few plays they are stuck fast in the brain. For me he is actually at his most effective when it is just Dan, with no additional elements whatsoever, as it here that the real beauty shines through. When additional instrumentation is kept to a minimum, such as on the first half of closer By Your Hand, then he is incredibly powerful and dramatic. However, there are times during the recording when the additional arrangement actually detracts from the overall effect, particularly the use of percussion, which feels somewhat at odds with the feeling being generated by his voice. The one time it all really comes together is on opener The Way That You Used To which starts and ends gently, but in the middle it is something far more dramatic and powerful.

However, this is a truly magical set in many ways, and I only hope I am able to catch him in concert, as I am sure that would be quite some experience. Let us hope a full album is not too far away.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Dan Sharp

Taupo-based songwriter Dan Sharp serves up honest, hard-hitting and impactful tunes.
His soulful songwriting and lyrics are the foundation on which his rich, gritty vocals and guitar thrive.

With musical inspiration that ranges from early guitar-blues through to more modernly produced soul, pop and folk, Dan's sound and style of writing is well rounded, mature and thoughtful. His early work reached the ears of acclaimed NZ songwriter and producer, Thomas Oliver, who has produced Dan's upcoming EP.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Dan Sharp

Releases

Water Went Away
Year: 2021
Type: EP
Slack Tide
Year: 2019
Type: EP
Ad Lucem
Year: 2017
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Beastwars with Earth Tongue and Demons of Noon @ Powerstation, Auckland - 08/05/2021
09 May 2021 // by Kev Rowland
I was a little concerned when I made my way to the Powerstation just 15 minutes before the doors were due to open, as there was no-one else there! A quick check of the billboard confirmed I was in the right place on the right date, but possibly this was somewhat indicative of the poor weather combined with so many great gigs on tonight.
Read More...
Emily Rice - EP Review: Auhua
06 May 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Over the last few months Emily Rice has been building up to the release of this EP, and of the six songs included on Auaha (which means to shape, create, form, fashion), four have already been released as singles, and I have reviewed three of them myself, so the EP feels already very much like an old friend, but for anyone yet to come across Emily and her work then this is a wonderful place to start. I first came across Emily and her husband in the wonderful folk duo Aro, but here her music is far more dance oriented as she brings in lots of different styles such as soft jazz, RnB, dub, and even a little touch of folk, but always with her wonderful vocals front and centre.
Read More...
Living State - Single Review: One Sided
04 May 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Whenever I hear anyone bemoaning the state of music on the radio, I tell them to get out to places like Ding Dong and actually live and breathe what is really going on in the scene, not what some people just want to tell you. Last Saturday I was there at yet another gig, and while I was having a chat with one of the musicians a guy came up and joined in.
Read More...
Stealphish - Single Review: Auri
04 May 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Cafe Fistfight guitarist Josh Barker in his alter ego as Stealphish. The only other person involved on this recording is his wife Nicole who provides piano for the first 35 seconds of the nearly 7-minute-long song.
Read More...
Gig Review: Pencarrow @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 01/05/2021
02 May 2021 // by Kev Rowland
I have lost count of how many times I have been to Ding Dong in the last year, I think it is somewhere between “lots” and “loads”, so consequently it is starting to feel very much like a place where every barman knows my name (and what I drink). I have been looking forward to catching Pencarrow since I came across their debut album Growth In The Absence of Light which was released last year.
Read More...
Gig Review: BOTB Winners Tour with Big Tasty & guests @ Anthology Lounge, Auckland - 30/04/2021
01 May 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Back off to the Anthology Lounge for a 4-band bill, which I was really looking forward to. It was going to be the first time I had seen Cafe Fistfight in a while, I had heard good things about The Minnehahas (and I know drummer Neo from White Noise Mafia), I had reviewed the album by The RVMES while this was the last night of the tour for BOTB winners Big Tasty so it was all set for a great session.
Read More...
JoshDannMusic - Single Review: Just For A Moment
29 Apr 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Josh Dann is a Hamilton-based multi-instrumentalist whose musical journey started at the age of eleven when he was inspired to pick up an instrument when he heard someone playing a clarinet. Since then, he has also taken up other instruments such as saxophone, piano and bass, and his latest single finds him playing all instruments apart from drums, which are provided by Luke Rodgers.
Read More...
Age of Destitute - Single Review: Voiceless
26 Apr 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Age of Destitute are a new band formed by Rezwan Ashraf (vocals, lead guitar) and Sammy Iqbal (rhythm guitar, bass). The duo are both originally from Bangladesh, and only met by chance here in New Zealand, and were soon jamming and trying out different ideas.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
  • BODY
    Russ Millions And Tion Wayne
  • YOUR POWER
    Billie Eilish
  • HEARTBREAK ANNIVERSARY
    Giveon
  • LEAVE THE DOOR OPEN
    Silk Sonic
  • ASTRONAUT IN THE OCEAN
    Masked Wolf
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem